$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louisiana Honeymooner
Denham springs, la
Jan 6, 2014

Royal treatment

Check in was easy and the room was great. Loved my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alligator and Turtle
Business
New England
Mar 30, 2012

Bourbon Street on a budget

There were 4 adults. We had one room with a terrace. We all agreed that we had a very nice room at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Willie Mae's Scotch House. It has been featured on the food channel. We were all surprised at how good the chicken was. Also, the Court of the Two Sisters on Royal Street was very good. This was not cheap, but certainly worth it. Eating out should be about the quality and experience. They did a good job.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schsieme
Business
Saint Louis MO
Mar 29, 2012

Outstanding

An amazing experience. Every single staff person we encountered was THE BEST. I felt like a Princess from beginning to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet Jock
Business
Central PA
Mar 27, 2012

4 star facility but 2 star room and housekeeping

Hotel was 4 star but the Deluxe King room was no more than 2 1/2 star. The room was damp/humid. One day we had to go out looking for wash cloths and another we ran out of toilet paper. The bath was small with a poorly constructed single vanity and there was a little mold on the tub grout. Clock/radio/mp3 player had the wrong time and no apparent way to change it. The concierge said he would have someone change it, but it never happened. We might return to an upgraded room because the location and hotel appointments were very nice but likely will look for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arles
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Mar 14, 2012

A-ONE

Staying at the Royal Senesta right on Bourbon Street was one of the best ideas I've had in a long time. The hotel was beautiful and right in the heart of the French Quarter. We were able to walk to almost all destinations. Their Sunday Brunch was lovely, and the waite staff was wonderful. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see. The WWII museum cannot be missed.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
billy k
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 3, 2012

not for kids

best hotel on bourbon street. Rooms are great hotel is beautyful. location couldn't be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good places to eat just off bourbon st. Live Music everywhere. This place is not for kids

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrinzD
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Royal Sonestra

The staff was excellent. Amenities are so -so. Good location for Mardi Gras; except when arriving or departing due to inability of vehicles to traverse Bourbon Street. Slightly taken aback by $30.00 per night "security" charge that was never mentioned until check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous excellent eateries in walking distance.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ personal traveler
Business
Bridgewater, NJ, USA
Feb 21, 2012

winter getaway

The hotel was very nice except for the small beds in the room. They told us they were queen size but they were actually full size beds. There is no coffee maker in the room. There is a coffee shop in the lobby, however that first cup of coffee while you are still getting ready would be great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
carebear15
Business
Decatur ms
Feb 15, 2012

extra charges

The hotel was great. The only problem was that every night between 2 & 3 a.m. my debit card was being charged. the first night it was charged $307.00, the 2nd night it was charged 267.00 and the last night was charged 260.00 and the morning we were checking out I was charged another 681.00. When we asked why they told us it was just conformation charges. There were a total of $1500.00 charges that we did not use!!! It is being refunded back to my card but each transaction has to wait 3 days to come back onto my card. So everyday I have to call the credit card company to make sure they are releasing the transaction back onto my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

watch your credit card transactions very closely! if I hadn't noticed the transaction coming off of my account I probably would have been out $1500!!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Dancer
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 14, 2012

True Southern Hospitality!

Great food! Awesome Staff! Very clean. I was hesitant to stay right on Bourbon Street because I thought it might not be "nice" but was really surprised. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar was very good! Friendly and very good wait staff! :)

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve and Laura
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

our honeymoon in New Orleans

It was fantastic! The hussle and bustle of Bourbon St outside, you walk inside the doors of Royal Sonesta to quite and peace. The room was clean and newly remodled the staff was so helpful. Even loaning us an umbrella the last morning during our one and only rainstorm in our 5 day trip. Thank You Royal Sonesta for everything!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Green Line streetcar with an all day pass. On that line you can go to WWII and civil war muesums, the beautiful Garden District and the Layefette Cemetary. All for $3.00 per person plus admission to muesums. At WWII do the package film and tour. Do the film first, narrated by Tom Hanks, fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top