$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRubes
Boston
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever!!

Went to New Orleans with my girlfriend of 2 years and booked travel for 3 nights.. The hotel was great! It has a jazz bar in it which is fantastic, and the oyster bar gives you that NO feel. The staff was super friendly; we needed our air in the room adjusted to blow colder air, and it was fixed within 15 minutes of calling! Since its right on Bourbon Street, it can be LOUD but we booked with that understanding. The hotel provides security, though, so you can't get to the elevators without a key. I really liked that, especially with the insanity taking place outside. Will definitely, unequivocally be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
workingmom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Can't beat the location

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better location! I was in town for a conference and was able to easily walk to the convention center, Friendly staff, great food, This is where I will stay if/when I come back with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bucket List Checker
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Location, locatiion, location

Bourbon St., what can be better? Royal Sonesta was in the heat of things. Walk out the door in any direction and live the Big Easy. Walking distance from galleries, cooking school, exotic popsicle store, and Beinets at Cafe Du Monde. Life is Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definately ask people on the street or in their business' what there is to see while you are visiting. We found the Street Car a great asset, and it's just a few blocks from the hotel on Canal St. As a senior it costs just $. 40 a trip and can take you to the end of the month art show in the park, to the museum and to the hospital if you need it.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazman
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2011

The big EZ

Great time, great location, great people.....don't have to walk far for anything, food, drinks, entertainment of all kinds all with in just a few blocks walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrrr
Business
virginia
Sep 27, 2011

Great Place Great location

Just Perfect! Great location very nice hotel,nice pool directly in the middle of Bourbon St. Close walk to anything french quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's oytster house

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAC17
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Football Weekend

The Sonesta has the best location for a weekend of tourist type fun in the city. Plus, the hotel is a cut above the standard accommodations on Bourbon. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coll
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Satisfactory Stay

The location of the hotel was great for a first time trip to New Orleans. It was located on Burbon St. in the French Quarter and allowed easy walking access to all the local tourist attractions including tours, the Garden District, the French Market and trolley access, and cabs were not hard to get since we traveled to locations outside of the typical tourist spots. I would not want to stay on Bourbon St. in the future just based on our desire not to drink 24/7, but we were still very able to access more low key spots and the rooms were quiet. Nothing in the hotel blew me away, so I would consider this an average hotel stay. It has more character than a national chain hotel but there was nothing that stood out to me more than at other places I've stayed. The designated concierge for suggestions and trips was out at times when were looking for recommendations, so getting "You can try our hotel restaurant." as a response to looking for a unique to New Orleans dining experience from at the reception desk led us to forgo the check in area as a resource. All in all it was a standard, satisfactory stay at a satisfactory hotel. We truly enjoyed our trip and the hotel didn't play a significant role either way in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jacquesimos is a an awesome restaurant for dinner, but be prepared to wait, reservation or not. Totally worth it!!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dagmara
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great location in French Quarter

The hotel's location doesn't get any better if you'd like to stay on Burbon St; that being said, keep in mind that it will be LOUD (even if you'll stay on Conti or Bienville St side) till about 5 am EVERY night. My suggestion would be to stay on the courtyard side if you won't be out all night and would like to catch some zzz's. The hotel itself, even though it's rated as a 5 star hotel, is not as nice as some other luxurious 5 star hotels in other cities, so if you're expecting a true 5-star hotel, you will be disappointed (it's by no means anywhere close to the Waldorf Astoria and such). You have to put it in perspective though, and what that means here is that for what is available in the French Quarter and on Burbon St I could see why it would be rated as a 5-star establishment. The rooms were clean and other than the noise, room comfort could not be any better. The staff if super nice and very accomodating, I couldn't praise them enough. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel (Brennan's - home of Bananas Foster, where you can have the best breakfast of your life, Red Fish Grill was excellent, and Bourbon House are some of my favorites).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to St Louis #1 Cemetery by yourself (4 city blocks from the hotel, straight down Conti St) or take one of the guided tours.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Mitzi
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Perfect Spot

The location was perfect allowing us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We were on the 5th floor so the street noise wasn't an issue for us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. In a nutshell we'd do it all over again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a smalll, quaint Italian restaurant checkout The Italian Barrel which is off of Decatur Street and just around the corner from Margaritaville. Food and atmosphere was great.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
East Coast Girl
Business
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2011

Right in Middle of Bourbon Street

Hotel is an oasis right on Bourbon Street. Offers the ability to enter the hotel from a side street if you want to escape the sleazy environment and smell of Bourbon Street. Within easy walking distance of most of the city's attractions. We were able to book with a great rate- I don't think that the hotel's amenities warrant their high regular room rate. Room service food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In to Nashville concerts
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 26, 2011

Easy in Big Easy

Great time and service at The Royal Sonesta in New Orleans. We watched Irving Mayfiels's concert in his club at the hotel. It was Jazz at its finest and included special guest Ken Ruffin. The staff goes out of their way to help you and even if it is just finding your favorite eating place or helping you pick one. Since this hotel is on Bourbon Street in the middle of the French Quarter it is THE LOCATION. PJ's bakery was the stuff that makes New Orleans a gastronomic delight. The berry tarts are especially tasty. It is a pleasure to go into the courtyard and talk or munch by the flowing fountain with tropical plants surrounding you. The Desire Restaurant is excellent,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat Redfish at the Redfish grill or taste the excellent etouffee at ACme Oyster Bar. You may pay more, but you will not get more or better taste.

Back to menu Return to top