$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Miller
Saginaw, Michigan
May 20, 2012

Old but not old.

We selected this hotel because it was in the heart of The French Quarter and it sounded romantic. We were concerned because it was built in the 1700s. The room was more than we could have hoped for and the location was perfect for several days in the French Quarter. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The pastries for breakfast was rather limited, but were tasty none-the-less. The staff was pleasant and helpful, but not over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some jazz, do not hit Bourbon Street, rather go to Frenchman's Street on the edge of The French Quarter at the end of Decantur. The street looks bad in the day light - but I felt safe and the food and music was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mullenkee
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 30, 2014

Location is just about all there is here!

The only completely positive thing I say about this hotel is that the location is amazing. Other than that.... let's see, where do I start? - Our room had NO windows... as in NONE, zero, zilch, nada. Creepy Right? - The room, smelled putrid. A cross between sour vomit and perm solution. It was quite vile. - The room, which already felt small because of the no windows, was only about 250 square feet. There was so much furniture in that room, you hoped you didn't have to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, because you hoped you wouldn't walk into a piece of furniture in the pitch black darkness. Then, when you make it to the door, hope you are thin, or you can turn on a dime, because, I promise you, the opening to the door to the bathroom is only about 22-24 inches wide. - Now we all know New Orleans. is humid and hot and when you get to your room, you want a good shower. Water pressure in hotels is always poor, but the water was at such a low pressure that I could not get my hair wet enough to soak it to shampoo. I had to get down and use the faucet to wash my hair in the middle of my shower. - The staff at the front desk and bell desk were nice and helpful when needed, however the cleaning staff apparently attend metal concerts too often because they are so incredibly loud their hollering of, 'House Keeping!!', as they bang on the doors down the hall. Couple that with vacuuming all around us, and no alarm was needed. - I read that it is one of the most haunted buildings in New Orleans, and if that is your thing, I am pretty sure I had a minor experience. Perhaps they save their lesser rooms for online booking agents? Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised. Would I stay here again? Because the location is so great, and all my issues were with my room, yes, I would give them one more chance. Just the next time, I would book the room direct with the hotel and see if I got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Textile Lady
Business
New Orleans, La.
Mar 28, 2014

Great Vacation

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pat o' Briens ...great atmosphere, good food, and great prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K 10 Vacation
Business
Fontana, CA
Nov 29, 2013

Family gateway

We loved the location and Facilities rooms were clean but if you are driving a car and planning to stay for several days be aware that parking might get a bit pricy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If in a mood for jazz. "Fritzel's"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malanks
Business
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Location location location!

If you want to stay at French Quarter, this is the place! walking distance to just about anything. Cafe Du Monde is basically 1 block away, and City grocery (where the original muffaletta is made) is a 5 min walk. Also, if you want to visit Mardi Gras world(where they make the floats), there is a free shuttle that you can call and they pick you up near cafe du monde! There is complimentary continental breakfast, but tons of restaurants near by if you want a heartier breakfast. There is also a really nice courtyard + small pool to just relax after exploring. the hotel upgraded us for free to a larger room, which was very nice. My only problem was trying to regulate the AC to the right temperature so that the room was cool enough but not humid. But honestly, I was just there to sleep, so i would still recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michellemybelle71
Business
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Nice location

Great location, reasonably priced. Really delicious pastries and coffee in the morning and the staff was extremely nice, that is always a bonus to me. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzy the Great
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2013

Nice Vintage Hotel

We spent the little extra money to get a window and it was worth it. It was over looking the courtyard and pool. The room was big with high ceilings. To get to the room you had to walk through the courtyard which was very pretty. The air conditioning was very strong in our room, which was a good thing because it was very hot (mid 90's). But the a/c was a bit loud and would wake us up at night when it would kick in. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to Cafe du Monde and Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandy and Justin
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 30, 2013

Beautiful and charming vacation spot!!

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Ever need was met and them some. Thank you so much and I would love to visit with you again in the future. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
degur
Business
New York
Aug 6, 2013

AMAZING

I had such a great time at this hotel. The reviews were spot on. It's at a great location. In the middle and close to everything (specially Place Du Monde which is less than a block away). The staff was really nice and accommodating and the saltwater pool was great. It is a very cozy, French-style hotel. I will def go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamesMcBane
Business
Ohio
Jun 8, 2013

That'll do, pig. That'll do.

The room was basic and had no windows. The service was friendly. The price was right. The patio, pool and garden area was incredible. The location was perfect. There appear to be other rooms with balconies and good views. Lesson learned. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Coop's Place. Seriously.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leanna Z
Business
Madison Wi
Jun 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel!

Place De Armes was exactly what I was looking for in a french quarter hotel. I stayed for 3 nights with my husband on a get away trip. The location was great, very close to Jackson Square, Bourbon st and the River. The staff offered suggestions on restaurants & tours. My favorite part of this hotel was the beautiful courtyard and salt water pool. We will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top