$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, WA
Aug 9, 2011

NOLA Heat

Great hotel -- reasonably priced, excellent location, and quiet enough we didn't hear much of Bourbon Street on Saturday. The pool was a wonderful respite from the heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lithonia, GA
Aug 7, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Location

Just returned from my trip to NO. Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was great. I was celebrating my b'day and informed the reservation MGR before arrival. She had a bottle of champagne, balloons and candy waiting for me. The room was clean and we never had any problems with maid service or anything. I was traveling with my brother and the location was excellent. If you want to be in the midst of the night activity but stay in an upscale hotel, this is the one for you. If you prefer a more laid back atmosphere in the evening then do not venture out in the evening because it's going to be noisy, loud and crazy. There are plenty restaurants close by, just try what you like, Landry's was one of my favorites. Taking the tours are easy because you can sign up in the lobby and get picked up in front of the hotel. The staff was wonderful especially [...], he was friendly and informative about the happenings in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase you beads and masks at the French Market much cheaper than on Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 7, 2011

NOLA

Great Location, surprisingly quite for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 6, 2011

What an Experience!

I upgraded to the executive level which included Breakfast and Cocktails and Hors Derves, Concierge floor staff was outstanding from [...] all every helpful and with the greatest attitudes. Felt at home here with bell staff car porters everyone, next time I travel to New Orleans there is no other choice to stay but here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pascal Manales, best barbecue Shrimp in the country

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 6, 2011

The perfect place for a good time!

This hotel is in the heart of New Orleans! It is literally in the center of the famed Bourbon Street and is within walking distance the St. Louis Cathedral, the Voo Doo Museum, the River Walk, the Convention Center and a million shops, bars, and stores. The hotel itself is adorable and the rooms are a spin on French Country. As a non-drinker who was visiting on business, I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and quiet everything was at the end of the day. The restaurant, Desire, was super tasty too--definitely try the Cajun trio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of ones! There are street performers everywhere who perform dancing, gymnastics, a variety of bands, and magicians. I had so much fun watching them perform then taking a picture (for my facebook profile)! Best entertainment for the dollar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickycakes
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 3, 2011

This made a great 1st anniversary

beautiful hotel and great location if you want to be in the middle of all the bourbon street action. i opted for this since it was our first time in NOLA. the hotel staff were awesome, the overnight clerk was even able to change our room to a larger one with a balcony that faced the pool area. everything was very clean in the room and all around the hotel. the jazz bar in the hotel is great too, on fridays they have an amazing burlesque show & someone is playing every night. there also weren't many younger college kids running around and there is security on duty every night making sure that only hotel guests enter. overall had a great stay at the royal sonesta, would not hesitate booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymond James
Business
Miami
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent no issues on the stay.

Excellent in one word you shouldnt have any issues. The only probable issue is always the early check in, but thats a problem with all hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Bourbon smack in the middle of the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syntini
Business
Corona, California
Aug 1, 2011

AMAZING!!!!!!!

This was the best experience I have had thus far. The hotel employees were amazing, friendly and nice. They made great suggestions on places to visit. overall a perfect trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OCEANA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwich, CT
Jul 23, 2011

Wonderful Honeymoon

As being our first time in New Orleans, we did the typical tourist things. Little did we know how close we were to most things when we booked the hotel. Everything at the hotel met and exceeded our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Sunday Champagne brunch at the hotel and across the street there is a restaurant named Oceana. - GREAT Newlins cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madisonville, La.
Jul 23, 2011

Great Hotel!

We only live 60 miles away but wanted a nice place to stay for our anniversary. This hotel is in the heart of the historical French Quarter. Everything is within walking distance. We ate and took tours that we had never taken before. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top