$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Place D'Armes French Quarter

3 stars
625 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
249 reviews
NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but... See full review

  • AmiH
  • Jun 17, 2014
Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms... See full review

  • ellejaeque
  • Jun 11, 2014
Historic French Quarter boutique with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

Rich in Southern hospitality and New Orleans-style charm, the historic Place D'Armes French Quarter sets the tone with beautifully restored 18th- and 19th-century buildings and a lush tropical courtyard. The AAA 3-diamond hotel features guest rooms with elegant reproduction antique furnishings, paired with modern amenities. Selected rooms even feature a romantic balcony. The hotel treats guests to free breakfast served daily, plus 24-hour concierge, valet and bell service. An outdoor swimming pool is a refreshing surprise at Place D'Armes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary breakfast service is a sweet start to the day, followed by a refreshing swim in the hotel pool
  • Guest rooms furnished in elegant reproduction French antiques and set around a lush, shady courtyard
  • In the heart of the French Quarter near historic Jackson Square

Location

The Place D'Armes is located in the French Quarter, just steps from historic Jackson Square. Bourbon Street and the French Market are a short walk away.

Rooms

The boutique Place D'Armes features 84 smoke-free guest rooms in eight restored historic French Quarter townhouses surrounding a lushly landscaped courtyard. Each is equipped with modern amenities as well as reproduction antique furnishings and French-inspired decor. Features include high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), individual climate control, a complimentary newspaper, a coffee-maker, a safe, an alarm clock, a phone with voice mail, a cable TV and daily housekeeping service. Selected rooms include a romantic balcony.

Features

Place D'Armes makes a stay even more special with complimentary breakfast served daily. The hotel also provides 24-hour concierge and valet service, plus an outdoor swimming pool. Valet parking is available (fees apply). Be sure to spend time basking in the sultry New Orleans climate at the romantic courtyard setting, shaded by magnolia and crepe myrtle trees.

Transportation

  • Union Passenger Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)

Attractions

  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • University of New Orleans (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Tulane University (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Audubon Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)

Business

  • Facilities are available at the neighboring Valentino-Conti House for up to 200 people (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access in-room and Wi-Fi in public spaces (fees apply)

Policies and fees
  • The Place d'Armes is proud to be a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is allowed in public areas only, not in guest rooms. Valet parking is available for $28 USD per night
  • Starting November 1, 2012, the hotel will begin offerring guests an optional communications package at a rate of $4.95/nt that will allow guests to receive wireless internet, along with free local and domestic long distance phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Place D'Armes French Quarter Rooms

One Double Basic
One double bed, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Basic
Two double beds, interior windowless room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One Queen Deluxe
One queen bed deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Two Double Deluxe
Two double beds deluxe room with courtyard or street view. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Place D'Armes French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9584 -90.0633
Area served
French Quarter, Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, French Market, Bourbon Street, the Central Business District, the Warehouse/Arts district and the Superdome.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
In the heart of the French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.7 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 9.9 mi

Dining

Continental Breakfast
Our complimentary New Orleans style continental breakfast features cafe au lait, fresh baked croissants, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot tea, all served in our new breakfast room overlooking St. Ann Street and Jackson Square. You may also choose to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or the privacy of your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Place D'Armes French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Miller
Saginaw, Michigan
May 20, 2012

Old but not old.

We selected this hotel because it was in the heart of The French Quarter and it sounded romantic. We were concerned because it was built in the 1700s. The room was more than we could have hoped for and the location was perfect for several days in the French Quarter. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The pastries for breakfast was rather limited, but were tasty none-the-less. The staff was pleasant and helpful, but not over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some jazz, do not hit Bourbon Street, rather go to Frenchman's Street on the edge of The French Quarter at the end of Decantur. The street looks bad in the day light - but I felt safe and the food and music was excellent!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montgomery Grammie
Montgomery, Texas
Jul 19, 2014

Great for Girls Getaway

Within walking distance to all the French Quarter sites. The hotel is in the middle of it all, but the rooms face a quiet, beautiful courtyard. Will recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Kivett
Salem, OR
Jul 2, 2014

Great experience

This is the place for an iconic French Quarter hotel experience, this is your place! Wrought iron balconies, exposed brick, & a wonderful courtyard, but what sets this place apart is the location. World-class restaurants within a block, more shopping opportunities than any person needs, a stone's throw from Jackson Square, and close enough to Café Du Monde to have a beignet nightcap. Centrally located between the craziness of Bourbon Street & the thrilling music of Frenchmen Street, as well as between the Mississippi river and Louis Armstrong Park. I'd stay here again in a second. Keep in mind, some of the rooms have no windows, but if you come to New Orleans to spend time in your hotel room, you have it all wrong anyway. The rooms are clean & well-kept, and the maid service is prompt. The free continental breakfast isn't fancy, but the quality of the food is better than many places, and it will tide you over until you make it to any one of the dozens of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must check out the music on Frenchmen Street, especially Snug Harbor & the Spotted Cat.

