$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
149 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9584 -90.0633
Area served
French Quarter, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, French Market, Bourbon Street, the Central Business District, the Warehouse/Arts district and the Superdome.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
In the heart of the French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JWarn
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oct 23, 2011

GREAT!

All of the hotel staff were VERY nice and helpful (mostly everyone in New Orleans is, actually). The hotel was only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, and about a block from Cafe Du Monde. Cost $14 a person to get a taxi (about 20 or 30 minute drive, not bad!). We were told that there were 30 rooms without windows, ours didn't have one...but after a night on the town, you don't really want to see the sun! Over all, it's a great value for the location, safe and clean and the staff was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery a few blocks from the hotel, pick up a few bottles of wine before you hit the town!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crawdad
Navarre, FL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Nice stay

The courtyard is extremely beautiful. This is one of the best locations. You are a few steps from jackson square & alpine - home of the awesome hurricane. This was not our first stay here, & it won't be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food!!! try the eggplant parm.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monjayo
Winter Park, FL, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Place D 'Armes Hotel

Place D 'Armes Hotel is right smack in the middle of the French Quarter, Right off St. Ann's St. directly beside the St Louis Cathedral, witch is a great spot to start out with and take a few Pictures of, from there Walk or grab a horse and buggy around town to grab a few drinks. Great night life, defiantly not the best children's environment !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Hide your cameras and map's, dead give away to the street hustlers and bring some hand sanitizer, the city is pretty old and a kinda grimie.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 5, 2011

Place D Armes

The hotel is located in the perfect location. You can walk to Jackson Square, Cafe De Monde, French Market and all the hot spots. The hotel personnel were the best always friendly and helpful. The hotel parking was great, we parked when we arrived and didn't move the vehicle until we left. The courtyard and pool were so inviting and just right. I would definitely [...] stay at Place D Armes again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go into the shops alongside the French Market.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
tebbetts,mo
Aug 5, 2011

Everything I had hoped for!

Returned to honeymoon city after thirty years of marriage. This was much nicer than we had back in 1981. I can't even remember the name, but that could be do to age:) Strolled the city, took in the sites, gave thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bkuyps
oakville, ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Place D''Armes French Quarter

Location of this hotel is great if you want to spend time in the french quarter, close to bourbon street, the french market, royal street shops, and great restaurants. No car needed, everything is within walking distance. Rooms are nice and the courtyard is nice to come back for some relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bourbon street

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2011

Cute. Central. Small room.

Hotel has attractive courtyards and a small complimentary breakfast. Our low-cost room was small and windowless, but fine. Some common areas look a little tired and worn, but not to detract from overall pleasantness. Staff is pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jul 2, 2011

Wonderful old hotel.

The room was nice, but not spectacular. The courtyard however was very nice. Even had a small private pool in the garden. Very close to Jackson Square. I'll definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qtrite
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 17, 2011

ROBBED IN ROOM!

We were VERY DISAPPOINTED and disturbed to discover that WE WERE ROBBED of over $1500 cash on Christmas day from our luggage which was IN OUR ROOM. My partner had left 'hidden' in his luggage the extra cash and discovered after we departed the hotel that it was missing. Someone had to really search the luggage to find the cash and since we were out of the room for a 10 hour period, there was ample time. It's really disgusting to think that someone on staff could spend sufficient time in a hotel room and rifle through all your belongings. We phoned the hotel and discussed this situation with a gentleman, [...] who said he was the owner of the hotel and sounded genuinely concerned. He informed me that due to the electronic key system they have for the rooms, that he could indentify the precise time anyone entered the room and who accessed it and with what key. He assured me that he would thoroughly investigate and that "he'd get back to me in a couple of days" to follow up. I was hopeful, but doubtful that the stolen cash would be recovered, but I certainly expected the follow up phone call as he offered, especially if he was really concerned and sincere. To this date, nearly two weeks later, no response from the hotel owner or anyone else. Sad to say, we'll never say there again, nor recommend the Place d'Arms as I have done a number of times to friends. [...] owns several hotels in the French Quarter and if this is the type of response to such a breach of security, we'll steer clear of staying at any of his properties. My partner learned his lesson about leaving valuables in a hotel room as he could have placed the cash in the safe in the room. My partner is not a seasoned traveler so I put partial blame on him for not securing his cash better. But this is cetainly a wake up call to those who travel to be especially cautious, especially in light of the handling of this matter by the owner of the hotel. I think he owed us the follow up communication to at least admit there was entry into the room by someone on his staff during the time we were off the property. I'd be curious to know how many times the room was entered, the times of entry and the duration of that entry. I'd be even more curious if other travelers to that hotel have experienced similar circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C.G
Omaha,Ne
Dec 14, 2010

Pictures should have scratch & sniff

When my son and I walked in, the hotel had a funky smell. When we got to the room it was worse. This hotel needs major remodeling and cleaning. There were still reminisce of the last person who stayed there. If it wasn't so late I would have went to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search