$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Place-D'Armes-French-Quarter-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
155 reviews
Reunion with my lover

It is a very lovely hotel. The courtyard is just gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable, the... See full review

  • Michelle S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Loved our stay at Place D' Armes

It was like stepping back in time! Lovely hotel in the French Quarters, beautiful inside and out.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 29, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Miller
Saginaw, Michigan
May 20, 2012

Old but not old.

We selected this hotel because it was in the heart of The French Quarter and it sounded romantic. We were concerned because it was built in the 1700s. The room was more than we could have hoped for and the location was perfect for several days in the French Quarter. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The pastries for breakfast was rather limited, but were tasty none-the-less. The staff was pleasant and helpful, but not over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some jazz, do not hit Bourbon Street, rather go to Frenchman's Street on the edge of The French Quarter at the end of Decantur. The street looks bad in the day light - but I felt safe and the food and music was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle S.
Business
petaluma
Jan 20, 2015

Reunion with my lover

It is a very lovely hotel. The courtyard is just gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable, the street that the hotel is on is a perfect location in the French Quarter. You can hear church bells all day from the rooms. The staff were very accommodating and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

form galleries and boutiques

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Dec 29, 2014

Loved our stay at Place D' Armes

It was like stepping back in time! Lovely hotel in the French Quarters, beautiful inside and out. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our airport shuttle dropped us off curbside and a young man was right there taking our bags inside. Location was great, for everything you need to do and see. Lots of fantastic restaurants in the area. Book early as this hotel fills up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathoune
Business
Louisiana
Dec 4, 2014

Wonderful!

The stay was wonderful. My only concern is the noise from people partying but it is downtown! It is normal. Also, the noise from garbage truck very early (5 am). Beside that, great atmosphere, great room, great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar and restaurants with music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shondra Chels
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 7, 2014

Great location, great value

The Place d'Armes location could not have been any better. Just off of Jackson Square, you can easily walk to any of the nearby "hot spots" (i.e. The French Market, French Quarter, Bourbon Street). The hotel also had a ton of character which was great. Some of the rooms however are interior rooms without any windows which I did not realize upon booking. It would've been nice to have been able to get some fresh air or at least see what the weather was like when we woke up. The staff at the Place d'Armes was average. Sometimes quite helpful & other times a bit apathetic almost. The continental breakfast was underwhelming, but it did the job. Overall Place d'Armes is a great value especially given the location. It's perfect if you're not looking for something over-the-top fancy or impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Travlr
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 9, 2014

Hidden Gem

This is a hidden gem (much more than what I had expected). They have underground (valet) parking for the guest for $30 a day. I'm sure you can find something around the area for cheaper but the parking here is nice. The hotel is 1 block away from the Cafe du Monde and 3 blocks from the famous Burbon street. The best part is the enclosed courtyard full of southern charm with a pool and trees that take you to a completely different place. I would stay here again if I ever come back to Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScottP Super Nurse
Business
Paris, TX
Aug 9, 2014

Anniversary

Was pleasantly surprised with the size of our room. Everything was very good with the exception of the antiquated shower head, and the excessive stomping from our upstairs neighbors. Overall it was a great experience. Will definetly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right at Jackson Square, and very short walk to Cafe Dumonde.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montgomery Grammie
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Jul 19, 2014

Great for Girls Getaway

Within walking distance to all the French Quarter sites. The hotel is in the middle of it all, but the rooms face a quiet, beautiful courtyard. Will recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Kivett
Business
Salem, OR
Jul 2, 2014

Great experience

This is the place for an iconic French Quarter hotel experience, this is your place! Wrought iron balconies, exposed brick, & a wonderful courtyard, but what sets this place apart is the location. World-class restaurants within a block, more shopping opportunities than any person needs, a stone's throw from Jackson Square, and close enough to Café Du Monde to have a beignet nightcap. Centrally located between the craziness of Bourbon Street & the thrilling music of Frenchmen Street, as well as between the Mississippi river and Louis Armstrong Park. I'd stay here again in a second. Keep in mind, some of the rooms have no windows, but if you come to New Orleans to spend time in your hotel room, you have it all wrong anyway. The rooms are clean & well-kept, and the maid service is prompt. The free continental breakfast isn't fancy, but the quality of the food is better than many places, and it will tide you over until you make it to any one of the dozens of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must check out the music on Frenchmen Street, especially Snug Harbor & the Spotted Cat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmiH
Business
Texas
Jun 17, 2014

NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but far enough away to relax. Parking was very expensive, but it is in a garage, and very safe. We stayed 3 nights, and didn't use our car at all, as we walked everywhere. The courtyard was beautiful and our deluxe room was HUGE. The only thing that we noticed was in the morning, the trash trucks come down the street that our room was on and they could be a little loud, but it really didn't bother us. The staff was always friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We will absolutely stay there again when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

801 Royal is a restaurant that is a short walk from the hotel. It was a great, quiet environment and had amazing food. We ate there twice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ellejaeque
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 11, 2014

Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms are nice and simple, but comfy and there were a variety of styles based on your budget. They do not have a bunch of extra amenities so if you are the type of person that enjoys a lot of extra services and perks, this may not be the ideal hotel for you. The location is PERFECT, being right in the center of the beautiful French Quarter. The pool was absolutely delightful for sitting in or around and having some drinks. It also seemed to be primarily patronized by childless couples, if that kind of quiet atmosphere appeals to you (in five days we only saw about six kids total).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk around with open containers of beer as long as they are in plastic cups, and most anywhere you go will allow you to bring in your outside beverages as well. I highly recommend Sidney's Wine Cellar at 917 Decatur Street where you can buy individual bottles of a HUGE selection of craft beers, wine, etc for $2+. The cashiers will even provide you with plastic cups if you ask!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top