$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisianaGrown
Friends
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Value on Bourbon Street

Great location on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Pretty much in the middle if the excitement. The room was nice and clean. The bedding was soft and comfortable. This is a really nice upscale hotel and the price wasn't that bad. You had to pay a fee for parking, but on Bourbon Street parking is a pain. So paying the parking fee to use the garage was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bbq shrimp dinner was great in the adjacent building to the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nulabs71
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2011

Right on Bourbon Street

My wife and I decided to visit New Orleans for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After reading many reviews on Orbitz we decided on the Royal Sonesta. The Hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quater on Bourbon Street. Yes, the Bourbon Street party rages loudly well into the night, every night, but you'd never know it from the quiet confines of your room. This is wonderful because as much fun as the party is on Bourbon Street when your ready to call it a night it's nice to have complete peace and quiet and this you will have on the courtyard rooms. There are balcony rooms that face Bourbon but I'd imagine those aren't so peaceful. The staff at the Hotel was wonderful. Everyone we came into contact w/ was always customer service minded and very friendly from the front desk folks to the bellhops and all the others in between. I especially liked chatting w/ Eubanks about each days adventures. He was very helpful. Would I stay at the Royal Sonesta again? Perhaps. The accommodations were top notch and the service was 4 star. For my wife and I though, we preferred the relative tranquility of Royal Street and the east side of the Quarter. Even though it is completely quiet inside the Royal Sonesta you still have to walk through the bourbon street madness to get to the Hotel. After an evening of fine dining and a night of music on Frenchman Street we didn't enjoy wading through all the craziness to get into the Hotel. All and all a great vacation at a fine Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If your going to visit New Orleans leave your vehicle at home. My wife and I were able to get to all of the big destinations either by walking, taxi, or street car. Areas included The French Quater, The Warehouse District, The Garden District, and The Treme Neighborhood. I think driving here would be difficult at best if you don't know the area.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
workingmom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Can't beat the location

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better location! I was in town for a conference and was able to easily walk to the convention center, Friendly staff, great food, This is where I will stay if/when I come back with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bucket List Checker
Friends
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Location, locatiion, location

Bourbon St., what can be better? Royal Sonesta was in the heat of things. Walk out the door in any direction and live the Big Easy. Walking distance from galleries, cooking school, exotic popsicle store, and Beinets at Cafe Du Monde. Life is Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definately ask people on the street or in their business' what there is to see while you are visiting. We found the Street Car a great asset, and it's just a few blocks from the hotel on Canal St. As a senior it costs just $. 40 a trip and can take you to the end of the month art show in the park, to the museum and to the hospital if you need it.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazman
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2011

The big EZ

Great time, great location, great people.....don't have to walk far for anything, food, drinks, entertainment of all kinds all with in just a few blocks walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrrr
Friends
virginia
Sep 27, 2011

Great Place Great location

Just Perfect! Great location very nice hotel,nice pool directly in the middle of Bourbon St. Close walk to anything french quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's oytster house

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAC17
Friends
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Football Weekend

The Sonesta has the best location for a weekend of tourist type fun in the city. Plus, the hotel is a cut above the standard accommodations on Bourbon. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coll
Couples
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Satisfactory Stay

The location of the hotel was great for a first time trip to New Orleans. It was located on Burbon St. in the French Quarter and allowed easy walking access to all the local tourist attractions including tours, the Garden District, the French Market and trolley access, and cabs were not hard to get since we traveled to locations outside of the typical tourist spots. I would not want to stay on Bourbon St. in the future just based on our desire not to drink 24/7, but we were still very able to access more low key spots and the rooms were quiet. Nothing in the hotel blew me away, so I would consider this an average hotel stay. It has more character than a national chain hotel but there was nothing that stood out to me more than at other places I've stayed. The designated concierge for suggestions and trips was out at times when were looking for recommendations, so getting "You can try our hotel restaurant." as a response to looking for a unique to New Orleans dining experience from at the reception desk led us to forgo the check in area as a resource. All in all it was a standard, satisfactory stay at a satisfactory hotel. We truly enjoyed our trip and the hotel didn't play a significant role either way in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jacquesimos is a an awesome restaurant for dinner, but be prepared to wait, reservation or not. Totally worth it!!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dagmara
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great location in French Quarter

The hotel's location doesn't get any better if you'd like to stay on Burbon St; that being said, keep in mind that it will be LOUD (even if you'll stay on Conti or Bienville St side) till about 5 am EVERY night. My suggestion would be to stay on the courtyard side if you won't be out all night and would like to catch some zzz's. The hotel itself, even though it's rated as a 5 star hotel, is not as nice as some other luxurious 5 star hotels in other cities, so if you're expecting a true 5-star hotel, you will be disappointed (it's by no means anywhere close to the Waldorf Astoria and such). You have to put it in perspective though, and what that means here is that for what is available in the French Quarter and on Burbon St I could see why it would be rated as a 5-star establishment. The rooms were clean and other than the noise, room comfort could not be any better. The staff if super nice and very accomodating, I couldn't praise them enough. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel (Brennan's - home of Bananas Foster, where you can have the best breakfast of your life, Red Fish Grill was excellent, and Bourbon House are some of my favorites).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to St Louis #1 Cemetery by yourself (4 city blocks from the hotel, straight down Conti St) or take one of the guided tours.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Mitzi
Couples
Pennsylvania, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Perfect Spot

The location was perfect allowing us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We were on the 5th floor so the street noise wasn't an issue for us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. In a nutshell we'd do it all over again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a smalll, quaint Italian restaurant checkout The Italian Barrel which is off of Decatur Street and just around the corner from Margaritaville. Food and atmosphere was great.

Back to menu Return to top