Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
301 reviews
Really quite peaceful steps from the fun

it was amazing to me how quiet and beautiful this hotel was being on Bourbon Street I love that... See full review

  • Sperry1014
  • Nov 25, 2014
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisianaGrown
Business
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Value on Bourbon Street

Great location on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Pretty much in the middle if the excitement. The room was nice and clean. The bedding was soft and comfortable. This is a really nice upscale hotel and the price wasn't that bad. You had to pay a fee for parking, but on Bourbon Street parking is a pain. So paying the parking fee to use the garage was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bbq shrimp dinner was great in the adjacent building to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
workingmom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Can't beat the location

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better location! I was in town for a conference and was able to easily walk to the convention center, Friendly staff, great food, This is where I will stay if/when I come back with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazman
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2011

The big EZ

Great time, great location, great people.....don't have to walk far for anything, food, drinks, entertainment of all kinds all with in just a few blocks walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bucket List Checker
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Location, locatiion, location

Bourbon St., what can be better? Royal Sonesta was in the heat of things. Walk out the door in any direction and live the Big Easy. Walking distance from galleries, cooking school, exotic popsicle store, and Beinets at Cafe Du Monde. Life is Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definately ask people on the street or in their business' what there is to see while you are visiting. We found the Street Car a great asset, and it's just a few blocks from the hotel on Canal St. As a senior it costs just $. 40 a trip and can take you to the end of the month art show in the park, to the museum and to the hospital if you need it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrrr
Business
virginia
Sep 27, 2011

Great Place Great location

Just Perfect! Great location very nice hotel,nice pool directly in the middle of Bourbon St. Close walk to anything french quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's oytster house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAC17
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Football Weekend

The Sonesta has the best location for a weekend of tourist type fun in the city. Plus, the hotel is a cut above the standard accommodations on Bourbon. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coll
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Satisfactory Stay

The location of the hotel was great for a first time trip to New Orleans. It was located on Burbon St. in the French Quarter and allowed easy walking access to all the local tourist attractions including tours, the Garden District, the French Market and trolley access, and cabs were not hard to get since we traveled to locations outside of the typical tourist spots. I would not want to stay on Bourbon St. in the future just based on our desire not to drink 24/7, but we were still very able to access more low key spots and the rooms were quiet. Nothing in the hotel blew me away, so I would consider this an average hotel stay. It has more character than a national chain hotel but there was nothing that stood out to me more than at other places I've stayed. The designated concierge for suggestions and trips was out at times when were looking for recommendations, so getting "You can try our hotel restaurant." as a response to looking for a unique to New Orleans dining experience from at the reception desk led us to forgo the check in area as a resource. All in all it was a standard, satisfactory stay at a satisfactory hotel. We truly enjoyed our trip and the hotel didn't play a significant role either way in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jacquesimos is a an awesome restaurant for dinner, but be prepared to wait, reservation or not. Totally worth it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Mitzi
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Perfect Spot

The location was perfect allowing us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We were on the 5th floor so the street noise wasn't an issue for us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. In a nutshell we'd do it all over again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a smalll, quaint Italian restaurant checkout The Italian Barrel which is off of Decatur Street and just around the corner from Margaritaville. Food and atmosphere was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dagmara
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great location in French Quarter

The hotel's location doesn't get any better if you'd like to stay on Burbon St; that being said, keep in mind that it will be LOUD (even if you'll stay on Conti or Bienville St side) till about 5 am EVERY night. My suggestion would be to stay on the courtyard side if you won't be out all night and would like to catch some zzz's. The hotel itself, even though it's rated as a 5 star hotel, is not as nice as some other luxurious 5 star hotels in other cities, so if you're expecting a true 5-star hotel, you will be disappointed (it's by no means anywhere close to the Waldorf Astoria and such). You have to put it in perspective though, and what that means here is that for what is available in the French Quarter and on Burbon St I could see why it would be rated as a 5-star establishment. The rooms were clean and other than the noise, room comfort could not be any better. The staff if super nice and very accomodating, I couldn't praise them enough. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel (Brennan's - home of Bananas Foster, where you can have the best breakfast of your life, Red Fish Grill was excellent, and Bourbon House are some of my favorites).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to St Louis #1 Cemetery by yourself (4 city blocks from the hotel, straight down Conti St) or take one of the guided tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Veillon's
Business
Sulphur, La.
Sep 2, 2011

anniversary stay

Really enjoyed my stay, perfect location, only thing that bothered me is I wish there was a coffee pot in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I liked that we can walk everywhere we wanted to go didn't have to drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top