$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
155 reviews
Reunion with my lover

It is a very lovely hotel. The courtyard is just gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable, the... See full review

  • Michelle S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Loved our stay at Place D' Armes

It was like stepping back in time! Lovely hotel in the French Quarters, beautiful inside and out.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 29, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 27, 2008

Close to Jackson Square

We had a very pleasant safe comfortble trip and this hotel was in a perfect place. Just clsoe enough to Bourbon street to walk but not all the noise when you do not want to hear it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Muliple eating establishments all within a five minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Headland
Jul 7, 2008

My review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

The Hotel is in a wonderful area of the French Quater. It was a wonderful hotel. Just one problem with our stay. The bed was not large enough and a little hard. However, every other aspect of the stay was great....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 1, 2008

Clean Hotel in Great Location

This hotel is a great choice. It is an older hotel but they have managed to keep everything very clean and in great condition. The rooms were a little small, but we were in New Orleans we didn't really spend alot of time in the room. It was in the perfect location. Within walking distance to Cafe DeMond (only about a block away), French Market, and Bourbon Street. We didn't need our car at all once we arrived. I will stay here on every trip I take to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Once you exit the hotel heas towards the water!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FARMINGDALE, NY
May 19, 2008

Great Location!

This was my fifth visit to the French Quarter. Place D'Armes is located perfectly outside Jackson Square and centered in the quarter. Very convenient to all! Some rooms are better than others but the ambiance was very desirable. Grab a bottle of wine and enjoy their poolside courtyard. Beautiful gardens and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to french market, NOLA, museum, Patty O's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
May 24, 2008

Beautiful Courtyard and excellent location.

As a former resident of New Orleans this hotel is very special to me because of it's very traditional New Orleans courtyard! The location is amazing, being in the heart of the French Quarter. The staff is wonderful and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Cafe du Monde!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ALDAN, PA
May 10, 2008

Great value

The hotel is in a prime location in the French Quarter. The staff was very friendly and the room was very spacious. We had an interior room and we were perfectly comfortable (even without windows looking down to the beautiful courtyard). This is definitely a convenient place as it it close to shopping and nightlife and all the great restaurants! Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One fun thing we did was take a 3 hour cooking class at the culinary school which is about 3 blocks away. It was a fun way to sample local food and get a history lesson at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 2, 2008

great hotellove the non smoking

love the non smoking enviroment.Dionne took great care of use...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds of nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olanta
Jun 17, 2008

Enchanting Hotel

This was our second visit to New Orleans and our first time to stay at the Place D'Armes. We had a third floor room that faced the courtyard. It was very lovely. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The housekeeping kept our room very clean. We met a lot of friendly people at the pool that had been previous guests of the hotel and said they wouldn't stay anywhere else. There was an electrical storm(on a Sunday) that had interrupted the air conditioning. We were told that a technician was coming to fix it. My initial impression was that noone would be their to fix it on a Sunday, but sure enough they had it running by the evening. I was very impressed. The hotel is in a excellent location as well. Two blocks from Bourbon Street and Jackson Square is a stones throw from the front door of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and nightlife are all withing walking distance. Also, the trolley is close if you want to visit areas in the warehouse or garden district. New Orleans is simply a great place to visit and Place D'Armes is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, La
Aug 30, 2010

Great choice/ French Quarter feel

Double deluxe poolside rooms are the ultimate. Wet bar and separate sitting area included with balcony over courtyard. Very happy with this choice. Also I'm a resident of the New Orleans area and know the great hotels. My first stay in this one and very impressed with this hotel. Best choice for a romantic stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maspero's on Decatur. Great food and very inexpensive. Long lines at door move fast. Sandwiches are the specialty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Terryville
Oct 14, 2008

I found my new favorite

I've been to New Orleans a few times and this was by far the best hotel for location. It was perfectly New Orleans. I will definitely stay there again. The courtyard was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfectly located for a great French Quarter experience. Everything in the Quarter is practically at it's doorstep. Cafe Du Monde, Jackson Square, JAX Brewery, The Riverfront, many restaurants, Bourbon Street, Cental Grocery, and much much more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top