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmiH
Texas
Jun 17, 2014

NOLA Getaway

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is in the PERFECT location, close enough to all the action, but far enough away to relax. Parking was very expensive, but it is in a garage, and very safe. We stayed 3 nights, and didn't use our car at all, as we walked everywhere. The courtyard was beautiful and our deluxe room was HUGE. The only thing that we noticed was in the morning, the trash trucks come down the street that our room was on and they could be a little loud, but it really didn't bother us. The staff was always friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We will absolutely stay there again when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

801 Royal is a restaurant that is a short walk from the hotel. It was a great, quiet environment and had amazing food. We ate there twice!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ellejaeque
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 11, 2014

Location! Location! Location! Also, quiet beauty and comfort

I loved Place D'Armes and we will definitely return here when we visit again next year. The rooms are nice and simple, but comfy and there were a variety of styles based on your budget. They do not have a bunch of extra amenities so if you are the type of person that enjoys a lot of extra services and perks, this may not be the ideal hotel for you. The location is PERFECT, being right in the center of the beautiful French Quarter. The pool was absolutely delightful for sitting in or around and having some drinks. It also seemed to be primarily patronized by childless couples, if that kind of quiet atmosphere appeals to you (in five days we only saw about six kids total).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk around with open containers of beer as long as they are in plastic cups, and most anywhere you go will allow you to bring in your outside beverages as well. I highly recommend Sidney's Wine Cellar at 917 Decatur Street where you can buy individual bottles of a HUGE selection of craft beers, wine, etc for $2+. The cashiers will even provide you with plastic cups if you ask!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mullenkee
Dallas, Texas
May 30, 2014

Location is just about all there is here!

The only completely positive thing I say about this hotel is that the location is amazing. Other than that.... let's see, where do I start? - Our room had NO windows... as in NONE, zero, zilch, nada. Creepy Right? - The room, smelled putrid. A cross between sour vomit and perm solution. It was quite vile. - The room, which already felt small because of the no windows, was only about 250 square feet. There was so much furniture in that room, you hoped you didn't have to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, because you hoped you wouldn't walk into a piece of furniture in the pitch black darkness. Then, when you make it to the door, hope you are thin, or you can turn on a dime, because, I promise you, the opening to the door to the bathroom is only about 22-24 inches wide. - Now we all know New Orleans. is humid and hot and when you get to your room, you want a good shower. Water pressure in hotels is always poor, but the water was at such a low pressure that I could not get my hair wet enough to soak it to shampoo. I had to get down and use the faucet to wash my hair in the middle of my shower. - The staff at the front desk and bell desk were nice and helpful when needed, however the cleaning staff apparently attend metal concerts too often because they are so incredibly loud their hollering of, 'House Keeping!!', as they bang on the doors down the hall. Couple that with vacuuming all around us, and no alarm was needed. - I read that it is one of the most haunted buildings in New Orleans, and if that is your thing, I am pretty sure I had a minor experience. Perhaps they save their lesser rooms for online booking agents? Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised. Would I stay here again? Because the location is so great, and all my issues were with my room, yes, I would give them one more chance. Just the next time, I would book the room direct with the hotel and see if I got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Textile Lady
New Orleans, La.
Mar 28, 2014

Great Vacation

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pat o' Briens ...great atmosphere, good food, and great prices!

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K 10 Vacation
Fontana, CA
Nov 29, 2013

Family gateway

We loved the location and Facilities rooms were clean but if you are driving a car and planning to stay for several days be aware that parking might get a bit pricy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If in a mood for jazz. "Fritzel's"

Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malanks
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Location location location!

If you want to stay at French Quarter, this is the place! walking distance to just about anything. Cafe Du Monde is basically 1 block away, and City grocery (where the original muffaletta is made) is a 5 min walk. Also, if you want to visit Mardi Gras world(where they make the floats), there is a free shuttle that you can call and they pick you up near cafe du monde! There is complimentary continental breakfast, but tons of restaurants near by if you want a heartier breakfast. There is also a really nice courtyard + small pool to just relax after exploring. the hotel upgraded us for free to a larger room, which was very nice. My only problem was trying to regulate the AC to the right temperature so that the room was cool enough but not humid. But honestly, I was just there to sleep, so i would still recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michellemybelle71
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Nice location

Great location, reasonably priced. Really delicious pastries and coffee in the morning and the staff was extremely nice, that is always a bonus to me. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Place D'Armes French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzy the Great
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2013

Nice Vintage Hotel

We spent the little extra money to get a window and it was worth it. It was over looking the courtyard and pool. The room was big with high ceilings. To get to the room you had to walk through the courtyard which was very pretty. The air conditioning was very strong in our room, which was a good thing because it was very hot (mid 90's). But the a/c was a bit loud and would wake us up at night when it would kick in. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to Cafe du Monde and Bourbon St.

Back to menu Return to top