$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BindyfromMaine
Business
Portland, Maine
May 29, 2013

First Time Travelers to NOLA

This hotel was very nice and close proximity to all the major streets, museums and restaurants. The room we were given had no windows, but this didn't bother us at all. The ceilings are high and the room was very clean and comfortable. We didn't chose this hotel for the amenities. The breakfast provided in the morning is mediocre, the pool is small (cozy and clean though) and the one balcony available for our use was okay. This won't be our first and only visit to NOLA. We love it there and would stay in this hotel again. Note no restaurant or bar here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn the trolley system, it is very easy and cuts down on the walking.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamesMcBane
Business
Ohio
Jun 8, 2013

That'll do, pig. That'll do.

The room was basic and had no windows. The service was friendly. The price was right. The patio, pool and garden area was incredible. The location was perfect. There appear to be other rooms with balconies and good views. Lesson learned. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Coop's Place. Seriously.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzy the Great
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2013

Nice Vintage Hotel

We spent the little extra money to get a window and it was worth it. It was over looking the courtyard and pool. The room was big with high ceilings. To get to the room you had to walk through the courtyard which was very pretty. The air conditioning was very strong in our room, which was a good thing because it was very hot (mid 90's). But the a/c was a bit loud and would wake us up at night when it would kick in. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to Cafe du Monde and Bourbon St.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michellemybelle71
Business
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Nice location

Great location, reasonably priced. Really delicious pastries and coffee in the morning and the staff was extremely nice, that is always a bonus to me. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malanks
Business
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Location location location!

If you want to stay at French Quarter, this is the place! walking distance to just about anything. Cafe Du Monde is basically 1 block away, and City grocery (where the original muffaletta is made) is a 5 min walk. Also, if you want to visit Mardi Gras world(where they make the floats), there is a free shuttle that you can call and they pick you up near cafe du monde! There is complimentary continental breakfast, but tons of restaurants near by if you want a heartier breakfast. There is also a really nice courtyard + small pool to just relax after exploring. the hotel upgraded us for free to a larger room, which was very nice. My only problem was trying to regulate the AC to the right temperature so that the room was cool enough but not humid. But honestly, I was just there to sleep, so i would still recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K 10 Vacation
Business
Fontana, CA
Nov 29, 2013

Family gateway

We loved the location and Facilities rooms were clean but if you are driving a car and planning to stay for several days be aware that parking might get a bit pricy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If in a mood for jazz. "Fritzel's"

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Desoto
Oct 25, 2008

Grand Location - Good Hotel

The Place D'Armes is situated in a perfect location for exploring the French Quarter. It is half a block from Jackson Square and close to everything else - Chartres and Royal St. sandwich the hotel with Bourbon St. an easy walk yet distant enough to avoid the bedlam. I've stayed at the Place D'Armes twice before and have never regretted the choice. The hotel rooms vary dramatically as does the reception one receives at the front desk on checking in. This time the check in was mostly disinterested bordering on cold. The rooms were large though showing their age with torn wall paper and in need of a refurbishment. Location being everything, however, one really doesn't stay long in the rooms anyway. Overall, even given the tired quality of the furnishings, the rooms and amenities are comfortable. The continental breakfast is a plus as are the courtyards which provide a relaxing and atmospheric shelter from the frantic energy of the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

My friends were interested in exploring the fashion boutiques and they were more than satisfied with their experience. I enjoyed the great antique and art stores. always just a block or two away.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach
Jul 6, 2008

downfalls

The main downfall was that the bed was uncomfortable and the airconditioning unit was noisy. Otherwise for the cost it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

most shopping and resturaunts are in walking distance. Located next to the square in the french quarter.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinity
Nov 30, 2008

Great location

Great location. But its an older building (which is not all bad as it has character) and the maintenance/cleanliness could be better. The room is nicely furnished, but somewhat crowded due to its smaller size...okay for a couple, but no more. We had to change rooms the last night as a mouse ran into our 2d floor room and we didn't want him in our luggage, etc.. The courtyard is beautiful, in the New Orleans style. Biggest complaint, the maid service wasn't very good and the kitchen staff wasn't very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, day/night life very close, all within walking distance.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mac Frac
Business
Jefferson, Texas
Aug 23, 2010

"Unbeatable Location"

Hotel was fine. Rooms very spacious. Air Conditioner worked well. Disappointed about $28.00 parking fee that was not mentioned when booked. Cut out on some of the savings that I was after.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top