$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
152 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glen Ridge
Jul 8, 2008

great location at a reasonable price

Place D'Armes, has a great location in a quiet area of the French Quarter. The windowless room was clean,the bed uncomfortable,the staff pleasant and the breakfast minimally qualified to be call thus. If you are on a tight budget as we were O.k, if not there are many other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nearby most things, dining, shopping, nightlife etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTP
Business
Lansing MI
Jan 10, 2010

It's Okay, Nothing Special

We spent four days on a walking tour of the French Quarter and surrounding area. The Hotel is in a great location but Place D'Armes has nothing else to offer. They lack an exercise room/gym which is essential in a city known for its caloric laden cuisine. The rooms are cute but small. The breakfast was reasonable for us but only consists of pastries, juice, coffee. Place D'Armes isn't the worst, but I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 29, 2009

Place D'armes

For a traveler, this hotel is in a good location and the price found on orbitz was not that bad. Some downfalls are that interior rooms are BLACK at night and mornings because there is no light and there is some noise in the interior front rooms as well when people are walking through at night. But it was comfortable, clean, and worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located in the French Quarter. Cafe du Monde, the beignet place, is really close and Bourbon street is not far off. There are several restaurants in the area that are some what reasonably priced for it being the french quarter in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmecte
Business
San Francisco
Sep 30, 2010

great location/no car needed

truly great location/no car needed. rooms are small but cute, terrible swimming pool (do not even think about using it). few people got sick cause we could not adjust their outdated air conditioners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crawdad
Business
Navarre, FL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Nice stay

The courtyard is extremely beautiful. This is one of the best locations. You are a few steps from jackson square & alpine - home of the awesome hurricane. This was not our first stay here, & it won't be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food!!! try the eggplant parm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy travelers.
Business
Louisiana
Jun 19, 2009

A very nice get-a-way for a few days.

Location, location, location ....... excellent. The mornings were great to stroll the charming streets of the Quarter or sit and relax in the very authentic, true to New Orleans hotel courtyard. The hotel is very quiet, very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose a "cheap" interior room which we regretted. Next time we will definately upgrade to a courtyard room. The continental breakfast room is lovely. Expect no more than a very, very simple continental breakfast. We would definately stay here again, just a larger room with at least a window or on the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many excellent choices very close to the hotel. We have learned to share entrees. It helps us to not overeat and it stretches the budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shondra Chels
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 7, 2014

Great location, great value

The Place d'Armes location could not have been any better. Just off of Jackson Square, you can easily walk to any of the nearby "hot spots" (i.e. The French Market, French Quarter, Bourbon Street). The hotel also had a ton of character which was great. Some of the rooms however are interior rooms without any windows which I did not realize upon booking. It would've been nice to have been able to get some fresh air or at least see what the weather was like when we woke up. The staff at the Place d'Armes was average. Sometimes quite helpful & other times a bit apathetic almost. The continental breakfast was underwhelming, but it did the job. Overall Place d'Armes is a great value especially given the location. It's perfect if you're not looking for something over-the-top fancy or impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmeblom
Business
Spring, Texas
Aug 27, 2009

Interesting... but still beautiful!

The hotel was super cool. The hotel has its own parking garage, but its $25 a night... which hurts a bit. We got a great deal thru cheaptickets on a single king bed room for only $58 so I can't really complain bc of the deal we got. However, if I had paid for price I may have had some things to say. There were no windows in the room... honestly didn't bother me because we stayed one night.. but I could see it becoming an issue. The bedding looked like a grandmas quilt. The room was pretty small, but it was accommodating. The common areas of the hotel make this place. The pool/courtyard area is absolutely gorgeous. There are several different eating/sitting rooms that are lined with windows if you want to get a view. There were obviously other rooms that had awesome double doors, but like I said ... we took the good deal since we stayed one night. So... overall I love this place. It has such personality! If you plan on staying a while or of you will be in your room a lot I would go for the exterior rooms, but if you are going to enjoy the outdoors of new orleans and want a good deal that is still relaxing and historic... this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orleans Grapevine French Bistro. Unbelievably good! A bit pricey, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSU Chris
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Nov 2, 2009

Halloween Weekend Stay

Overall excellent experience. The bathrooms are a little small and fixtures need to be updated, but not bad enough to deter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerio
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jun 18, 2010

Quaint and beautiful place

We were able to walk out our door and walk all around the French Quarters. Jackson Square was across the street. The place was beautiful and quaint with a pool and sitting area in the courtyard surrounded by beautiful plants and a small fish pond. Peaceful place in the middle of the French Quarter. Lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places around to dine. We loved the desserts at Brennan's and many other places were great too. Loved the parking, it felt safe and the attendants were friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top