$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd Deavor
Couples
Loxley, AL
Feb 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was one of my best trips to NO best location every and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yales
Couples
Charles City, IA 50616, USA
Feb 4, 2012

New Orleans Honeymoon

The Royal Sonesta Hotel was a great stay. The staff was so warming and friendly, helped us with anything we needed. We loved the live jazz bands every night. The only complaint we had was that the cable/satellite would cut in and out quite a bit and the it took a little longer for the picture to come on the screen. Couldn't beat the location, short walking distance from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was so many dining choices in a short walking distance. All the big name diners and restaurants along with the unknown that serve great food.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlondeDetective
Single
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 27, 2012

Perfection in the Big Easy

From the time you are met at the front door, the experience at the Royal Sonesta, New Orleans, just gets better and better. It's located right on Bourbon St. and if you didn't want to go out, you wouldn't have to as the hotel offers everything from a cute little breakfast shop (PJ's) to a great little restaurant (Desire Oyster Bar) to a top ranked jazz Club (Irvin Mayfield's). The rooms are all gorgeous. My room looked out into the pool area. Do yourself a favor and take a trip to the Big Easy and stay at the Royal Sonesta. You'll be glad you did !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go outside the French Quarter and do some exploring. There are over 1200 restaurants in New Orleans, don't limit yourself to the French Quarter. I don't believe you can get a bad meal in New Orleans, so give it a try.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIkM
Couples
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Great weekend for a 50th birthday!

The Hotel was clean and amazingly quiet since it is on Boubon St. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. An overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GW Fins restaurant was excellent. Food and service were superb! I will dine there again the next time I travel to New Orleans.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
echo79
Couples
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Anniversary Heavan

The hotel is beautiful and has its own restaurants and a jazz club (the jazz was awesome!) next to the lobby. The courtyard is quiet and peaceful, lush and green. The staff were attentive, pleasant and always at your service. This was my first experience at a high-end hotel such as this and I was not disappointed. However, I wish the room would have had a coffee maker and fridge. I found that I did miss these amenities, which I am used to at mid-level hotels. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and the room a good size. I was in a room next to the fitness center and it was loud, especially when people had the TV on while running on the treadmill. Next time I will request to be away from there. The location is absolutely the best thing about this hotel. Ignoring the in-your-face debauchery on Bourbon St, the hotel is a short walk to Decatur St, the French Market, Canal St to catch the streetcars and the Royal St shops. I wish we had more time to explore the business district, downtown and city park. There are loads of museums, but the weather was so nice, that we didn't want to spend the day inside. New Orleans was worth the trip, and we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coops Place on Decatur has some awesome creole food but do NOT step through the doorway when there are people waiting outside. The staff will come and get you when they are ready to seat you.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike9mike
Couples
san jose,ca
Jan 19, 2012

Heart of the french quarter.

room was clean. no rooms had refrigerators. staff was helpful. jazz club is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Short Business Stay
Couples
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Short business trip

My experience in the hotel was great. The location was fabulous. Being on Bourbon Street, some of the guest were a little loud (including the ones that came in at 3:30 in the morning and seemed to want to transact business in the hallway). But overall, the location was great, the room was spacious and clean, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Freeman
Friends
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Bourbon St at it's finest!

So Bourbon Street is what you desire? First class is how you roll? Imagine the complete Bourbon St experience and right in the middle is your oasis, the Royal Sonesta! One minute you’re in the middle of all the excitement and the next minute the doorman greets you with a big smile and opens the door to the lap of luxury. Don’t forget to visit Kendrell and the folks at Desire…he shucks oysters faster than you can eat them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure you visit Magazine Street for an afternoon stroll and French Market Street for after dinner Jazz.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ngreg
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 14, 2012

great trip!

we had a fantastic time in new orleans! our room was clean, they had a crib set up for our kid when we arrived, the food in the hotel restaurant was great, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. next time we go to new orleans we want to stay in the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the french market and get a beignet while you're there.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Love
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Warm staff, beautiful hotel, great location

We stayed on the concierge level which was fantastic. Warm and helpful staff, great service, good food, very private atmosphere, friendly guests. Location is premiere; step outside to a very lively street party daily while enjoying a quiet, peaceful hotel environment whenever you step inside. Georgeous courtyard and swimming pool; underground parking attendants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DandD
Couples
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great times!

The hotel is beautiful! It's on Burbon St. in the heart of the party scene, but once you step inside it's quiet, relaxing, elegance. On-site restaurants were super, especially Desire Oyster Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the St. Charles street car out to explore the Garden District. It's only $1.25 and cars come by every few minutes.

Back to menu Return to top