$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
143 reviews
Great Vacation

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice and very clean. See full review

  • Textile Lady
  • Mar 28, 2014
Beautiful and charming vacation spot!!

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Ever need was met and them some. Thank you so much and I would... See full review

  • Brandy and Justin
  • Aug 30, 2013
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9584 -90.0633
Area served
French Quarter, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, French Market, Bourbon Street, the Central Business District, the Warehouse/Arts district and the Superdome.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
In the heart of the French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 9.9 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
sunnystaci79
Denver, Co.
Jul 14, 2009

Great Stay!!

Great location for a hotel!! a short walk to bourbon street and jackson square!! would definetly stay there again in a heartbeat!!! The hotel's rooms were nice, staff was very friendly and was a quiet hotel even though located in the heart of the french quarter!! Great value for the price I paid!!! would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife is unbelievable down in the french quarter!! the hotel is just a 3 minute walk from all the action!!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
ahm during hurricane
Business
Burbank, CA
Aug 29, 2012

When the Hurricane Hit

I loved my room at the Place D'Armes. It had all the charm that I wanted from the French Quarter and all the amenities that I wanted as a 21st century traveller. I did not count on Hurricane Isaac during the week I planned to stay. For safety precautions, Place D'Armes closed the hotel two days before the hurricane hit. They were patient and worked diligently to make sure all of their guests were taken care of -- either transferred to another hotel or checked out early. I hated leaving my fabulous room! But I had no desire to stay in New Orleans during the hurricane, so I opted to leave early. But I am planning another trip to New Orleans and will stay at Place D'Armes again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
DCC
Norman, OK
Nov 16, 2009

Best location

The location of the hotel was the best for anyone interested in staying in the French Quarter. The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and serviced well by housekeeping. The only issue was that you could hear noise from rooms next to you and particularly above. It wasn't bad enough to keep you awake, but if you were awake, you could hear it very plainly. Other than that, the overall experience was great. If we get a chance to return, we would definitely use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Bsrgain Jack
philadelphia, pa
Dec 12, 2009

Great Location in the Quarter

Nice and modest hotel with clean rooms and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Preservation Hall for jazz without alcohol... the Hall or its small room with only benches or floor space for seating is the pits, but the place is still great with its authentic spirit.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
mrmartinbksmart
Dayton, OH
Jul 3, 2012

Perfect location in the French Quarter

Location, location, location.... If you want to stay in the French Quarter you will not find a better location. The staff is very friendly and courteous. We arrived before the check-in time, so they took our bags and held them until the room was ready. They have a very nice outdoor pool in their courtyard, which is quiet and secluded from the outside world - you don't feel like you're in the center of the French Quarter. They provide a free Continental breakfast which consisted of apples, some pastries, muffins, coffee and juice. The only strange part of the hotel is that our room had no windows. This really wasn't a big deal since we were only in the room to sleep, but it was still a strange sensation. It was advertised as interior room, which we thought meant it looked over the courtyard, but it didn't. Other than that, the room was perfect for our needs. Great hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lillian, Alabama
Dec 10, 2009

Reasonable price for the location

We have been to New Orleans 5 times and this was our best trip ever. We enjoyed quiet time in the court yard at the Place De Arms, concert at St. Louis Cathedral, shopping on Magazine Street, riding the St. Charles street car to the end of the line and back. I hesitate to mention this because it is a little known secret! We took the ferry to Algiers Point and ate lunch at the Toute Suite Cafe and walked the historic district. It was a wonderful experience. Aout the hotel staff. From the time we arrived (garage parking staff) until we left, everyone was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Muriel's Cafe

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Ray and Di
Hamburg, New York
Sep 23, 2012

We'll do it again

A great location, in the heart of the french quarter. Helpful, courteous staff that are responsive to requests. The atmosphere captures the ambiance of historic New Orleans. Well worth it. We'll do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in the French Quarter. Night life is all around you.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
NKK
Holyoke, MA
Jul 2, 2009

Romantic hideaway

Very friendly desk staff. Nice balconies and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felipe's Taqueria, Intercontinental Hotel on St. Charles for Champagne Brunch

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Harvey K
Stockton, Illinois
Aug 19, 2012

Lucky discovery

First time to New Orleans. Really lucked out in discovering this hotel. Great location, and wonderful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
May 23, 2008

Nice, and good location

Pretty nice Holtel. One thing is I wished they had a microwave in the room. other than that, it was just fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top