$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

3 stars
1319 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
52 reviews
Pleasant room, great location

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I have stayed at other places in this area of St.... See full review

  • BGep
  • Aug 11, 2014
Comfortable and a great location.

Such a great location with the bus and street car stops right in front of the hotel. Nice breakfast... See full review

  • Purple grandma
  • May 27, 2014
Quaint Garden District charm on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar Line. Select service hotel comprised of three modern buildings and several Antebellum homes which house Historic Suites. Lushly landscaped courtyards, swimming pool and hot tub with poolside cabana. We offer a daily continental breakfast. All rooms offer free wireless high speed internet, coffee maker, iron/board, free local phone calls and voice mail. Cruise port, museums, the art district and the French Quarter are all within just a few blocks of our location. Tulane and Loyola Universities are both a short streetcar ride away. Pet charge: 50.00. Pet limit: 1 pet/room. Max 25 pounds. Parking charge: 17.00 USD per night. Cash Policy: valid picture ID and payment for entire stay required at check-in.

Hotel Map

29.9404 -90.0746
Nearby airports
New Orleans Intl. Arpt., (MSY), 12.00, MI, NW; Lakefront Arpt, (NEW), 5.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Ccar- Fr.Qtr 1m.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Runner
Indiana
Feb 4, 2014

New Orleans Marathon

Stayed here to run the New Orleans Marathon. Awesome location. Great staff. Room was adequate for the price. Not fancy but not bad either. Would stay here again. Parked on the street with no problem. Secure parking was available for a fee. Did not see the need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GOPACK
Aurora, NC
Jan 9, 2012

Just Right

Placed right where we wanted, between the superdome and bourbon street. It was easy to get to both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armelle
Nice, France
Jan 5, 2012

Ideally positioned to explore New Orleans

The best thing was the fact that one crossed the road and got directly on the tram which took 10 minutes to get to the edge of the French Quarter. Otherwise the hotel was all that we expected with a large room, clean and very pleasant. Breakfast and WiFi was included but parking was $18 extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DameElaine
Seattle, WA
Dec 31, 2011

Great location for Saints Football

This hotel is perfect if you're attending a Saints football game from out of town and need a place to stay. There's plenty of good food within walking distance, and other areas of the city are easily accessible by car or by street car, which has a stop almost directly in front of the hotel. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ony14047
Buffalo, NY, USA
Dec 18, 2011

I'd stay again

Stayed in the older section of hotel. Bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Room was small, but nice. St. Charles Trolly can be boarded right in front of hotel for $3 for an all day pass. One can get to the French Quarter (on trolley) in about 10 minutes. Take the trolley away from the french quarter to see some very,very beautiful homes. No need to rent a car if you stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a trolley away from French Quarter to end of trolly and go to O'Henry's on Tuesday for $2 beers and $6 cheeseburgers (fantastic).

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bossmann
Montgomery, Al
Nov 23, 2011

Average stay

The area is not safe with the bar next to this location. Police were called one night as a large rowdy crowd decended on the location. The street car was convientely located outside on St. Charles st. The Zoo was closed on Monday. The room was average and clean. The exterior was rundown. Parking is expensive and should be a consideration when booking this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Houstons Jazz club. Great dinner but no entertainment as advertised.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Better Comparable Hotels in New Orleans

