$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBJC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent Experience

This hotel is by far one of the best places you can stay when taking a trip to New Orleans. While Bourbon street can get quite noisy and is rather trashy, the hotel provides an oasis. Our room was not facing Bourbon street (we had a choice when we checked in) and therefore had no problems with the noise outside. We arrived at 11am and without any hassle were able to check in immediately, even though the check in time was 4pm. We immediately visited the concierge and inquired about renting a car to drive to the plantations and within minutes he had arranged for someone to pick us up the following morning to pick up the car, and had also managed to get us a rate that was cheaper than any we had found when asking at the airport that morning. The best thing about this hotel was that it was the perfect place to return to in the afternoon, when the 100 degree heat became too much, and lounge around by the beautiful pool, sit in the indoor cafe, or outside in the court yard. When booking this trip we had also considered several other hotels, some on Canal street and others closer to the CBD, but the Royal Sonesta was by far the best choice in terms of location. Canal street and the CBD both seemed a bit seedy, and although Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon street, it was in the best location in terms of walking distance to tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we would strongly recommend anyone to go to the OLD COFFEE POT. It is a short walk from the Royal Sonesta and off of Bourbon street. The old-time cafe/restaurant had delicious food (try the Cala Cakes), friendly service, and a nice ambiance. The prices are also very reasonable and breakfast was served until 2pm. For lunch, the SOMETHING ELSE CAFE was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicher
Business
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Mar 2, 2011

Pre Mardi-Gras Unwind

I have always wanted to stay at the Royal Sonesta but could not afford it. You made it possible and it went well beyond our expectations. The service and friendlyness was such a help from the front desk to the room service. The rooms were spotless with the most comfortable beds we've had in New Orleans. It was not necessary to leave the hotel to savor the finest food and drinks as well as the local entertainment if you did not want to. Although there was a large conference going on at the same time we never felt cramped or went for lack of service. The location is ideal as we walked to the many sights in the French Quarter that we wanted to see. This was the best trip we have had in the Crescent City and we have been there over a dozen times. The only thing missing from this trip in New Orleans was more time to enjoy it. We visited Jackson Square, took a buggy ride to get all the local lore and hear bout the famous places. Shopped at the French Market, saw a Mardi-Gras parade on Sunday and had to buy an extra bag to bring all the beads home. In addition to several meals at Royal Sonesta we went across the Street from the hotel and ate at the Old New Orleans Cookery. Thanks to all the money you saved us we were also able to have lunch at Antoine's. Of course, everyone goes to the Cafe Du Monde and we were there every day for the powdered sugar fix. We certainly will do our traveling through Cheap Tickets from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to the hotel employees. They will help you find the food you want at the most reasonable prices and the best quality. You are in short walking distance to to the river, Jackson Square, and Canal Street if you really want to go shopping. At the corner of Bourbon and Conti is where the fun and relaxation begins. The Royal Sonesta is unbeatable if you are a party animal as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 6, 2011

What an Experience!

I upgraded to the executive level which included Breakfast and Cocktails and Hors Derves, Concierge floor staff was outstanding from [...] all every helpful and with the greatest attitudes. Felt at home here with bell staff car porters everyone, next time I travel to New Orleans there is no other choice to stay but here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pascal Manales, best barbecue Shrimp in the country

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janie R.
Business
Providence, Rhode Island
Aug 30, 2011

Great Vacation - Loved every minute

My husband I loved the hotel. The staff, rooms, pool, drinks everything about the hotel was wonderful. The only thing I did not like was that there was no microwave in the room. There was a refrigerator though. I have stayed at the Royal Sonesta in the past and will continue to do so in the future. On a scale of 1 - 10...................... I give it a 10 all day long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My suggestion would be to definitely go on the Swamp Tour. When making your reserations make sure you request the "small boat". Taking the tour on the small boat is much better than the bigger one because it goes faster with less people on it. Definitely worth the money all day long!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eugene H.
Business
clinton
May 11, 2015

Mardi Gras

Best hotel on Bourbon St. Was able to book a room at a reasonable rate by walking up to the front desk on the day before Mardi Gras. Totally impressed and pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ietta3001
Business
Redwood city
Apr 22, 2014

Quite nice location

If I became rich man in future, want to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, California
Aug 15, 2009

This is the perfect location...a must

It's a beautiful hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Second to none. The location was perfect for the price. The hotel is classy and shiney with a jazz band playing every night. Although the band only played until close to midnight. Our room overlooked Bourbon St. Except the windows were nailed shut. The room could stand new carpet, but it was nice and clean. The bed was comfy and the pillows made it easy to fall into a sleep. We didn't eat at the hotel,so I can't give my opinion. The pool area was very nice and the water was warm and blue. The poolside waiter was very helpful and friendly. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Sonesta and we would highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully, we will return one day too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Royal House restaurant & Acme Oyster bar.Don't forget to stop and listen to blues at the Sing Sing bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMN
Business
Indiana, PA
Nov 27, 2009

Great location, wonderful ambiente

Booked online through [...]; everything went smoothly at check-in; hotel lobby is very grand, appealing, clean, and has a friendly atmosphere; room was large enough for two people, very well taken care of (no rips in wallpaper, cracks in ceiling, smudges on carpet, etc.), extremely clean with rather comfortable beds; room was always ready when we came back in the afternoon to rest; staff was quite courteous and helpful and gave informed answers to our questions. Two things, however, we did not like as much: the toilet flushed very noisily and the computer use in the business office is clearly overpriced (we believe that a hotel of this class ought to offer free internet use to its guests). We will certainly recommend the Royal Sonesta to our friends and acquaintances warmly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. Audobon Park and Zoo (take Canal Street Streetcar) 2. take in the atmosphere around Jackson Square 3. for the literature people: visit Faulkner House in Pirate's Alley where he wrote "Soldiers' Pay"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
May 25, 2010

The royal sonesta in the french quarter

This Hotel is in a very convient location situated on an entire city block boardering Burbon st. The staff was very helpful from the time we stepped out of our car in the parking garage. Parking was $32.00 a day. The Sunday brunch was extremely good. Dishes were light on salt and seasoning but very well seasoned with ingrediants ,ie sasauge and boiled shrimp. The near by GW Fins restaurant was incredible. Non traditional seasonings, such as a pumpkin seed flour crusted grouper,make this establishment stand out as a virtuoso commander of flavor. I have and would return to the Royal Sonesta.Our room did not over look Burbon St..The typical street noise could be heard from our room but not so much of the non stop Burbon St. hooping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy bottled water at the walgreens around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top