$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Place-D'Armes-French-Quarter-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
155 reviews
Reunion with my lover

It is a very lovely hotel. The courtyard is just gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable, the... See full review

  • Michelle S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Loved our stay at Place D' Armes

It was like stepping back in time! Lovely hotel in the French Quarters, beautiful inside and out.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 29, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSU Chris
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Nov 2, 2009

Halloween Weekend Stay

Overall excellent experience. The bathrooms are a little small and fixtures need to be updated, but not bad enough to deter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carolina Cajun
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Oct 21, 2009

Great experience!

Great location, close to everything yet far enough away from the noise to allow you to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel staff suggested Coop's and Alpine and both were excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time writer
Business
new york, new york
Oct 14, 2009

worth it

The hotel is in an excellent location. In fact, its unbeatable. The main issues are: the interior rooms are windowless and thus incredibly dark. And the hotel was so busy that it took a long time to get service [such as having our luggage stored]. Overall, it was worth the stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Woman
Business
Lincoln, NE
Oct 5, 2009

Great Handyman, one grumpy desk woman

One of the front desk woman was grumpy and rude, but the others were wonderful and accommodating. My sink stopper got stuck in the down position and the handyman/bellman who came to fix it was the most wonderful and gracious individual. I learned a lot about NOLA from him. The Room I had was 129, do not get that room. . . It's right on the street level by the street--the others are in the inner courtyard. There are constantly tours going by, so if you want to take a nap--forget it. It's REALLY noisy in the evenings in that room (other rooms are REALLY insulated from the noise). Friday it quieted by 10, but Sat night it was all night long. Not a constant din, but every so often, people shouting and yelling about every 30 to 60 minutes. The room was HUGE, the bathrooms gorgeous, the bed comfy enough, there were SO many towels, too. The inner courtyard tables were always available for chit chatting with friends. Don't expect much for breakfast. Juice coffee and not-that-great croissants. I've had worse though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gumbo Shop for Red Beans and Rice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA is my 2nd Home
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location, Not-So-Great Service

Great location. That's the only good thing about the place! Inhospitable staff behind desk, dark, noisy room, uncomfortable bed, and lumpy pillows. We've stayed in much better hotels in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA.
Sep 25, 2009

WONDERFUL PLACE

We had a great time here and we will return soon!The LOCATION does not get any better,your just far enough away from bourbon st.(2 blocks) where you can get some rest at night without a ton of noise.Staff was friendly and helpful.Would have like the continental breakfast to be a bit more than danish and croissants, but never the less I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.This place was great THANK YOU!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Addis, LA
Sep 21, 2009

Anniversary weekend getaway.

This was our second time staying at the Place d'Armes. Again, it was a memorable experience. We were in close proximity of all the shopping, restaurants and bars that the French Quarter has to offer. We are definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning, nitelife and shopping are just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reno,nv
Sep 21, 2009

exellant

large and authentic to the decour of french quaters and jackson square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmeblom
Business
Spring, Texas
Aug 27, 2009

Interesting... but still beautiful!

The hotel was super cool. The hotel has its own parking garage, but its $25 a night... which hurts a bit. We got a great deal thru cheaptickets on a single king bed room for only $58 so I can't really complain bc of the deal we got. However, if I had paid for price I may have had some things to say. There were no windows in the room... honestly didn't bother me because we stayed one night.. but I could see it becoming an issue. The bedding looked like a grandmas quilt. The room was pretty small, but it was accommodating. The common areas of the hotel make this place. The pool/courtyard area is absolutely gorgeous. There are several different eating/sitting rooms that are lined with windows if you want to get a view. There were obviously other rooms that had awesome double doors, but like I said ... we took the good deal since we stayed one night. So... overall I love this place. It has such personality! If you plan on staying a while or of you will be in your room a lot I would go for the exterior rooms, but if you are going to enjoy the outdoors of new orleans and want a good deal that is still relaxing and historic... this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orleans Grapevine French Bistro. Unbelievably good! A bit pricey, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
naterang
Business
mobile al
Aug 27, 2009

some nice some needing work

we stayed in two rooms hotel was nice but one room was tiny, the pool needed cleaniand the tiny room which was non smoking reeked of smoke great location though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top