$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DandD
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great times!

The hotel is beautiful! It's on Burbon St. in the heart of the party scene, but once you step inside it's quiet, relaxing, elegance. On-site restaurants were super, especially Desire Oyster Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the St. Charles street car out to explore the Garden District. It's only $1.25 and cars come by every few minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bud's adventures
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

New Orleans experience

This hotel is in the heart of the French quarter. Once I asked and received the room upgrade I had paid for - it was a great experience. The first room they had put us in was small and seemed dark. Stay on the couryard. Quiet and lots of natural lighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend Bayona at 430 Dauphine Street. Great chief - Susan Spicer providing a fine dining experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
echo79
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Anniversary Heavan

The hotel is beautiful and has its own restaurants and a jazz club (the jazz was awesome!) next to the lobby. The courtyard is quiet and peaceful, lush and green. The staff were attentive, pleasant and always at your service. This was my first experience at a high-end hotel such as this and I was not disappointed. However, I wish the room would have had a coffee maker and fridge. I found that I did miss these amenities, which I am used to at mid-level hotels. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and the room a good size. I was in a room next to the fitness center and it was loud, especially when people had the TV on while running on the treadmill. Next time I will request to be away from there. The location is absolutely the best thing about this hotel. Ignoring the in-your-face debauchery on Bourbon St, the hotel is a short walk to Decatur St, the French Market, Canal St to catch the streetcars and the Royal St shops. I wish we had more time to explore the business district, downtown and city park. There are loads of museums, but the weather was so nice, that we didn't want to spend the day inside. New Orleans was worth the trip, and we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coops Place on Decatur has some awesome creole food but do NOT step through the doorway when there are people waiting outside. The staff will come and get you when they are ready to seat you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike9mike
Business
san jose,ca
Jan 19, 2012

Heart of the french quarter.

room was clean. no rooms had refrigerators. staff was helpful. jazz club is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanna Puza Photography
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Jan 19, 2012

business/pleasure

Royal Sonesta was like an oasis in the middle of NOLA chaos. We loved the sanctuary of the courtyard after walking off of Bourbon St. Staff was amazing and we felt so lucky to have chosen The Royal Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from Royal Sonesta were wonderful antique and art shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yales
Business
Charles City, IA 50616, USA
Feb 4, 2012

New Orleans Honeymoon

The Royal Sonesta Hotel was a great stay. The staff was so warming and friendly, helped us with anything we needed. We loved the live jazz bands every night. The only complaint we had was that the cable/satellite would cut in and out quite a bit and the it took a little longer for the picture to come on the screen. Couldn't beat the location, short walking distance from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was so many dining choices in a short walking distance. All the big name diners and restaurants along with the unknown that serve great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrinzD
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Royal Sonestra

The staff was excellent. Amenities are so -so. Good location for Mardi Gras; except when arriving or departing due to inability of vehicles to traverse Bourbon Street. Slightly taken aback by $30.00 per night "security" charge that was never mentioned until check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous excellent eateries in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arles
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Mar 14, 2012

A-ONE

Staying at the Royal Senesta right on Bourbon Street was one of the best ideas I've had in a long time. The hotel was beautiful and right in the heart of the French Quarter. We were able to walk to almost all destinations. Their Sunday Brunch was lovely, and the waite staff was wonderful. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see. The WWII museum cannot be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnJanet
Business
Bhm, Al.
May 19, 2012

Hotel was nice, very noisy outside, parking expensive.

Parking at the Hotel was too high @ $40 a night. It was very loud and noisy on Burbon street till about 2-3 am even during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chappy0093
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jan 14, 2013

Couple's Weekend Getaway

Great Hotel!!!! You can not ask for a better walking location in the French Quarter. The Jazz bar downstairs is excellent. We stay at this hotel frequently so come knowing that you will have a lot of street noise throughout the night. We had one problem on our last stay where the cleaning crew was speaking spanish very loud in the hallways early in the morning. I will certainly be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Do not miss the Jazz Bar in the lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top