$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrinzD
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Royal Sonestra

The staff was excellent. Amenities are so -so. Good location for Mardi Gras; except when arriving or departing due to inability of vehicles to traverse Bourbon Street. Slightly taken aback by $30.00 per night "security" charge that was never mentioned until check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous excellent eateries in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ personal traveler
Business
Bridgewater, NJ, USA
Feb 21, 2012

winter getaway

The hotel was very nice except for the small beds in the room. They told us they were queen size but they were actually full size beds. There is no coffee maker in the room. There is a coffee shop in the lobby, however that first cup of coffee while you are still getting ready would be great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
carebear15
Business
Decatur ms
Feb 15, 2012

extra charges

The hotel was great. The only problem was that every night between 2 & 3 a.m. my debit card was being charged. the first night it was charged $307.00, the 2nd night it was charged 267.00 and the last night was charged 260.00 and the morning we were checking out I was charged another 681.00. When we asked why they told us it was just conformation charges. There were a total of $1500.00 charges that we did not use!!! It is being refunded back to my card but each transaction has to wait 3 days to come back onto my card. So everyday I have to call the credit card company to make sure they are releasing the transaction back onto my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

watch your credit card transactions very closely! if I hadn't noticed the transaction coming off of my account I probably would have been out $1500!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Dancer
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 14, 2012

True Southern Hospitality!

Great food! Awesome Staff! Very clean. I was hesitant to stay right on Bourbon Street because I thought it might not be "nice" but was really surprised. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar was very good! Friendly and very good wait staff! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve and Laura
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

our honeymoon in New Orleans

It was fantastic! The hussle and bustle of Bourbon St outside, you walk inside the doors of Royal Sonesta to quite and peace. The room was clean and newly remodled the staff was so helpful. Even loaning us an umbrella the last morning during our one and only rainstorm in our 5 day trip. Thank You Royal Sonesta for everything!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Green Line streetcar with an all day pass. On that line you can go to WWII and civil war muesums, the beautiful Garden District and the Layefette Cemetary. All for $3.00 per person plus admission to muesums. At WWII do the package film and tour. Do the film first, narrated by Tom Hanks, fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yales
Business
Charles City, IA 50616, USA
Feb 4, 2012

New Orleans Honeymoon

The Royal Sonesta Hotel was a great stay. The staff was so warming and friendly, helped us with anything we needed. We loved the live jazz bands every night. The only complaint we had was that the cable/satellite would cut in and out quite a bit and the it took a little longer for the picture to come on the screen. Couldn't beat the location, short walking distance from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was so many dining choices in a short walking distance. All the big name diners and restaurants along with the unknown that serve great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlondeDetective
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 27, 2012

Perfection in the Big Easy

From the time you are met at the front door, the experience at the Royal Sonesta, New Orleans, just gets better and better. It's located right on Bourbon St. and if you didn't want to go out, you wouldn't have to as the hotel offers everything from a cute little breakfast shop (PJ's) to a great little restaurant (Desire Oyster Bar) to a top ranked jazz Club (Irvin Mayfield's). The rooms are all gorgeous. My room looked out into the pool area. Do yourself a favor and take a trip to the Big Easy and stay at the Royal Sonesta. You'll be glad you did !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go outside the French Quarter and do some exploring. There are over 1200 restaurants in New Orleans, don't limit yourself to the French Quarter. I don't believe you can get a bad meal in New Orleans, so give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIkM
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Great weekend for a 50th birthday!

The Hotel was clean and amazingly quiet since it is on Boubon St. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. An overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GW Fins restaurant was excellent. Food and service were superb! I will dine there again the next time I travel to New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
echo79
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Anniversary Heavan

The hotel is beautiful and has its own restaurants and a jazz club (the jazz was awesome!) next to the lobby. The courtyard is quiet and peaceful, lush and green. The staff were attentive, pleasant and always at your service. This was my first experience at a high-end hotel such as this and I was not disappointed. However, I wish the room would have had a coffee maker and fridge. I found that I did miss these amenities, which I am used to at mid-level hotels. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and the room a good size. I was in a room next to the fitness center and it was loud, especially when people had the TV on while running on the treadmill. Next time I will request to be away from there. The location is absolutely the best thing about this hotel. Ignoring the in-your-face debauchery on Bourbon St, the hotel is a short walk to Decatur St, the French Market, Canal St to catch the streetcars and the Royal St shops. I wish we had more time to explore the business district, downtown and city park. There are loads of museums, but the weather was so nice, that we didn't want to spend the day inside. New Orleans was worth the trip, and we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coops Place on Decatur has some awesome creole food but do NOT step through the doorway when there are people waiting outside. The staff will come and get you when they are ready to seat you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike9mike
Business
san jose,ca
Jan 19, 2012

Heart of the french quarter.

room was clean. no rooms had refrigerators. staff was helpful. jazz club is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top