$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie Traveller
Couples
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great location

The location is fabulous if you like the craziness that is Bourbon St. Everything in the French Quarter is walkable, and just a couple of blocks from the trolleys on St. Charles and Canal. We were prepared to deal with loud noise from Bourbon St. during New Year's Eve weekend, but were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. Only complaints: gym is pretty small and we had the unpleasant experience of getting stuck in the elevator, but not for too terribly long. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jul 2, 2010

A Treasure

We spent three nights here, but I wish we had had time to stay longer. The hotel was much more than we imagined. What a grand palace! [...] We were on Bourbon Street, within walking distance from some of the best restaurants in the French Quarter. Just around the corner on Royal Street, we saw artists at work in their studios and another block over we walked along Decataur Street where we enjoyed shopping for items representative of New Orleans. Next time we'll stay at this hotel longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick Brennan's Steakhouse was a full-service restaurant where we dinned for our anniversary. The steak was better than Ruth Chris'and not quite as pricey. Still, you want to prepare to spend the most here. The meal is worth it. For other meals, the hotel meets your needs well. For a change, the Oceano is a step or two away and offers delicious dinners at moderate prices.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Madisonville, La.
Jul 23, 2011

Great Hotel!

We only live 60 miles away but wanted a nice place to stay for our anniversary. This hotel is in the heart of the historical French Quarter. Everything is within walking distance. We ate and took tours that we had never taken before. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisianaGrown
Friends
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Value on Bourbon Street

Great location on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Pretty much in the middle if the excitement. The room was nice and clean. The bedding was soft and comfortable. This is a really nice upscale hotel and the price wasn't that bad. You had to pay a fee for parking, but on Bourbon Street parking is a pain. So paying the parking fee to use the garage was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bbq shrimp dinner was great in the adjacent building to the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
BATON ROUGE,LA
Jul 22, 2011

RIGHT SMACK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE QUARTER

JUST VISIT MY OLD HOME TOWN. NO. WHAT WE EXPECTED. GOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BE PREPARED TO PAY A HIGHER PRICE FOR A GOOD NEARBY RESTAURANT.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Des Moines, IA
Jun 12, 2010

Hotel good .... [...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Momma
Couples
Morgan City, La
Mar 15, 2010

Nice stay

We were there just for a night to go to padaes for St. Patty's Day and liked the location. We were worried about the noise but we had a courtside room and never once had a noise issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AshShaC
Couples
Floresville, TX
Mar 16, 2010

Great Stay!

My husband and I went on a mini vacation without the kids and really enjoyed the location of this hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. It was easy to walk all over the FQ during the day and perfect to play on Bourbon St. at night. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. The parking people were grumpy and wrecked someone's car. Which I'm sure is why they were grumpy. The hotel is beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnaud's Jazz Brunch

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Slidell Louisiana
Mar 9, 2011

Mardi Gras

I live in New Orleans and booked a room downtown for Mardi Gras and it was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was really good.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Rochelle, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent Choice in N'awlins!

First trip to NO. Would stay at Royal Sonesta again. The staff was warm and friendly and helpful. All touring and dining suggestions were top-notch and on the mark. Especially enjoyed half-day city tour with Oswald of Celebration tours. He was so knowledgeable and informative and justifiably proud of his city! Look forward to returning to NO....so much to do, so little time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The World War II Museum was super. We spent an entire day there.

Back to menu Return to top