$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

3 stars
View map of 1319 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Oct 7, 2010

Would definitely not stay here again...

I was in NO for an industry conference/expo recently and stayed at the Maison St. Charles Quality Inn & Suites. I booked the trip only a week ahead of the trip and didn't do much research. Fortunately I didn't spend too much time in the room, because it was pretty disgusting. The bathroom had hair on the floor and who knows where else, because it was so dimly lit. The shower looked filthy, and there was no bar soap in the room (luckily I packed my own). The door to the room was poorly fit to the frame and looked like it would be very easy to break into if somebody wanted to even with the dead bolt and door guard locked, which was slightly concerning because this place appears to be on the edge of the bad side of town. One could easily see daylight through the gaps! The fan/air conditioner was terribly noisy as well. The French Quarter was only about a mile walk away, which I didn't mind, and was pretty safe area to walk through. On the bright side, the staff was friendly. I didn't get a chance to try out the breakfast since I had to catch a very early flight, but at least it was included for free. Overall, I would guess that there are probably better values to be had in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Sep 17, 2010

good

generally pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Sep 12, 2010

Great Times!

This hotel is very nice for the price. The location is far enough away from Bourbon Street, but still a walkable distance, maybe 1/2 a mile? The trolley line is right out front too. The room was clean & friendly. The AC was stellar & the bed was very comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Please-U Diner" was delicious breakfast at an extremely fair price! Its up the block (opposite direction from Wendy's) on St. Charles.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topsham, ME
Aug 30, 2010

Very nice hotel

This is my hotel of choice in New Orleans. Have had great experiences there. I like it a lot. Good value, nice place, nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 13, 2010

above averge, and worth the money

Good location on St. Charles ave in Garden District, easy reach of streetcar (just opposite the hotel entrace) to get to French Quarter & other attractions, several good restaurants w/i 2 blocks, lots of choice for breakfast, & the $17/day parking fee was included in the room rate which makes the price very attractive. The shortcome is we were arranged at the corner which is very close to the street, it's a little bit noisy in early morning. Rooms are all good, but the bathroom is little small and spotty (at the corner), the receptionist is little cold upon check-in, but these are all ok, the worst thing is you can meet unwelcome visitors (bug/cockroach) in/outside room sometimes, that's sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several japanese sushi restaurant just w/i 2-3 blocks, like Hoshun

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston, IL
Jun 8, 2010

Average stay in a glorified motel

While this was not a bad stay, it wasn't good either. I had to move rooms right away because of noise and a smelly room. The free Internet didn't work very well, and the bathrooms were very basic. Noisy window a/c units didn't help either. The breakfast was extremely disappointing as well. I recommend the blue plate just one block (east?) across the street car line instead. On the upside, the room was clean, spacious and quiet after the move. Still, I would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue plate

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deauxdy
Business
Petaluma, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Great Location!

When we checked in and saw the suite, we were so happy! Since the two-bedroom suite is in the front building, we had the whole building to ourselves! It felt like a house, not a hotel room. While some of the amenities are older, it was comfortable and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSU Redhead
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 19, 2010

Great authentic New Orleans atmosphere!

This hotel is right on the St. Charles street car route. You can catch it right outside the hotel and ride it down to the zoo, Audubon Park, Canal Street, and many other destinations. The hotel is made up of a series of old authentic New Orleans buildings with a courtyard in the middle. All the rooms have been renovated and are full of New Orleans charm and decor. I loved the atmosphere and the location. This was our third trip to stay at the Maison St. Charles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go shopping on Magazine street. Its just a few blocks over from St. Charles.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield California
Apr 5, 2010

Excellent

We enjoyed staying at this location. It was far enough away from the craziness of the French Quarter, but located close enough to walk to some interesting shops, restaurants, and attractions. Having a trolley stop across the street made transportation quick and easy. The staff was outstanding, and extremely helpful. They shared personal knowledge about places we should visit that were off the regular tourist route. They had great recommendations for dining. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Brigtsen's for dinner. You will need a reservation. It is a little expensive, but definitely worth it if you plan on splurging for at least one meal. Dress is casual (jeans and nice shirt okay), although you will see some dressed up for special occasions. It is not a tourist destination, but is usually patronized by locals. Your hotel staff can give you directions, and you can reach it by trolley and a short walk.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Louisiana
Jan 2, 2010

Nice Place-No Frills

Convient location, St. Charles street car passes right in front of Hotel about 5 min ride to French Quater, walking distance to the Superdome(10 blocks). We booked at the last minute, room was not ready until 3pm. No frills but, a decent place to stay especially for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CheeseCake Bistrio just down the street, good food, try the Bloody Mary's and desseert.

Back to menu Return to top