$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downingtown, PA (Philly area)
Jul 1, 2011

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

We were there to celabrate an anniversay with friends, so we were kept vey busy. However we did have some time on our own. We enjoyed the French market and shopping. The pool was relaxing but I would not recommend it for children...many people drinking at and in the pool. Infact I felt a little uncomfortable getting in the pool. It was very relaxing if you were there earlier in the day. All of the party people were sleeping. A fun place for sure...not for children. The hotel was quite comfortable. Bed and bedding were great. The carpet needed to be replaced...very grungy. The rest of the room was a litte worn but overall very nice. All of the people we encountered were very friendly and ready to help you. The only thing was when we were checking out they did not ask how our stay was. It is in the middle of the French Quarter on Bourbon street so you are in the middle of the action if that is what you like I think you will like it. We would probably not choose to stay in that close to the action again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

French Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theotz
Business
New Orleans
Jun 28, 2011

Royal Sonesta

The service was terrific, and it's quiet in spite of being on Bourbon Street. Location is great if you want to be in the thick of Bourbon Street. The only downside is that the room was small. Linens were great, but the room itself and bathroom were only so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ECUDick
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 21, 2011

I took a sonesta on the big easy

Enjoyed hotel. Accomadations nice, food expensive but good, pool clean but is shut way to early for those of us who are in New Orleans for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Deanies if you like seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwads new jersey
Business
NJ
Jun 20, 2011

Great Place! Clean rooms!

The hotel was very clean and visually very pleasing. The staff was all very friendly and showed us true southern hospitality. They were willing to offer all kinds of suggestions of things to do during our stay. The location is also very good for restaurants and bars highlighting the local music scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a great Jazz club inside the hotel. It was very nicely laid out and the music was great. The environment provided a wonderful vibe and offered an outstanding experience in the music of New Orleans. If you have a chance see a trumpet player named "Kid Chocolate".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ercjr
Business
Lexington, KY
Jun 13, 2011

Bourbon Street convenience

We go to New Orleans to listen to the music. The hotel is conveniently located on Bourbon Street. The location allows us to change clothes as necessary and return to the music on Bourbon Street as quickly as possible. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was right on Bourbon but the hotel is sound enough that we were not disturbed by the festivities on the street. However we do travel with an air filter to help drown out any outside sounds. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel right on Bourbon Street and close to other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Canaan, CT
Jun 8, 2011

[...]

The location was perfect to anything in the French Quarter and you absolutely would not know that you are in the middle of bourbon street. The hotel is luxurious and beautiful and the staff is an exceptional example of fabulous and helpful customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dade City Fl
Jun 7, 2011

Great as usual.

Always get a balcony room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2011

Nice place

My partner and I decided to go to New Orleans on very short notice to get away. It was a phenomenal hotel to stay in while we were in the French Quarter. As a same sex couple, we were treated with great respect and kindness. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay portion of the French Quarter is on one side of the French Quarter. All the clubs are well within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beanne
Business
New York
May 10, 2011

Royal Sonesta for Jazz Fest

Just got back from Jazz Fest and the hotel was great. I'll start with my favorite part of the hotel - the lively pool scene. Full bar right next to the pool with poolside service, great music (not live) and a yummy barbecue on the weekends. We planned on sitting out for a couple of hours and ended up spending the whole day there. Fantastic location - right on Bourbon street. I opted for an R Club room on the concierge floor and the room was spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the jacuzzi tub came in handy after a long day dancing at jazz fest. I had a corner balcony which was so large it was more like a patio. The view was nothing to look at, but it was lovely sitting out there in the morning and in the afternoon and evening we were close enough to hear the music from Bourbon Street but far enough away that it didn't disturb our sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful and when I had my one hiccup - safe malfunctioned with all of my money and credit cards locked inside - the hotel had sent someone up immediately. I would definitly stay here again and would opt for the R Club floor again. The rooms are substantially bigger than on the other floors and the balcony alone was worth the extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
May 2, 2011

all good

Okay, you have to know you are staying on Bourbon Street,which may be a plus or a minus. Five stories above the street, the music and noise were muffled and the hotel was actually quieter than I expected, even during a peak season like Jazz Fest. Service was great.....no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Germaine Basil sings in the hotel bar every Sunday night. She is the real New Orleans deal....local, gifted, and worth seeing. The bar was sparsely populated as she finished....people don't know what they're missing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top