Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
287 reviews
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McComb, MS
Jan 3, 2011

Amazing!

My husband & I went to New Orleans for our third wedding anniversary. I am so happy that I chose Royal Sonesta! Everything was wonderful! The room was very clean, quiet & the staff were great. I loved all the little details that made our stay special too. Fresh flowers everywhere, turn down service at night with chocolates left on the bed & robes! Everything was just wonderful! We didn't even have to leave the hotel because they had so much to do there. The "Desire" restaurant was amazing too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster House~It was awesome! The food was sooo good!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie Traveller
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great location

The location is fabulous if you like the craziness that is Bourbon St. Everything in the French Quarter is walkable, and just a couple of blocks from the trolleys on St. Charles and Canal. We were prepared to deal with loud noise from Bourbon St. during New Year's Eve weekend, but were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. Only complaints: gym is pretty small and we had the unpleasant experience of getting stuck in the elevator, but not for too terribly long. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Avondale PA
Jan 2, 2011

Classy-comfy in the French Quarter

Very comfortable, friendly staff Not noisy despite on Bourbon street (triple glazing windows?!) Very nice inside area with swimming pool and lounge chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Advanceman
Alexandria, VA
Jan 1, 2011

Very Nice Hotel...But Staff Idifferent

The hotel was very nice (with the exception of the bathroom in our room which was very tired and small) and in a great location in the Quarter. My biggest criticism is that the staff was not very customer service-oriented or friendly (with the exception of Russell, the Concierge). Overall, I would rate the hotel/experience a 3.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was very impressed with Iris Restaurant on Decatur.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chpmnksrgo
Bordentown, NJ
Dec 31, 2010

Royal Sonesta Great

The hotel was immaculate and decorated nicely for the holiday. Located at the Corner of Conti and Borubon Streets, it was perfectly located and quiet. The staff was very accommmodating--we had an "R" club room with a concierge and she/they were great. I would have liked a little more variety in the breakfast/evening hors d'ouevres, but the quality was good and the room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Step off Bourbon for the more interesting bars. Don't be put off by the plethora of adult joints--pretty low-key, actually.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mickey's Birthday
Boise, Id
Dec 14, 2010

awsome

Excellent stay. 10 out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josh&dana
Pittsburgh pa
Dec 4, 2010

Quick get away to NOLA

Very nice hotel and staff. Centrally located. Definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good food and drink just of bourbon street. Take a short walk and explore the cafes and local bars.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland Or.
Nov 30, 2010

great place, bad service, no sleep

The Royal Sonesta is a very beautiful hotel on Bourbon street and by all appearances it should be a great place to stay. During check-in I knew we did not want to have a room on Bourbon street and the clerk also suggested that we stay in a room off the streets. This is were it all went bad; the room we were given was adjoining the work out room. Yes there were hours of operation but it opened at 6:00am which meant there was no sleeping in and we had to listen to the sounds of the work out room all day. We requested to be moved and they put us 4 rooms off of Bourbon st and told use we might get some street noise? They failed to tell us the bar right out side our window blasts heavy bass music until 4:00am in the morning. I went to the front desk and was told "there is no guarantee any of there rooms would be quite and I was handed 2 sets of ear plugs. The concierge was rude, insulting, and did not have time for us. Comments includes "I am going to make this simple so even you can find the restaurant" and "if you want complicated you will have to get in you car and drive" The door man was the only person that took the time to explain were several good restaurants were and was very personable. After 4 nights of pounding music until 4:00am not being able to order one movie to drowned out the droning noise since all we would get is snow on the TV. The wife and I were ready to leave and never return. Checking out was another wonderful experience with a desk clerk willing to ask how our stay was but not really wanting to hear what I had to say with comments like "Well Welcome to the French quarter" I have stayed in the French quarter before and I have never been treated so poorly and with so little disregarded to the customer. We will return to the french Quarter but never to the Royal Sonesta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Care Forgot, We Remember
Denver, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Beautiful Suite courtesy of Alexandra!

I spent the extra money for a king size bed, but when we arrived they had us booked in a room with 2 doubles. The clerk told me that my reservation was between me and the website, that the hotel wasn't obligated to fulfill that request, but she'd see what she could come up with. We ended up in a gorgeous suite with king size bed, jacuzzi tub, large tv, sofa, on the quietest side of the hotel! [...] went above and beyond! You'll be amazed what a little courtesy and persistence can achieve!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Bourbon St. and explore the smaller bars and restaurants. Our favorite pub is Fahy's at 540 Burgundy. Neighborhood pub, drinks are priced right, staff is super cool!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
JERSEY SHORE, NJ
Oct 22, 2010

THEY DO EVERYTHING RIGHT

THE ROYAL SONESTA WAS PURE LUXURY. WE UP GRADED TO ABALCONY ROOM OVER LOOKING THE POOL. THE ROOM, WITH ITS FRENCH DOORS LEADING TO THE POOL WAS BEAUTIFUL AND PEACEFUL. WITH BURBON STREET JUST OUT THE LOBBYDOORS YOU COULD NOT HEAR THE ALL NIGHT PARTY SCENEBUT WHEN YOU WANTED TO JOIN IN YOU JUST WALKED OUTTHE FRONT DOOR. SERVICE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER.WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RED FISH GRILL--GO EARLY--GETS VERY BUSY--BURBON ST GRAPEVINE WINE & BISTRO--ORLEANS AVE--EXCELLENT FOOD THE BAR IN THE MONTELEONE HOTEL--ROYAL ST--PURE CLASS

Back to menu Return to top