$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Biloxi, MS
Jul 11, 2011

2011 Runnihg of the Bulls in New Orleans

I am not an experienced traveler so it is hard to know what the norm is, but I had an excellent stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in New Orleans. The staff was more than helpful. Every consideration was given to the peculiarities of my stay. The hotel operator was even sympathetic to my request for a 3:30 am wake up call so we could get up early and set up the sound system for the 7:00 am start time of the festivities. They did not even blink when I asked for valet parking for only the second night of my stay. The hotel is very close to Ernst Café where most of the Bull Run activities are held. The restaurant in the hotel had an excellent menu and served up one of the biggest and tasty rib eye steaks I have ever encountered. The chef even sent out a few appetizers not on the menu for us to try, great example of the Gulf Coast tradition of Lagniappe. The room was not large but neither was the price. Our two queen beds were comfortable and the non smoking room was clean and obviously well maintained. I did hear some late night revelers coming down the hall but they were obviously in high spirits and I can't really fault the room for that. I will be looking forward to staying there for next years running of the Bulls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
flower mound, texas
Jan 17, 2011

Expensive dining!!!

Very expensive food,buffet only Sunday. Do not buy meal ticket. It was a complete waste of money. only 7 places none for breakfast except coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers resturant

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Travel
Business
PA
Dec 13, 2010

Beautiful hotel. Good location.

My husband and I were there to celebrate his birthday. This hotel was beautiful and we like the location. It was about 7 blocks to Burboun St., close enough to walk but far enough to get away from some of the nightlife when we wanted a break. Plus the walk allowed us to see other streets and parts of the city that we might have missed if we did not have the walk. Hotel bar and food were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took a bike tour one afternoon that allowed us to see more of the city and get a nice history lesson. Highly recommend that

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Z - the bride-to-be
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Oct 26, 2010

Bachelorette party

Hotel was beautiful! The first thing I noticed upon walking in was how beautiful it was AND how GREAT it smelled. I'm a sensitive smell person, so a clean/good smelling hotel is important to me. Staff was very friendly, courteous, and attentive. We had 5 of us in one room with 2 doubles, so I called for a cot. Unfortunately it's a fire hazard in our type of room, but they promptly brought us extra comforters and pillows to make a palette on the floor for one of us. Excellent location. Not too far from the French Quarter. Definitely within walking distance, though we did take advantage of a couple inexpensive cab rides just to save our feet. Only complaint would be that Valet was mandatory and cost $30, which was simply charged to my card, but that was not enough of an issue to change my mind about loving the place. I will DEFINITELY stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 6, 2010

Some good, some bad

Overall the trip was very enjoyable. [...], one of our bellboys, was very helpful and friendly and so was [...], our concierge. The pool was small, but it was very relaxing b/c it was on the roof and there was a nice breeze while you were pool side. And there were plenty of chairs for everyone to lay out. The hot tub was nice in the evenings (great view of the city at night). And there are a ton of good restaurants in walking distance…Although our favorite was La Thai on Prytania St, which was not in walking distance. The French Quarter and market are in walking distance. On the downside, the room was average and didn't have many amenities. The A/C never felt as cool as the temperature on the thermostat, our sheets had mildew stains on them, the coffee pot brewed one cup at a time (not good when you have four people staying in one room so you may consider bringing your own), the mini fridge was broken (but they brought us another one...seemed to be a recurring problem in most of the rooms) and lastly, we were missing a large amount of money when we came back into the room. That was probably the most depressing thing that happened during our stay. We don't want to point any fingers at anyone, but we know the money was there when we left and after housekeeping came, it wasn't there anymore. But, there is a safe in the room, so I would encourage you to use it (it's our fault for not taking advantage of the safe).There are a ton of things to do within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (shopping, eating, Audubon zoo, riding the trolley, taking a stroll through Audubon Park, IMAX, Aquarium, River Walk, etc.) and when you feel like lounging, the pool is a great place for that. As I said, overall it was a great trip and we really enjoyed ourselves and the great New Orleans cuisine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Thai...best food we had in a long time. And it was our first time to eat Thai food. It's on Prytania St. near uptown and you can't beat the price. Highly recommend it!

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Jun 28, 2010

Good Value for the Price

Attended convention. Hotel is only 5 blocks from the convention center. Also within walking distance of WWII museum and Emeril's Internet service should be included in the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go the WW II museum and especially see the 4D movie.

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meridian, MS
May 31, 2010

Great place and very close to everything

Great place, good service and friendly/helpful staff. Walking distance to so many things. We parked our car with Valet parking and never got it out until we got ready to leave to come back home. The Warehouse/Arts District is the best place to stay, not noisey like the French Quarters but still a lot going on to make it NO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To the St. Charles Street Car which takes you within a short walk to Magazine Street which has wonderful shopping and eating experiences. Commander's Palace, La Petite Grocery, Theo's Pizza to name a few great eating experiences.

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monty Getaway
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 18, 2010

Exactly what we were looking for

We were looking for a relaxing weekend and this hotel provided exactly what we were looking for on our trip. We did not want to stay in the French Quarter but wanted to be within walking distance. This hotel was in the perfect location. The staff was super friendly, the room was clean and modern, the bed was quite comfortable and it was very quiet. The roof top pool was relaxing and the fitness center was modern. Tommy's Cuisine is one block over and the food is exceptional. The WWII Museum is a short walk down the street and is a nice experience. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Children's Museum is a few blocks away and a great excursion for the kids.

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Festival Reveler
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 30, 2010

Beautiful hotel in IDEAL location

This hotel has wonderful customer service. I went to this hotel the weekend of Essence Festival, a large musical festival held over July 4th weekend. The property is beautiful and located right along the Canal Street waterfront. This was my first trip to N/O in a long time, and I will definitely return to this hotel when I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Arts Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houma, LA
Feb 11, 2010

Fantastic getaway

Loved the Warehouse District. Found the hotel restful and still close to all the excitement. Walked to the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar across the street from the hotel is a great nightspot!

Back to menu Return to top