$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
200 reviews
Elegant With Boutique Feel

This French Quarter location felt more like a boutique hotel than a massive one, so you get a more... See full review

  • MarlaZ
  • Jun 28, 2014
Great hotel for a weekend with friends...

Hotel is in a great location in New Orleans for the night life , I don't recommend taking the... See full review

  • Mr wiggles
  • Jun 17, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9559 -90.0655
Area served
New Orleans City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twinkle S
Pasadena, California
Nov 16, 2013

Great hotel for first time visitors

This beautiful hotel is in a convenient location in the French Quarter. Close to antique shops and Jackson Square, and many other sites. The room was large, quiet, and very comfortable. The hotel restaurant is also very nice. Not knowing much about New Orleans, this was a fantastic choice for me and my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denise in Augusta
augusta, Ga
Jul 4, 2014

Omni Royal - New Orleans

The room was clean and the hotel was very nice. However, the room was no bigger than a closet and no place to put your clothes. In addition we requested a luggage cart to bring up a cooler filled with water and we were told that they do not give them out for those purposes. They were not polite about it either. The last thing, I know parking is a premium in New Orleans but they do not give you a break to park at the hotel at all. I would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jan 3, 2010

The Worst Hotel Experience!!!!!

The room was the size of a cracker box, literally the worst I have ever stayed in. When I asked for a bigger room as it was maybe 12 X 20 [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jan 3, 2010

The Worst Hotel Experience!!!!!

The room was the size of a cracker box, literally the worst I have ever stayed in. When I asked for a bigger room as it was maybe 12 X 20 [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pearl1
Memphis
Feb 11, 2013

Great Location

Right in the heart of it all! Comfortable bed, great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Needville, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Pros/Cons

The room I stayed in was probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. I booked a Petite Queen Suite thinking it had "250 square feet, one queen bed, a sitting area with a queen-sized sofa bed, and large bathroom." It only had a queen bed, a night stand, small desk, armoir w/ a tiny tv, small closet, & a tiny bathroom. It felt like only 120-150 square feet. The bathroom floor looked like it wasn't cleaned. There was dust flying out of the air vents in the room. The soft sheets & hotel location were the only good things about it. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikki not happy
Grand Bay, Al
Jul 6, 2012

Were very uncomfortable in the room

The Hotel, staff, location and cleanliness was great but the small size of the room was horrible to us and I felt 175.00 a night for it was rediculas! Along with no convience of access to outside where my husband could smoke - we really couldn't wait to leave and I really dreaded going back to the small room each night. The high cost of parking was also very inappropriate, we have stayed many places in the Fench Quarter of New Orleans and never paid over 15.00 a day. We will NEVER stay there again:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quique
Dallas
Aug 23, 2011

Omni Royal - New Orleans

I wish I could be writing something different. Unfortunately, the hotel was a bit of a disappointment. We thoght we were staying in a 5 star hotel, imagined it to have state of the art rooms, ammenities and facilities. It does seem like the place is very old and is in an urgent need for renovations, especially the rooms. Our room's air conditioning was not working properly so we had to be changed to a different room, different to the one we booked, but with 100 degree weather we did not care. Overall the experience was OK but not at par to what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parent Escape
Fredericksburg, VA
Aug 21, 2010

Parents Great Escape!

Check-in was a breeze! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is fabulous and the room was very clean! On the flip-side, the room is small-but most of our time was spent out and about. The worst thing I can say about this hotel is DONT ORDER ANY FOOD! We ordered lunch and dessert one afternoon and we definitely regretted it! The food was at first site not very appealing, but we were so hungry we got passed the looks and bit into the driest and overcooked food ever. We were looking forward to dessert, but the chocolate moouse was more like stale pudding--YUCK! Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but the kitchen could use some work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hampshire
Mar 29, 2011

Nice place but over priced

Room was clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. Unless you become a member there aren't a lot of amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hls2k6
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 26, 2011

Great location, small room

Great staff & location. Rooms are adequate-- clean & functional, but very small. Bed was comfy. Tv was tiny & dated if you care about such things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within minutes of all the best French Quarter restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top