$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoCards
Louisville
Jan 9, 2013

Amazing

This place was awesome. Right in the heart of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stanley restaurant is delicious

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuzzSaw
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice weekend getaway

Very nice hotel. I only had one bad experince with 3 bellhops. I asked them directions for a place to eat and interuppted their discussion. They one that answered me acted upset that I interuppted them. And they were not busy...just shooting the bull. Other than that, I will be there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jim c
Business
Naples, FL, USA
Oct 23, 2011

excellent

no complaints. Superb staff. Only negative was the Tues night jazz band in the bar --would describe them as dreary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

prailine connection

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chula
Business
Surfside Beach, SC 29575, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Great spot for 3 older visitors

Excellent with 1 small exception: we never had bath towels in the room without contacting service. ( 4 days ) Jazz club off lobby is a great benefit to those who don't want to carouse after dinner. Location is very convenient. Staff is helpful and very friendly. Will use Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Jazz club! 3 out of four nights were great!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cpy99
Business
Lexington, KY, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Best balcony in NOLA

Had a wonderful time in New Orleans. Best part of the trip was sitting on the balcony overlooking Bourbon St.. Lots of noise but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time on Magic Tour of cemetary.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buff Driver
Business
Florida
Oct 10, 2011

Wonderful weekend experience.

Great location to experience Bourbon Street and the French Quarter and never get in your car. You can walk to many interesting landmarks, restaurants, bars, and see art on the street or in galleries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washll
Business
Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2011

First visit to Grandson at Tulane

I would characterize this as superior busy hotel on a noisy street. The fitness center is modest but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nulabs71
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2011

Right on Bourbon Street

My wife and I decided to visit New Orleans for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After reading many reviews on Orbitz we decided on the Royal Sonesta. The Hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quater on Bourbon Street. Yes, the Bourbon Street party rages loudly well into the night, every night, but you'd never know it from the quiet confines of your room. This is wonderful because as much fun as the party is on Bourbon Street when your ready to call it a night it's nice to have complete peace and quiet and this you will have on the courtyard rooms. There are balcony rooms that face Bourbon but I'd imagine those aren't so peaceful. The staff at the Hotel was wonderful. Everyone we came into contact w/ was always customer service minded and very friendly from the front desk folks to the bellhops and all the others in between. I especially liked chatting w/ Eubanks about each days adventures. He was very helpful. Would I stay at the Royal Sonesta again? Perhaps. The accommodations were top notch and the service was 4 star. For my wife and I though, we preferred the relative tranquility of Royal Street and the east side of the Quarter. Even though it is completely quiet inside the Royal Sonesta you still have to walk through the bourbon street madness to get to the Hotel. After an evening of fine dining and a night of music on Frenchman Street we didn't enjoy wading through all the craziness to get into the Hotel. All and all a great vacation at a fine Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisianaGrown
Business
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Value on Bourbon Street

Great location on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Pretty much in the middle if the excitement. The room was nice and clean. The bedding was soft and comfortable. This is a really nice upscale hotel and the price wasn't that bad. You had to pay a fee for parking, but on Bourbon Street parking is a pain. So paying the parking fee to use the garage was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bbq shrimp dinner was great in the adjacent building to the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nulabs71
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2011

Right on Bourbon Street

My wife and I decided to visit New Orleans for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After reading many reviews on Orbitz we decided on the Royal Sonesta. The Hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quater on Bourbon Street. Yes, the Bourbon Street party rages loudly well into the night, every night, but you'd never know it from the quiet confines of your room. This is wonderful because as much fun as the party is on Bourbon Street when your ready to call it a night it's nice to have complete peace and quiet and this you will have on the courtyard rooms. There are balcony rooms that face Bourbon but I'd imagine those aren't so peaceful. The staff at the Hotel was wonderful. Everyone we came into contact w/ was always customer service minded and very friendly from the front desk folks to the bellhops and all the others in between. I especially liked chatting w/ Eubanks about each days adventures. He was very helpful. Would I stay at the Royal Sonesta again? Perhaps. The accommodations were top notch and the service was 4 star. For my wife and I though, we preferred the relative tranquility of Royal Street and the east side of the Quarter. Even though it is completely quiet inside the Royal Sonesta you still have to walk through the bourbon street madness to get to the Hotel. After an evening of fine dining and a night of music on Frenchman Street we didn't enjoy wading through all the craziness to get into the Hotel. All and all a great vacation at a fine Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If your going to visit New Orleans leave your vehicle at home. My wife and I were able to get to all of the big destinations either by walking, taxi, or street car. Areas included The French Quater, The Warehouse District, The Garden District, and The Treme Neighborhood. I think driving here would be difficult at best if you don't know the area.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
workingmom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Can't beat the location

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better location! I was in town for a conference and was able to easily walk to the convention center, Friendly staff, great food, This is where I will stay if/when I come back with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top