$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monjayo
Single
Winter Park, FL, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Place D 'Armes Hotel

Place D 'Armes Hotel is right smack in the middle of the French Quarter, Right off St. Ann's St. directly beside the St Louis Cathedral, witch is a great spot to start out with and take a few Pictures of, from there Walk or grab a horse and buggy around town to grab a few drinks. Great night life, defiantly not the best children's environment !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Hide your cameras and map's, dead give away to the street hustlers and bring some hand sanitizer, the city is pretty old and a kinda grimie.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
tebbetts,mo
Aug 5, 2011

Everything I had hoped for!

Returned to honeymoon city after thirty years of marriage. This was much nicer than we had back in 1981. I can't even remember the name, but that could be do to age:) Strolled the city, took in the sites, gave thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Texas
Aug 5, 2011

Place D Armes

The hotel is located in the perfect location. You can walk to Jackson Square, Cafe De Monde, French Market and all the hot spots. The hotel personnel were the best always friendly and helpful. The hotel parking was great, we parked when we arrived and didn't move the vehicle until we left. The courtyard and pool were so inviting and just right. I would definitely [...] stay at Place D Armes again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go into the shops alongside the French Market.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2011

Cute. Central. Small room.

Hotel has attractive courtyards and a small complimentary breakfast. Our low-cost room was small and windowless, but fine. Some common areas look a little tired and worn, but not to detract from overall pleasantness. Staff is pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bkuyps
Friends
oakville, ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Place D''Armes French Quarter

Location of this hotel is great if you want to spend time in the french quarter, close to bourbon street, the french market, royal street shops, and great restaurants. No car needed, everything is within walking distance. Rooms are nice and the courtyard is nice to come back for some relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bourbon street

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Richmond, VA
Jul 2, 2011

Wonderful old hotel.

The room was nice, but not spectacular. The courtyard however was very nice. Even had a small private pool in the garden. Very close to Jackson Square. I'll definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 17, 2011

ROBBED IN ROOM!

We were VERY DISAPPOINTED and disturbed to discover that WE WERE ROBBED of over $1500 cash on Christmas day from our luggage which was IN OUR ROOM. My partner had left 'hidden' in his luggage the extra cash and discovered after we departed the hotel that it was missing. Someone had to really search the luggage to find the cash and since we were out of the room for a 10 hour period, there was ample time. It's really disgusting to think that someone on staff could spend sufficient time in a hotel room and rifle through all your belongings. We phoned the hotel and discussed this situation with a gentleman, [...] who said he was the owner of the hotel and sounded genuinely concerned. He informed me that due to the electronic key system they have for the rooms, that he could indentify the precise time anyone entered the room and who accessed it and with what key. He assured me that he would thoroughly investigate and that "he'd get back to me in a couple of days" to follow up. I was hopeful, but doubtful that the stolen cash would be recovered, but I certainly expected the follow up phone call as he offered, especially if he was really concerned and sincere. To this date, nearly two weeks later, no response from the hotel owner or anyone else. Sad to say, we'll never say there again, nor recommend the Place d'Arms as I have done a number of times to friends. [...] owns several hotels in the French Quarter and if this is the type of response to such a breach of security, we'll steer clear of staying at any of his properties. My partner learned his lesson about leaving valuables in a hotel room as he could have placed the cash in the safe in the room. My partner is not a seasoned traveler so I put partial blame on him for not securing his cash better. But this is cetainly a wake up call to those who travel to be especially cautious, especially in light of the handling of this matter by the owner of the hotel. I think he owed us the follow up communication to at least admit there was entry into the room by someone on his staff during the time we were off the property. I'd be curious to know how many times the room was entered, the times of entry and the duration of that entry. I'd be even more curious if other travelers to that hotel have experienced similar circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C.G
Family
Omaha,Ne
Dec 14, 2010

Pictures should have scratch & sniff

When my son and I walked in, the hotel had a funky smell. When we got to the room it was worse. This hotel needs major remodeling and cleaning. There were still reminisce of the last person who stayed there. If it wasn't so late I would have went to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SMILEM
Couples
MISSISSIPPI
Nov 24, 2010

NOT VERY HAPPY

ROOM WAS NOT READY. VERY POOR SERVICE. POOR (VERY OLD) TV UNDER STAFFED. IF LOCATION IS WHAT YOU WANT, THIS IS A GREAT LOCATION IN THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hal M3
Couples
Pleasant Hill, CA
Nov 17, 2010

Great hotel with the best location

From the moment we checked in the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. They recommended the best restaurants, tours and upgraded the room for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley's for breakfast. K-Paul's at leats once for the best dinner in the quarter. Stay away from Pere Antoine at the corner of Royal and St. Ann.

Back to menu Return to top