$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montgomery Grammie
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Jul 19, 2014

Great for Girls Getaway

Within walking distance to all the French Quarter sites. The hotel is in the middle of it all, but the rooms face a quiet, beautiful courtyard. Will recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Kivett
Business
Salem, OR
Jul 2, 2014

Great experience

This is the place for an iconic French Quarter hotel experience, this is your place! Wrought iron balconies, exposed brick, & a wonderful courtyard, but what sets this place apart is the location. World-class restaurants within a block, more shopping opportunities than any person needs, a stone's throw from Jackson Square, and close enough to Café Du Monde to have a beignet nightcap. Centrally located between the craziness of Bourbon Street & the thrilling music of Frenchmen Street, as well as between the Mississippi river and Louis Armstrong Park. I'd stay here again in a second. Keep in mind, some of the rooms have no windows, but if you come to New Orleans to spend time in your hotel room, you have it all wrong anyway. The rooms are clean & well-kept, and the maid service is prompt. The free continental breakfast isn't fancy, but the quality of the food is better than many places, and it will tide you over until you make it to any one of the dozens of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must check out the music on Frenchmen Street, especially Snug Harbor & the Spotted Cat.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmiH
Business
Texas
Jun 17, 2014

NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but far enough away to relax. Parking was very expensive, but it is in a garage, and very safe. We stayed 3 nights, and didn't use our car at all, as we walked everywhere. The courtyard was beautiful and our deluxe room was HUGE. The only thing that we noticed was in the morning, the trash trucks come down the street that our room was on and they could be a little loud, but it really didn't bother us. The staff was always friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We will absolutely stay there again when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

801 Royal is a restaurant that is a short walk from the hotel. It was a great, quiet environment and had amazing food. We ate there twice!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ellejaeque
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 11, 2014

Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms are nice and simple, but comfy and there were a variety of styles based on your budget. They do not have a bunch of extra amenities so if you are the type of person that enjoys a lot of extra services and perks, this may not be the ideal hotel for you. The location is PERFECT, being right in the center of the beautiful French Quarter. The pool was absolutely delightful for sitting in or around and having some drinks. It also seemed to be primarily patronized by childless couples, if that kind of quiet atmosphere appeals to you (in five days we only saw about six kids total).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk around with open containers of beer as long as they are in plastic cups, and most anywhere you go will allow you to bring in your outside beverages as well. I highly recommend Sidney's Wine Cellar at 917 Decatur Street where you can buy individual bottles of a HUGE selection of craft beers, wine, etc for $2+. The cashiers will even provide you with plastic cups if you ask!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mullenkee
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 30, 2014

Location is just about all there is here!

The only completely positive thing I say about this hotel is that the location is amazing. Other than that.... let's see, where do I start? - Our room had NO windows... as in NONE, zero, zilch, nada. Creepy Right? - The room, smelled putrid. A cross between sour vomit and perm solution. It was quite vile. - The room, which already felt small because of the no windows, was only about 250 square feet. There was so much furniture in that room, you hoped you didn't have to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, because you hoped you wouldn't walk into a piece of furniture in the pitch black darkness. Then, when you make it to the door, hope you are thin, or you can turn on a dime, because, I promise you, the opening to the door to the bathroom is only about 22-24 inches wide. - Now we all know New Orleans. is humid and hot and when you get to your room, you want a good shower. Water pressure in hotels is always poor, but the water was at such a low pressure that I could not get my hair wet enough to soak it to shampoo. I had to get down and use the faucet to wash my hair in the middle of my shower. - The staff at the front desk and bell desk were nice and helpful when needed, however the cleaning staff apparently attend metal concerts too often because they are so incredibly loud their hollering of, 'House Keeping!!', as they bang on the doors down the hall. Couple that with vacuuming all around us, and no alarm was needed. - I read that it is one of the most haunted buildings in New Orleans, and if that is your thing, I am pretty sure I had a minor experience. Perhaps they save their lesser rooms for online booking agents? Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised. Would I stay here again? Because the location is so great, and all my issues were with my room, yes, I would give them one more chance. Just the next time, I would book the room direct with the hotel and see if I got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Textile Lady
Business
New Orleans, La.
Mar 28, 2014

Great Vacation

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pat o' Briens ...great atmosphere, good food, and great prices!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K 10 Vacation
Business
Fontana, CA
Nov 29, 2013

Family gateway

We loved the location and Facilities rooms were clean but if you are driving a car and planning to stay for several days be aware that parking might get a bit pricy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If in a mood for jazz. "Fritzel's"

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malanks
Business
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Location location location!

If you want to stay at French Quarter, this is the place! walking distance to just about anything. Cafe Du Monde is basically 1 block away, and City grocery (where the original muffaletta is made) is a 5 min walk. Also, if you want to visit Mardi Gras world(where they make the floats), there is a free shuttle that you can call and they pick you up near cafe du monde! There is complimentary continental breakfast, but tons of restaurants near by if you want a heartier breakfast. There is also a really nice courtyard + small pool to just relax after exploring. the hotel upgraded us for free to a larger room, which was very nice. My only problem was trying to regulate the AC to the right temperature so that the room was cool enough but not humid. But honestly, I was just there to sleep, so i would still recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michellemybelle71
Business
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Nice location

Great location, reasonably priced. Really delicious pastries and coffee in the morning and the staff was extremely nice, that is always a bonus to me. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzy the Great
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2013

Nice Vintage Hotel

We spent the little extra money to get a window and it was worth it. It was over looking the courtyard and pool. The room was big with high ceilings. To get to the room you had to walk through the courtyard which was very pretty. The air conditioning was very strong in our room, which was a good thing because it was very hot (mid 90's). But the a/c was a bit loud and would wake us up at night when it would kick in. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to Cafe du Monde and Bourbon St.

Back to menu Return to top