$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
249 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9584 -90.0633
Area served
French Quarter, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, French Market, Bourbon Street, the Central Business District, the Warehouse/Arts district and the Superdome.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
In the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 17, 2011

ROBBED IN ROOM!

We were VERY DISAPPOINTED and disturbed to discover that WE WERE ROBBED of over $1500 cash on Christmas day from our luggage which was IN OUR ROOM. My partner had left 'hidden' in his luggage the extra cash and discovered after we departed the hotel that it was missing. Someone had to really search the luggage to find the cash and since we were out of the room for a 10 hour period, there was ample time. It's really disgusting to think that someone on staff could spend sufficient time in a hotel room and rifle through all your belongings. We phoned the hotel and discussed this situation with a gentleman, [...] who said he was the owner of the hotel and sounded genuinely concerned. He informed me that due to the electronic key system they have for the rooms, that he could indentify the precise time anyone entered the room and who accessed it and with what key. He assured me that he would thoroughly investigate and that "he'd get back to me in a couple of days" to follow up. I was hopeful, but doubtful that the stolen cash would be recovered, but I certainly expected the follow up phone call as he offered, especially if he was really concerned and sincere. To this date, nearly two weeks later, no response from the hotel owner or anyone else. Sad to say, we'll never say there again, nor recommend the Place d'Arms as I have done a number of times to friends. [...] owns several hotels in the French Quarter and if this is the type of response to such a breach of security, we'll steer clear of staying at any of his properties. My partner learned his lesson about leaving valuables in a hotel room as he could have placed the cash in the safe in the room. My partner is not a seasoned traveler so I put partial blame on him for not securing his cash better. But this is cetainly a wake up call to those who travel to be especially cautious, especially in light of the handling of this matter by the owner of the hotel. I think he owed us the follow up communication to at least admit there was entry into the room by someone on his staff during the time we were off the property. I'd be curious to know how many times the room was entered, the times of entry and the duration of that entry. I'd be even more curious if other travelers to that hotel have experienced similar circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C.G
Omaha,Ne
Dec 14, 2010

Pictures should have scratch & sniff

When my son and I walked in, the hotel had a funky smell. When we got to the room it was worse. This hotel needs major remodeling and cleaning. There were still reminisce of the last person who stayed there. If it wasn't so late I would have went to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SMILEM
MISSISSIPPI
Nov 24, 2010

NOT VERY HAPPY

ROOM WAS NOT READY. VERY POOR SERVICE. POOR (VERY OLD) TV UNDER STAFFED. IF LOCATION IS WHAT YOU WANT, THIS IS A GREAT LOCATION IN THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 17, 2011

ROBBED IN ROOM!

We were VERY DISAPPOINTED and disturbed to discover that WE WERE ROBBED of over $1500 cash on Christmas day from our luggage which was IN OUR ROOM. My partner had left 'hidden' in his luggage the extra cash and discovered after we departed the hotel that it was missing. Someone had to really search the luggage to find the cash and since we were out of the room for a 10 hour period, there was ample time. It's really disgusting to think that someone on staff could spend sufficient time in a hotel room and rifle through all your belongings. We phoned the hotel and discussed this situation with a gentleman, [...] who said he was the owner of the hotel and sounded genuinely concerned. He informed me that due to the electronic key system they have for the rooms, that he could indentify the precise time anyone entered the room and who accessed it and with what key. He assured me that he would thoroughly investigate and that "he'd get back to me in a couple of days" to follow up. I was hopeful, but doubtful that the stolen cash would be recovered, but I certainly expected the follow up phone call as he offered, especially if he was really concerned and sincere. To this date, nearly two weeks later, no response from the hotel owner or anyone else. Sad to say, we'll never say there again, nor recommend the Place d'Arms as I have done a number of times to friends. [...] owns several hotels in the French Quarter and if this is the type of response to such a breach of security, we'll steer clear of staying at any of his properties. My partner learned his lesson about leaving valuables in a hotel room as he could have placed the cash in the safe in the room. My partner is not a seasoned traveler so I put partial blame on him for not securing his cash better. But this is cetainly a wake up call to those who travel to be especially cautious, especially in light of the handling of this matter by the owner of the hotel. I think he owed us the follow up communication to at least admit there was entry into the room by someone on his staff during the time we were off the property. I'd be curious to know how many times the room was entered, the times of entry and the duration of that entry. I'd be even more curious if other travelers to that hotel have experienced similar circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA is my 2nd Home
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location, Not-So-Great Service

