Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabulous Mom
Lafayette, Louisiana
Jan 28, 2013

Night Away

My daughter had to go to Metairie to take the MCAT exam, so I treated her to a night in New Orleans on Bourbon Street. We had an amazing time. I've stayed in the city many times at different hotels, but this one was the best by far. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe is now located on Bourbon Street just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Titanblue
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect location for Bourbon Street

This was a great location to walk up and down Bourbon Street and the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Titanblue
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect location for Bourbon Street

This was a great location to walk up and down Bourbon Street and the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WorldTravelor
Business
Sioux City, IA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

It was all good except:

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. I would have said it was perfect except, on day 2 the fire alarms continued to repeatedly go off, on day 3 the fire alarm went off intermittently making it difficult to nap, talk or even watch TV, on the third day the rooms on both sides of me started undergoing construction. non stop drilling, hammering, and banging. I was not able to sleep, or even watch TV because the noise was so loud and continues. Why they didnt shut that part of the 4th floor off I have no idea. Other patrons were also mad at the on going noise from early morning to 6PM When i said something to the staff they were unapologetic and could care less. I have to say that made my stay terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the quiter dinning spots do require appropriate attire.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jellyfish09
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 17, 2011

Great Experience

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta Aug 7-12 and had a great time. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Malcolm the doorman was the best, a very happy man indeed. The room was very clean and the bed was about one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, in a hotel. The pool was excellent, very refreshing on those extremely hot days. Towels are provided at the pool, and robes are available in your room. A great place to stay right on Bourbon St. A quiet oasis on one of the liveliest streets in New Orleans. Within walking distance to the French Market, Riverwalk and Cafe du Monde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are interested in some of the history of the Mardi Gras floats visit Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World, very interesting. We really enjoyed the tour.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert F
Business
NJ
Aug 16, 2011

long weekend

Arrived on Friday for anniversary weekend. Got an upgrade to The Tower. Good time, breakfast in AM. Cocktails and horsdvours in PM. EXC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New Orleans Fanatic!
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 9, 2011

Simply Wonderful

My husband and I have visited New Orleans every other year since our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoy ourselves! This was the first year he and I stayed in the Quarter and it was the best stay we've had thus far. The Royal Sonesta is centrally located on Bourbon Street and within walking distance to everything; Jackson Square, the French Market, shops, restaurants, tours, you name it are all within a 5-15 minute walk. The rooms were spacious and so quiet that you had no idea you were on Bourbon Street. The service was impeccable both in room and throughout the hotel. I can't say enough good things about the Royal Sonesta, we will be back!This year was special for my husband and I as we renewed our vows. I had spoken with the wedding coordinator about having the ceremony performed in the beautiful and lush courtyard but it didn't quite work out as there was some painting going on. This was a blessing in disguise as the Director of Guest Relations, [...], was able to accommodate us with a much cooler (it was a bit humid) location and did all that she could to assist in making our renewal special. With her assistance, our nuptials turned out much better than we expected and made the event and our stay all the more special. This alone assured repeat customers of my husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, WA
Aug 9, 2011

NOLA Heat

Great hotel -- reasonably priced, excellent location, and quiet enough we didn't hear much of Bourbon Street on Saturday. The pool was a wonderful respite from the heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 7, 2011

NOLA

Great Location, surprisingly quite for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickycakes
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 3, 2011

This made a great 1st anniversary

beautiful hotel and great location if you want to be in the middle of all the bourbon street action. i opted for this since it was our first time in NOLA. the hotel staff were awesome, the overnight clerk was even able to change our room to a larger one with a balcony that faced the pool area. everything was very clean in the room and all around the hotel. the jazz bar in the hotel is great too, on fridays they have an amazing burlesque show & someone is playing every night. there also weren't many younger college kids running around and there is security on duty every night making sure that only hotel guests enter. overall had a great stay at the royal sonesta, would not hesitate booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymond James
Business
Miami
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent no issues on the stay.

Excellent in one word you shouldnt have any issues. The only probable issue is always the early check in, but thats a problem with all hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Bourbon smack in the middle of the street.

Back to menu Return to top