$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRubes
Couples
Boston
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever!!

Went to New Orleans with my girlfriend of 2 years and booked travel for 3 nights.. The hotel was great! It has a jazz bar in it which is fantastic, and the oyster bar gives you that NO feel. The staff was super friendly; we needed our air in the room adjusted to blow colder air, and it was fixed within 15 minutes of calling! Since its right on Bourbon Street, it can be LOUD but we booked with that understanding. The hotel provides security, though, so you can't get to the elevators without a key. I really liked that, especially with the insanity taking place outside. Will definitely, unequivocally be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CALISAINTSFAN
Family
california
Dec 29, 2011

thank you

The hotel staff was more than accommodating, and the hotel itself was great. This is a very good, clean and solid hotel..................hey you are in New Orleans, how much time do you spend in the room anyway ???? I not only would recommend this hotel, but I will be staying there the next time I go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocana right around the corner.........................amazing food

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
charleshawk
Single
circleville ohio
Dec 27, 2011

christmas getaway.

Accomidations, food, staff were great. A little costly given the time of year, but over all a very good stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great antique shops and art galleries.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickPC
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 23, 2011

Big and Easy in the Big Easy

If you go to New Orleans and plan to spend the bulk of your time in the French Quarter, the Garden District, Business Center or the Warehouse District you can't go wrong with the Royal Sonesta.We stayed 4 nights there and found it thoroughly enjoyable. It was quiet inside despite the 24 hr party on Bourbon Street just outside the front door. Also got excellent help and service from the staff. The only things which could have improved the visit would be firmer pillows and the lighting in our room was oddly connected to light switches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a giuded tour of the heavily damaged but resurging 9th ward. Its inspirational.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnnyAppleseed
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Ask if the your hotel is being renovated!

I was very excited to be staying at a hotel which was renowned for its courtyards. I was at Conference where I needed to entertain some business colleagues. I invited them to my hotel for a quite meeting only to have our meeting disrupted, and be embarrassed by the noise. There we were, well after dark in the courtyard and we could not hear each other talk for the sound of saws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eva G.
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Great experience from to A to Z

Great experience. Our room was quiet, with comfortable beds, super soft white sheets, and the best pillows. We've upgraded to the Tower Floor and it was worth every penny: inclusive breakfast, happy hour from 5-7pm with nice appetizers and nice quality wines. The concierge and staff was absolutely the best. They had great suggestions for music and dinning, made our reservations, and took care pretty much of everything we've asked for. And whatever you do-don't miss the Irvin Mayfield's jazz lounge in the lobby. Fantastic jazz and great atmosphere. Loved every hour of our stay at that hotel. Five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Amelie at 912 Royal Street. Fresh and delicious Louisiana food, prepared with much more finesse than at the big touristy spots. Super romantic courtyard setting; even though we ate inside because of the rain it still felt truly magical.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boyaa
Couples
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Couples getaway

Good Location, clean and helpful staff. Be sure to try to get an upgarde to Club level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em Dog
Couples
God's Country- Iowa
Dec 10, 2011

short stay

We only stayed three nights( the airlines made sure if that by not getting us there the first night, so we stayed in a dumpy Ramada in Houston at midnite instead of an 8 pm arrival to the Royal!) But the three nites were great and the hotel very nice with friendly staff and lots of options. We were on floor 7 which is "Royal" service floor with drinks at night and breakfast in the a m all part of the room cost. They also have a very friendly man that is devoted to the "Royal Service" and helps with what to do where to go and will make reservations etc. Great location...right ON Bourbon and close to a lot(there are Strip clubs right across the street and next door close...just FYI, if that bothers you) FINALLY...don't miss the WW II Museum very very interesting..about a half hour walk from the French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wille Mae's Chicken....great for lunch and 5 minute taxi drive

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazz2
Couples
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 30, 2011

Very enjoyable

The Royal Sonesta was very comfortable, clean, and well located for walking to the various tourist attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was impressed at the amount of security that was present. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Royal Sonesta's Desire Oyster Bar was outstanding.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike2011
Couples
Texas, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Please choose a different hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel for a vacation. Room staff constantly disturb you to clean the room. The hotel is not safe as someone was knocking our door at 2 am in the morning and we had to call the security. The whole trip at new Orleans was good except for the stay at this hotel. They also have a hidden parking charge of 40 dollars per night. My credit card statement indicated that they have charged me 50 bucks per night. I had to call them to get this corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS65
Couples
Chicago, IL
Nov 21, 2011

French Quarter Hotel

Located right on Bourbon Street the hotel was very convenient. The rooms were clean and the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top