$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
152 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 152
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathoune
Business
Louisiana
Dec 4, 2014

Wonderful!

The stay was wonderful. My only concern is the noise from people partying but it is downtown! It is normal. Also, the noise from garbage truck very early (5 am). Beside that, great atmosphere, great room, great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar and restaurants with music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ahm during hurricane
Business
Burbank, CA
Aug 29, 2012

When the Hurricane Hit

I loved my room at the Place D'Armes. It had all the charm that I wanted from the French Quarter and all the amenities that I wanted as a 21st century traveller. I did not count on Hurricane Isaac during the week I planned to stay. For safety precautions, Place D'Armes closed the hotel two days before the hurricane hit. They were patient and worked diligently to make sure all of their guests were taken care of -- either transferred to another hotel or checked out early. I hated leaving my fabulous room! But I had no desire to stay in New Orleans during the hurricane, so I opted to leave early. But I am planning another trip to New Orleans and will stay at Place D'Armes again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DantheTraveller
Business
Florida
Feb 5, 2012

unique place

in French Quarter, nice location, nice staff, a bit noisy at night based in halls and adjoing rooms which is why price is lower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nkuchumova
Business
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Jan 29, 2012

good for staying

spent five nights there. Nice place to stay visiting New Orleans. Right in the center of French Quarter, but quiet. A little bit confused that room had no windows...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 17, 2011

ROBBED IN ROOM!

We were VERY DISAPPOINTED and disturbed to discover that WE WERE ROBBED of over $1500 cash on Christmas day from our luggage which was IN OUR ROOM. My partner had left 'hidden' in his luggage the extra cash and discovered after we departed the hotel that it was missing. Someone had to really search the luggage to find the cash and since we were out of the room for a 10 hour period, there was ample time. It's really disgusting to think that someone on staff could spend sufficient time in a hotel room and rifle through all your belongings. We phoned the hotel and discussed this situation with a gentleman, [...] who said he was the owner of the hotel and sounded genuinely concerned. He informed me that due to the electronic key system they have for the rooms, that he could indentify the precise time anyone entered the room and who accessed it and with what key. He assured me that he would thoroughly investigate and that "he'd get back to me in a couple of days" to follow up. I was hopeful, but doubtful that the stolen cash would be recovered, but I certainly expected the follow up phone call as he offered, especially if he was really concerned and sincere. To this date, nearly two weeks later, no response from the hotel owner or anyone else. Sad to say, we'll never say there again, nor recommend the Place d'Arms as I have done a number of times to friends. [...] owns several hotels in the French Quarter and if this is the type of response to such a breach of security, we'll steer clear of staying at any of his properties. My partner learned his lesson about leaving valuables in a hotel room as he could have placed the cash in the safe in the room. My partner is not a seasoned traveler so I put partial blame on him for not securing his cash better. But this is cetainly a wake up call to those who travel to be especially cautious, especially in light of the handling of this matter by the owner of the hotel. I think he owed us the follow up communication to at least admit there was entry into the room by someone on his staff during the time we were off the property. I'd be curious to know how many times the room was entered, the times of entry and the duration of that entry. I'd be even more curious if other travelers to that hotel have experienced similar circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 17, 2010

Good hotel, great location

Happy with all aspects of this property. Will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
New Orleans
Feb 23, 2010

Nice hotel, GREAT location!

The only complaint I had was noisy guests in hallway at 4 AM. Week after Mardi Gras and 1 1/2 block from Bourbon St. probably explains the behavior of these rude revelers. NICE hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaBomba
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 3, 2009

WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN

This was the tail end of a business trip and wanted to stay somewhere with character on my last night. well, be careful what you ask for! here are the positves: the hotel is in an ideal location in the french quarter the staff was friendly & helpful (NOT HOUSEKEEPING) courtyard was beautiful and private free WIFI (however painfully slow) here come the negatives: room 202 room was super outdated and overpatterned horrible "water hose" like water pressure door lock jammed and locked us in for a while no real windows/don't open/and look like the ones in amityville horror HORRIBLE smelling room-burnt shrimp or hair? yeah..bad hammock like bed noisy room-garbage trucks are right outside your window at 4am! housekeeping at 8:45 am literally YELLING in the hallway and dropping glass and all kinds of stuff all over the floors. what part of "do not disturb" did you not get? can you not do your job without yelling to the other maids every 2 sec? in summary, although the rest of the hotel in the courtyard area looked charming..room 202 was awful. I've stayed at motel 6s for cheaper and better beds. I wonder how the other rooms in the back of the hotel look? In all honesty, I don't think i'll be back to confirm this. So, if you do plan on staying here, make sure you ask for a room in THE BACK THROUGH THE COURTYARD! the rooms in the building closest to St. Ann street are horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cafe du monde and to die for beignets are literally a super short walk across Andrew Jackson square!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Woman
Business
Lincoln, NE
Oct 5, 2009

Great Handyman, one grumpy desk woman

One of the front desk woman was grumpy and rude, but the others were wonderful and accommodating. My sink stopper got stuck in the down position and the handyman/bellman who came to fix it was the most wonderful and gracious individual. I learned a lot about NOLA from him. The Room I had was 129, do not get that room. . . It's right on the street level by the street--the others are in the inner courtyard. There are constantly tours going by, so if you want to take a nap--forget it. It's REALLY noisy in the evenings in that room (other rooms are REALLY insulated from the noise). Friday it quieted by 10, but Sat night it was all night long. Not a constant din, but every so often, people shouting and yelling about every 30 to 60 minutes. The room was HUGE, the bathrooms gorgeous, the bed comfy enough, there were SO many towels, too. The inner courtyard tables were always available for chit chatting with friends. Don't expect much for breakfast. Juice coffee and not-that-great croissants. I've had worse though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gumbo Shop for Red Beans and Rice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
geneva
May 23, 2008

Both good and bad

Some of the hotel staff was very curt, and would not let me finish a question without interrupting with an answer that was both inadequate and somewhat impatient. However, other staff, particularly the night staff, was gracious and helpful when I was looking for dining options. My big disappointment was the room: a blind room, with NO window. There was no warning of it when I arrived. The room was very dark, and the lighting completely inadequate. The bed was made with only a bottom sheet, and I had to wait a long time for the situation to be corrected. This was particularly hard because I was actually sick and generally exhausted, and needed to rest. The so-called 'Continental breakfast was very mediocre: huge old and tasteless croissants, except for the orange juice that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very well located. Everything in the French Quarter in within reach (museums in N-O are closed on Monday!). I ended up taking my breakfast at the Caf? du monde, only a few steps away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top