Great location. That's the only good thing about the place! Inhospitable staff behind desk, dark, noisy room, uncomfortable bed, and lumpy pillows. We've stayed in much better hotels in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaBomba
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 3, 2009

WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN

This was the tail end of a business trip and wanted to stay somewhere with character on my last night. well, be careful what you ask for! here are the positves: the hotel is in an ideal location in the french quarter the staff was friendly & helpful (NOT HOUSEKEEPING) courtyard was beautiful and private free WIFI (however painfully slow) here come the negatives: room 202 room was super outdated and overpatterned horrible "water hose" like water pressure door lock jammed and locked us in for a while no real windows/don't open/and look like the ones in amityville horror HORRIBLE smelling room-burnt shrimp or hair? yeah..bad hammock like bed noisy room-garbage trucks are right outside your window at 4am! housekeeping at 8:45 am literally YELLING in the hallway and dropping glass and all kinds of stuff all over the floors. what part of "do not disturb" did you not get? can you not do your job without yelling to the other maids every 2 sec? in summary, although the rest of the hotel in the courtyard area looked charming..room 202 was awful. I've stayed at motel 6s for cheaper and better beds. I wonder how the other rooms in the back of the hotel look? In all honesty, I don't think i'll be back to confirm this. So, if you do plan on staying here, make sure you ask for a room in THE BACK THROUGH THE COURTYARD! the rooms in the building closest to St. Ann street are horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cafe du monde and to die for beignets are literally a super short walk across Andrew Jackson square!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaBomba
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 3, 2009

WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN

This was the tail end of a business trip and wanted to stay somewhere with character on my last night. well, be careful what you ask for! here are the positves: the hotel is in an ideal location in the french quarter the staff was friendly & helpful (NOT HOUSEKEEPING) courtyard was beautiful and private free WIFI (however painfully slow) here come the negatives: room 202 room was super outdated and overpatterned horrible "water hose" like water pressure door lock jammed and locked us in for a while no real windows/don't open/and look like the ones in amityville horror HORRIBLE smelling room-burnt shrimp or hair? yeah..bad hammock like bed noisy room-garbage trucks are right outside your window at 4am! housekeeping at 8:45 am literally YELLING in the hallway and dropping glass and all kinds of stuff all over the floors. what part of "do not disturb" did you not get? can you not do your job without yelling to the other maids every 2 sec? in summary, although the rest of the hotel in the courtyard area looked charming..room 202 was awful. I've stayed at motel 6s for cheaper and better beds. I wonder how the other rooms in the back of the hotel look? In all honesty, I don't think i'll be back to confirm this. So, if you do plan on staying here, make sure you ask for a room in THE BACK THROUGH THE COURTYARD! the rooms in the building closest to St. Ann street are horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cafe du monde and to die for beignets are literally a super short walk across Andrew Jackson square!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SMILEM
MISSISSIPPI
Nov 24, 2010

NOT VERY HAPPY

ROOM WAS NOT READY. VERY POOR SERVICE. POOR (VERY OLD) TV UNDER STAFFED. IF LOCATION IS WHAT YOU WANT, THIS IS A GREAT LOCATION IN THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C.G
Omaha,Ne
Dec 14, 2010

Pictures should have scratch & sniff

When my son and I walked in, the hotel had a funky smell. When we got to the room it was worse. This hotel needs major remodeling and cleaning. There were still reminisce of the last person who stayed there. If it wasn't so late I would have went to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA is my 2nd Home
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location, Not-So-Great Service

Great location. That's the only good thing about the place! Inhospitable staff behind desk, dark, noisy room, uncomfortable bed, and lumpy pillows. We've stayed in much better hotels in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top