$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
151 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9584 -90.0633
Area served
French Quarter, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, French Market, Bourbon Street, the Central Business District, the Warehouse/Arts district and the Superdome.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
In the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 151
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reecie
Business
Westerville, OH, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great time

Staff friendley Clean very helpful Shopping is close Lots of things to see and do . Nice patio at hotel to sit and relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Decautur St. French Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Miller
Business
Saginaw, Michigan
May 20, 2012

Old but not old.

We selected this hotel because it was in the heart of The French Quarter and it sounded romantic. We were concerned because it was built in the 1700s. The room was more than we could have hoped for and the location was perfect for several days in the French Quarter. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The pastries for breakfast was rather limited, but were tasty none-the-less. The staff was pleasant and helpful, but not over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some jazz, do not hit Bourbon Street, rather go to Frenchman's Street on the edge of The French Quarter at the end of Decantur. The street looks bad in the day light - but I felt safe and the food and music was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leanna Z
Business
Madison Wi
Jun 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel!

Place De Armes was exactly what I was looking for in a french quarter hotel. I stayed for 3 nights with my husband on a get away trip. The location was great, very close to Jackson Square, Bourbon st and the River. The staff offered suggestions on restaurants & tours. My favorite part of this hotel was the beautiful courtyard and salt water pool. We will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandy and Justin
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 30, 2013

Beautiful and charming vacation spot!!

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Ever need was met and them some. Thank you so much and I would love to visit with you again in the future. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ALDAN, PA
May 10, 2008

Great value

The hotel is in a prime location in the French Quarter. The staff was very friendly and the room was very spacious. We had an interior room and we were perfectly comfortable (even without windows looking down to the beautiful courtyard). This is definitely a convenient place as it it close to shopping and nightlife and all the great restaurants! Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One fun thing we did was take a 3 hour cooking class at the culinary school which is about 3 blocks away. It was a fun way to sample local food and get a history lesson at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olanta
Jun 17, 2008

Enchanting Hotel

This was our second visit to New Orleans and our first time to stay at the Place D'Armes. We had a third floor room that faced the courtyard. It was very lovely. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The housekeeping kept our room very clean. We met a lot of friendly people at the pool that had been previous guests of the hotel and said they wouldn't stay anywhere else. There was an electrical storm(on a Sunday) that had interrupted the air conditioning. We were told that a technician was coming to fix it. My initial impression was that noone would be their to fix it on a Sunday, but sure enough they had it running by the evening. I was very impressed. The hotel is in a excellent location as well. Two blocks from Bourbon Street and Jackson Square is a stones throw from the front door of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and nightlife are all withing walking distance. Also, the trolley is close if you want to visit areas in the warehouse or garden district. New Orleans is simply a great place to visit and Place D'Armes is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, La
Aug 30, 2010

Great choice/ French Quarter feel

Double deluxe poolside rooms are the ultimate. Wet bar and separate sitting area included with balcony over courtyard. Very happy with this choice. Also I'm a resident of the New Orleans area and know the great hotels. My first stay in this one and very impressed with this hotel. Best choice for a romantic stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maspero's on Decatur. Great food and very inexpensive. Long lines at door move fast. Sandwiches are the specialty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Terryville
Oct 14, 2008

I found my new favorite

I've been to New Orleans a few times and this was by far the best hotel for location. It was perfectly New Orleans. I will definitely stay there again. The courtyard was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfectly located for a great French Quarter experience. Everything in the Quarter is practically at it's doorstep. Cafe Du Monde, Jackson Square, JAX Brewery, The Riverfront, many restaurants, Bourbon Street, Cental Grocery, and much much more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 26, 2008

convenient for the price

It was exactly on the French Quarter. It was convenient to restaurants, shops, cafes, casino, the tour boat, aquarium, and the trolley. Our room at the hotel had no window, but that didn't matter. All we needed was a clean and safe environment to be in after a long day of sightseeing and shopping. This hotel is 1 block away from Bourbon street. Which is convenient after a night's worth of partying drinking. The cops are also present at night, so it is pretty safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 20, 2008

Fabulous Location

This was our first time staying at the Place D'Armes. The location can't be beat, it is right next to Jackson Square, 2 blocks from Bourbon St., a short walk to the French Market, and within walking distance of many, many restaurants and bars. The staff seemed friendly, and the room was clean. The hotel and courtyard were charming- very old and historic. The hotel provides a continental breakfast that was merely ok, but Cafe Du Monde is right down the street, as well as a multitude of other breakfast stops. If you arrive early and your room is not ready, the hotel will happily check your luggage for you. The staff also helped us with getting a cab so we could get to the airport on time. There is onsite parking as well, although you really do not need a car while staying in the french quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is 2 blocks away, with all the vices you can handle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top