$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
201 reviews
Extremely friendly staff

The room was clean and a nice size, and the hotel perfectly located near the activity (easy walking... See full review

  • Paulfan
  • Jul 13, 2014
Elegant With Boutique Feel

This French Quarter location felt more like a boutique hotel than a massive one, so you get a more... See full review

  • MarlaZ
  • Jun 28, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9559 -90.0655
Area served
New Orleans City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Willy Fun2know
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Mar 25, 2013

Perfect Place

We have eaten and the restaruant here, and have enjoyed the bar for years. This was our first time staying. We will always try and stay here again. The Omni was absolutely perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulfan
Ann Arbor, MI
Jul 13, 2014

Extremely friendly staff

The room was clean and a nice size, and the hotel perfectly located near the activity (easy walking distance) but quiet. Beautiful lobby and nice pool area on the roof. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Doorman got to know us and even gave us cold bottles of water when we came in looking worn from the heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rallatass
Oslo, Norway
Jul 5, 2014

Nothing special

The hotel and rooms are nice. I was annoyed to find a regular plastic bottle of water in the room, the kind that is normally offered complimentary, with a price tag of $7. The WiFi is relative expensive as well. All in all a pleasant stay in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denise in Augusta
augusta, Ga
Jul 4, 2014

Omni Royal - New Orleans

The room was clean and the hotel was very nice. However, the room was no bigger than a closet and no place to put your clothes. In addition we requested a luggage cart to bring up a cooler filled with water and we were told that they do not give them out for those purposes. They were not polite about it either. The last thing, I know parking is a premium in New Orleans but they do not give you a break to park at the hotel at all. I would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarlaZ
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 28, 2014

Elegant With Boutique Feel

This French Quarter location felt more like a boutique hotel than a massive one, so you get a more personal feel. The staff was exceptionally professional, friendly, sharp and attentive. One night it was raining and there were no more umbrellas left. The Bell Captain actually went to his car to bring me his personal one. The lobby was gorgeous and my room was exceptional. I'm not one to spend a lot of time in rooms, preferring to get out and see the town, but this bed was so comfortable and had the most exquisite sheets and pillows that I actually chose to stay in more than I normally do and just enjoy it. The shower head adjusts, not only in pressure, but in height. This was a real bonus since I'm very short. Perfect location in the heart of the Quarter, just about 2 blocks over from Bourbon Street, so it was convenient but not noisy. Across the street is the State Supreme Court, a beautiful building surrounded by gorgeous magnolia trees. The river and all the sights along it were less than a 10 minute walk. You will love staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a small umbrella! It rains every afternoon. The hotel lends umbrellas but they're large and awkward to carry.

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veronica M
Chicago
Jun 22, 2014

Great hotel and close to everything

The hotel is beautiful I got a king room with a view it was beautiful the bathroom was huge. The hotel is quiet at night and a very short walk to the French market,bourbon street,the casino and a lot of resturants. The staff are great very friendly and helpful when you want to get around. Had a great time in New Orleans and at this hotel will definitely stay here next time I'm in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a resturant and when you walk outside there's a resturant on every corner and within a short walking distance you can also walk from the hotel to the pier and do a dinner cruise.

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr wiggles
Long Island New York
Jun 17, 2014

Great hotel for a weekend with friends...

Hotel is in a great location in New Orleans for the night life , I don't recommend taking the family. Although the hotel is gorgeous and has great food and a rooftop pool...it gets very loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The heart of Bourbon street is 2 blocks away

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globtrotter31
New Jersey
Jun 3, 2014

Omni Royal

Great, beautiful hotel right in the French Quarter with a pool and fitness center to boot. Only complaints are pretty minor -- no complimentary self-serve coffee or water (you have to request it) and they charge for wifi, which I find annoying given this is 2014. Other than that, awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fresh Out of DR
Yonkers, New York
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location; nice room; amends made for a big dropped ball

The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the French Quarter. The room is comfortable, and the cleaning staff kept the room looking fresh every day. I guess lack of a mini refrigerator is an issue beyond this hotel, but It's hard to understand why this very minor amenity wouldn't be standard in a hotel of this quality. The rooftop pool is great; substantial size, perfect temperature. The only problem came with a dropped ball by someone on staff. Our daughter and son-in-law had ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for us. Only when they asked if we had enjoyed them did we find out about this because they weren't delivered. But when we complained, the champagne was sent and we were given a $50 certificate for the Rib Room restaurant in the hotel in place of the strawberries. A happy ending.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To orient yourself to the French Quarter or Garden District, take a walking tour with Free Tours By Foot. (Tip the tour guide.)

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoL
Marin County
May 15, 2014

Great in the French Quarter

From the moment I arrived I was taken care of. I had joined Omni's loyalty program so I was able customize my amenities along with getting free beverage in the morning, newspaper of my choice and free wifi. Not only would I stay at this hotel again, in the future I will look to see if an Omni hotel is in the city I am traveling too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Emeril's New Orleans.

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherif1
Jamestown, NC
May 3, 2014

Great service perfect location

We loved our stay. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate all our requests. I give honorable mention to the door men and to the young lady working the coffee shop who got my select member grapefruit juice. One suggestion is to maybe add a cookie or something with light to eat with the select member offering. I did love your coffee and grapefruit juice though. The beds were comfortable and they accommodated all our special pillow requests. I got a foam pillow. The bottle of champagne was also a nice touch from Lila who was always helpful when I talked to her on the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go get coupons and information from the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. One coupon is good for a free bottle of wine at Red Fish and another coupon good for a free entree at Crescent Brewery.

Back to menu Return to top