$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sonya S.
Business
Melbourne, Florida
Aug 10, 2010

Decent for the Price

The hotel has a lovely little lobby, and the staff were excellent and very friendly. Parking was $30 a day and was Valet only. FYI- There is a parking garage at 716 Iberville St., right next to Dicky Brenon Steak House that charges $20 a day. It's valet, but they were very quick about getting the car and it's just about 2 blocks away from the hotel, just south of Bourbon St. The room we were in was not bad. Old TV, and some of the furniture looked a bit ragged, our window looked directly at another window and a brick wall, and the mattress and bed covers really needed replacing. A comfortable bed and a nice cover would have made all the difference in this room. All in all, the room was very well priced for the area and the decor was classic and a bit antique which gave the room charm so I am not dissatisfied with the room for the value. But we paid about $60 for the room, and if I had paid $100 for the room, I would have been disappointed to be sure. I would happily have paid $100 if the mattress was new and the bed covering had been more like they do in a Hilton or Marriott (white down comforter, nice quality pillows). So all in all, if you want an OK room at a good price, the location can not be beat, and the hotel has charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the garage at 716 Iberville Street if you are staying for a few days with a car. It will save you $10 a day in parking fees and is just a short walk.Oh, and don't bother going to the Union Oyster House. The food is not good at all, so don't be fooled by the tourist lines.

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, ny
Aug 6, 2010

Stay at Prince Conti

Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bombay club had great food and drinks

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 18, 2010

Family Fun

Hospitable staff, ideal location, walking distance to historic sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobadoo
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 12, 2010

Nice location

We were visiting New Orleans to experience downtown and taste the wonders of Cafe du Monde. Location is the key to this hotel. Not many amenities: outdated tech, not very large room, free breakfast severely lacks, and there was no mention anywhere of the required valet parking. For it being so near Bourbon street, our room was very quiet. We visited the Erin Rose bar (almost across the street) and were within walking distance of many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Erin Rose bar - very laid back and good prices and Cafe du Monde were the best experiences we had.

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 6, 2010

Essence Getaway

Great location! Not even a block away from Bourbon Street. The room made me sneeze. I don't know why. It really bother my allergies. The room was dark and need more lighting. Overall, nice hotel but not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Location!

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 30, 2010

Great Location, Thin Walls

Hotel is central to all that you want to see and do in New Orleans. It is an older hotel, so don't expect the amenities of a newer, larger hotel but do expect charm and great customer service. The family in the room next to me could be heard as if they were in my room, including the screaming kids. Noises in the hallway were similarly loud but if you are a good sleeper, the location should trump those concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeaude
Business
Tampa
Jun 28, 2010

Quiet getaway

The Prince Conti is just a short, (1/2 block) walk to Bourbon Street. The noise from Bourbon doesn't get into your room, tho. It is a quiet place and has a great restaurant and lounge, the Bombay. The place is old, circa 1950, but in great shape, with large rooms and wifi. I will be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to make the obligatory trip to Bourbon, but Royal and the square are more laid back and just as good as Bourbon is for activity.

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CathSea
Business
Seattle, WA
May 31, 2010

Great Location

The staff was friendly and the location was super. A block from Bourbon Street! We stayed in a double room for one night. We had three small children, so it was pretty darn small for all of us, but it would even would have been small if it was just the two of us. My sister's single room was really small - think European! They did have parking on-site - you do have to pay for it. I felt like the room could have been cleaner - carpet felt grubby, just little details overlooked. Apparently there are a variety of rooms with different layouts, sizes, etc. Ask for one of the larger rooms and ask about which one they are booking you in. Ask to be far away from the elevator, unless you might be the loud one walking down the hall at 3am. It is practically on Bourbon street after all - expect noisy neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geoff X
Business
Greenwich, CT
May 27, 2010

Fun Haunted Hotel, steps from Bourbon St

Overall good experience. No place to park so you essentially have to use the $28 valet service. Perfect location just steps from Bourbon St but far enough so that it is not too noisy. Haunted hotel with old architecture makes the experience unique and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Review of Prince Conti Hotel French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColoradoCat
Business
Littleton, Colorado
May 4, 2010

One night stay in New Orleans

The location couldn't have been better - half a block north of Bourbon street. We wanted to go to Preservation hall, which was 3 blocks east and half a block south - so it was an easy walk. Valet parking (for which there was a charge) was available, but we had to move it to another parking lot when we checked out even though it would have been less than 24 hours. Rooms were very nice and clean and even though we didn't have a window - we had a skylight! The staff was helpful and the building was historic and very well kept. We felt safe and secure in this hotel - it was so quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans Jazz at it's best is at Preservation Hall on St. James street. $10 gets you in at 8:00 and you can stay through all 3 sessions and leave at 11:00 - it is a must in NO!

Back to menu Return to top