$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
301 reviews
Really quite peaceful steps from the fun

it was amazing to me how quiet and beautiful this hotel was being on Bourbon Street I love that... See full review

  • Sperry1014
  • Nov 25, 2014
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwads new jersey
Business
NJ
Jun 20, 2011

Great Place! Clean rooms!

The hotel was very clean and visually very pleasing. The staff was all very friendly and showed us true southern hospitality. They were willing to offer all kinds of suggestions of things to do during our stay. The location is also very good for restaurants and bars highlighting the local music scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a great Jazz club inside the hotel. It was very nicely laid out and the music was great. The environment provided a wonderful vibe and offered an outstanding experience in the music of New Orleans. If you have a chance see a trumpet player named "Kid Chocolate".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ercjr
Business
Lexington, KY
Jun 13, 2011

Bourbon Street convenience

We go to New Orleans to listen to the music. The hotel is conveniently located on Bourbon Street. The location allows us to change clothes as necessary and return to the music on Bourbon Street as quickly as possible. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was right on Bourbon but the hotel is sound enough that we were not disturbed by the festivities on the street. However we do travel with an air filter to help drown out any outside sounds. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel right on Bourbon Street and close to other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Canaan, CT
Jun 8, 2011

[...]

The location was perfect to anything in the French Quarter and you absolutely would not know that you are in the middle of bourbon street. The hotel is luxurious and beautiful and the staff is an exceptional example of fabulous and helpful customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dade City Fl
Jun 7, 2011

Great as usual.

Always get a balcony room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2011

Nice place

My partner and I decided to go to New Orleans on very short notice to get away. It was a phenomenal hotel to stay in while we were in the French Quarter. As a same sex couple, we were treated with great respect and kindness. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay portion of the French Quarter is on one side of the French Quarter. All the clubs are well within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beanne
Business
New York
May 10, 2011

Royal Sonesta for Jazz Fest

Just got back from Jazz Fest and the hotel was great. I'll start with my favorite part of the hotel - the lively pool scene. Full bar right next to the pool with poolside service, great music (not live) and a yummy barbecue on the weekends. We planned on sitting out for a couple of hours and ended up spending the whole day there. Fantastic location - right on Bourbon street. I opted for an R Club room on the concierge floor and the room was spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the jacuzzi tub came in handy after a long day dancing at jazz fest. I had a corner balcony which was so large it was more like a patio. The view was nothing to look at, but it was lovely sitting out there in the morning and in the afternoon and evening we were close enough to hear the music from Bourbon Street but far enough away that it didn't disturb our sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful and when I had my one hiccup - safe malfunctioned with all of my money and credit cards locked inside - the hotel had sent someone up immediately. I would definitly stay here again and would opt for the R Club floor again. The rooms are substantially bigger than on the other floors and the balcony alone was worth the extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
May 2, 2011

all good

Okay, you have to know you are staying on Bourbon Street,which may be a plus or a minus. Five stories above the street, the music and noise were muffled and the hotel was actually quieter than I expected, even during a peak season like Jazz Fest. Service was great.....no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Germaine Basil sings in the hotel bar every Sunday night. She is the real New Orleans deal....local, gifted, and worth seeing. The bar was sparsely populated as she finished....people don't know what they're missing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taby
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 26, 2011

What a blast in NOLA

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 4 nights,5 days, it was awesome. The hotel is gorgeous, right on Bourbon street, we asked for a quite room in the back and we got it. There was no view but totally worth the peacefulness and those beds...soooo comfy. The staff were extremely helpful especially the doormen, they were great with suggestions on places to eat and things to do. The pool was great too. We had a blast. Definately visit Coop's Place, best Jambalaya in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Unfortunately we didn't know about the flea market over by Cafe du Monde until the last day we were there. Way more affordable food and souvenirs then getting them on Bourbon. Stay away from Bourbon street's Pizza and those Lucky Hot dogs, so nasty and not worth the $3.50. Try Coops Place for rabbit and sausage Jambalaya or The Old coffee Pot for great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellow easter eggs
Business
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

good location, beautiful lobby!

This hoel is at the heart of french quarter, so, if you are traveling with friends, it would be a great location. but for family vacation, Bourbon street is full of strip show clubs, and bars. especially at night, no business for ladies. Lobby is very fancy, great interior designs, full of antiques, but pool is small, and the water quality is poor. Don't expect too much for the pool. Staffs were all nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I strongly recommend NOT to purchase Power Pass that comes up when you are about to finish the purchase in this website. the Power Pass was certainly not worth paying anything. I was mislead about its short description that it included so many attractions, but later found out transportation to plantations, or swamp tours were not included. many tourists don't rent cars, and if you don't have a car, you have to book the tours from another vendors that provide transportations as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCtravels
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Good location, great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was amazing and the concierge was very helpful in organizing our trip and helping us book tours and come up with restaurants to go to. Would def make recommend making reservations well before arriving into New Orleans especially if traveling on a big holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great brunch spot, right next to Muriel's Cafe called Stanley's. We had a great time and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top