$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
151 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 151
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA is my 2nd Home
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location, Not-So-Great Service

Great location. That's the only good thing about the place! Inhospitable staff behind desk, dark, noisy room, uncomfortable bed, and lumpy pillows. We've stayed in much better hotels in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SMILEM
Business
MISSISSIPPI
Nov 24, 2010

NOT VERY HAPPY

ROOM WAS NOT READY. VERY POOR SERVICE. POOR (VERY OLD) TV UNDER STAFFED. IF LOCATION IS WHAT YOU WANT, THIS IS A GREAT LOCATION IN THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beklight
Business
Laurel, MS
Aug 3, 2010

Choose another place

this is a small hotel for the money we paid. the maid service was slow and lacked professionalism. the valet parking was great but expensive. Beds comfy, the cable t.v. left a lot to be desired. I wouldn't recommend it for a honeymoon hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tugatlast
Business
Place d' Arms, New Orleans
Apr 12, 2013

Just location

Extraordinarily priced for a windowless place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mullenkee
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 30, 2014

Location is just about all there is here!

The only completely positive thing I say about this hotel is that the location is amazing. Other than that.... let's see, where do I start? - Our room had NO windows... as in NONE, zero, zilch, nada. Creepy Right? - The room, smelled putrid. A cross between sour vomit and perm solution. It was quite vile. - The room, which already felt small because of the no windows, was only about 250 square feet. There was so much furniture in that room, you hoped you didn't have to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, because you hoped you wouldn't walk into a piece of furniture in the pitch black darkness. Then, when you make it to the door, hope you are thin, or you can turn on a dime, because, I promise you, the opening to the door to the bathroom is only about 22-24 inches wide. - Now we all know New Orleans. is humid and hot and when you get to your room, you want a good shower. Water pressure in hotels is always poor, but the water was at such a low pressure that I could not get my hair wet enough to soak it to shampoo. I had to get down and use the faucet to wash my hair in the middle of my shower. - The staff at the front desk and bell desk were nice and helpful when needed, however the cleaning staff apparently attend metal concerts too often because they are so incredibly loud their hollering of, 'House Keeping!!', as they bang on the doors down the hall. Couple that with vacuuming all around us, and no alarm was needed. - I read that it is one of the most haunted buildings in New Orleans, and if that is your thing, I am pretty sure I had a minor experience. Perhaps they save their lesser rooms for online booking agents? Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised. Would I stay here again? Because the location is so great, and all my issues were with my room, yes, I would give them one more chance. Just the next time, I would book the room direct with the hotel and see if I got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Croix Falls, WI
Nov 16, 2009

Not all it's cracked up to be...

My partner and I stayed here the night before we flew out of NOLA. We arrived very early (9 a.m.), knowing that we would have to wait until the afternoon to check in. The morning staff was helpful and friendly and checked our bags, promising to have the room ready in a few hours--ahead of their regular check-in time--which we thought was nice. However, when we checked back around 1:00 pm, they had not cleaned any of the rooms on our floor yet and seemed annoyed that we came back to take them up on their offer to check in early. I reserved a "Deluxe" room which was supposed to overlook the cortyard and have a Queen bed. When we finally did get to check in (around 5 p.m.) we ended up with a dirty room in the corner of the 4th floor, right across from the elevator. The bathroom smelled bad, the faucet fell apart when we used it, and the shower needed a new shower head and a good scrub. To boot, the room was incredibly hot and the fan did not work. The night staff and the staff the next morning seemed annoyed at our questions regarding restaraunts and getting a taxi to the airport. The next morning,the woman at the front desk actually refused to give me a printout of our charges for the room for the night. I was very unhappy with this hotel and would not stay here again. I was drawn in by the promise of it being steps from the Cathedral, but truly, it would have been better to stay elsewhere and walk. I do not consider myself very "picky" about acommodations, but this hotel was a MAJOR disappointment for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gcap
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Charming courtyard in a convenient location

The Place D'arms is in the back end of the French quarter, which makes it ideal for accessing popular spits like cafe de monde and Jackson square while avoiding the chaos of bourbon street. The room was small and more dated than dirty. The staff was knowledgable about the area. The courtyard was filled with lovely trees and wrought iron tables. A nice escape and made up for the small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Stanleys for breakfast. Great and filling food but can be a little pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ritaw
Business
Kent, UK
Jan 2, 2012

Ideal position good service but limited facilities

room had no windows which we were not aware of think that this should be explicit in room description. breakfast continental but disappointing Boiling water not available. decor dingy and dated however cleanliness and room service good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of excellent music free and until late Frenchman and Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hopeful
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 14, 2012

French Quarter First

The hotel is in an excellent location! It has a wonderful courtyard with beautiful trees. It is an old building that has a wonderful atmosphere. The bed was terrible so we did not sleep well. The linens were also of a low quality. I was really disappointed because everything else was really nice. I would think that would be an easy fix, but they did not go to the effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martha and Gary
Business
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Sep 12, 2012

Great French Quarter location and atmosphere!

Place D'Armes has that unique New Orleans French Quarter style. This was our second time there and love the location. It is away from the noise of Bourbon Street but close enough to walk the streets for shopping, dining, etc. The staff was super friendly and efficient. Our car was parked right away and luggage brought to the room soon after. However, the only drawbacks are low lighting, the lack of a full length mirror, and no room refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top