I had a super early flight into New Orleans so when I wasn't able to check into my room at 10AM I wasn't too surprised. That said, I find it hard to believe every room at this hotel was booked on a Thursday night, leading to my Friday night reservation. It was a standard answer and procedure, which I understand, but have stayed in other New Orleans hotels which allowed me in early, so I'll keep that in mind for future visiting.The hotel is laid out very interestingly. You walk in from St. Charles into the lobby. On each side of the lobby there is a circle driveway that leads to the parking lot. It's kind of hard to explain, but imagine a horseshoe with the lobby in the middle and behind the circle you have the rooms. There's one or two historic looking houses/buildings converted into rooms, then more of a traditional hotel behind that. We were in the converted older style building. Our room, unsurprisingly, was very small (located on the second floor in the corner). I expect rooms in New Orleans and other cities to be small so it wasn't a huge deal. I did, however, look in the windows of some other rooms (in the same building) and they were quite large(r). I[...].The carpeting in the room looked to be fairly new and the bedding was comfortable and clean. (Just an FYI, they do charge a deposit to your credit card for damages based on your length of stay.) Hopefully I won't get dinged for the bathroom door that was hanging off the hinges (you had to pick up the door and push in the hinge to get it to close.) The shower was clean enough but there was some sort of a black discoloration above the shower (guessing some sort of mold.) One of the main issues we had with our room was that there was NO cold water...zero. Imagine being in New Orleans in August...cold water would come in handy. Turn the cold side of the sink...all warm...turn the shower...lukewarm. Terrible. The AC did work fairly well though, would be hard not to be able to cool such a small room. The front desk staff was okay, not very outgoing or helpful. I didn't try the pool, but I heard some other guests talking about how it was out of order. There was also breakfast served daily but I didn't get to check that out. One final drawback is the location. It's a great location for catching the street car (just across the street) and a 5-7 minute ride to the Quarter but its around several fast food restaurants which leads to some less than spectacular interactions.I'm not going to return to this hotel. Just not worth the risk when there are comparable hotels at very comparable rates in the city. If you get a super rate and are in town for a short stay you'll be fine. I'm sure you've stayed in worse, I have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do stay here, take the 4 block walk down to St. Charles to Avenue Pub. This is one of the best beer bars in the country with some good pub grub as well. Open 24/7/365!

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Richie
Houston, Texas
Jul 24, 2011

Great Stay

Fun stay. Main reason was to see WW2 Museum.Went to numerous resturants and enjoyed all. Shopping in French Market and visit to Cafe LeMonde for beignets and coffee was delightful.My bad back limited too much walking so we did so touring of the French Quarter in a car-not a good idea! Very congested and narrow rough streets became a very time consuming adventure. All in all, this was a plesent trip.Only stayed for three days, so didn't do all we would have liked.Trolley was great way to get around.This would not have been the place for children as limited activities available.We plan to come back in a few years when they complete the WW2 Museum expansion.I was expecting it too be larger than it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Farmington, KY
Jul 7, 2011

Celebrating 20 years

Toured the city of New Orleans, ate awesome food, and even shopped at the French Market. The employees at the Hotel were very impersonal and not very helpful. We constantly had to ask for additional wash clothes. They would tell us that someone would deliver them to us when they were out of the dryer. Parking is $17.00 a day and they can't afford enough wash clothes to give to everyone?? And the Hotel wasn't even half full with guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Deanies and The Riverfront Restaurant were amazing. Great food and wonderful atmosphere.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Inman, SC
Jun 29, 2011

Great front desk staff

Attend a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZenWrangler
Philadelphia, PA
May 8, 2011

Nawlins St. Charles

Although I gave the hotel 3 stars, I would not discount how appropriate it was for the stay we were looking to have in New Orleans. I gave it three stars because it's not like it was a premiere luxury hotel but it was quaint and fit just what we were looking for. The buildings are set up in quadrants with small balcony's overlooking the courtyards and the pool area. It's fun to people watch and beautiful to sit by the pool. Although our standard queen size room was a bit small, we spent very little time in it, so it was of no concern. As far as location was concerned, the St. Charles streetcar stops right out front and it's incredibly easy to get downtown and uptown. Directly across the street is one of Emeril's restaurants "Delmonico" and should you be looking for some late night cheap food because you've had too many Hurricanes or Hand Grenades, Popeyes and Wendy's are right next door. One way or the other, once you figure out where everything is downtown, it's nice to be able to come back to this hotel because it's quiet and relaxing morning, noon and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

On our first night we had a cab drop us off at Pat O'Briens for Hurricanes. We found ourself at an intersection of St. Peter's and bourbon Street that was amazing. On one corner, upbeat Jazz band, the other corner an awesome Kareoke spot called The Cat's Meow, the other corner a Rock cover band. Really awesome atmosphere. Down the street a place called "The Gumbo Shop" which was absolutley delicious cajun creole cuisine. Try everything your not used to and you wont be disappointed. Oh, and do not miss an opportunity to go to Jazz Fest (1st time and it was awesome).

Back to menu Return to top

Change search