$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
149 reviews
Omni Royal Orleans is always my first choice in NOLA

Great hotel. Great location. Great service. I'm hesitant to say this as I prefer them not to be... See full review

  • MCAtravels
  • Aug 7, 2014
Outstanding

It was a dream come true. Perfect location, great service. I would go back here any day. Clean,... See full review

  • Venkatraghvan
  • Aug 4, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9559 -90.0655
Area served
New Orleans City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love New England
Business
Southern Tier of NYS
Feb 24, 2013

We loved our stay!

We were in New Orleans for an Ace Hardware convention in February. This was our second stay at this hotel. The hotel's location is perfect for those who want to experience the energy of the French Quarter. The staff was very accommodating and the hotel itself mirrors the gentility of the old south. We loved our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try some of the "not so famous" restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Great location

This historic hotel is very nice. The room was small and there wasn't much space in the bathroom, but it was easy walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is kept up well, and the staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hotwater
Business
Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Great Stay

In town for the work boat show and this was close enough to the convention center and far enough from bourbon st to let me sleep. Great room, great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Girls trip
Florida
Oct 17, 2011

Best hotel in the heart of EVERYTHING!

By far, the best hotel in New Orleans French Quarter and Bourbon area! My friend and I picked this hotel the day we arrived in New Orleans after our "bargin hotel" was a flop and we needed a plan B. We found this hotel and the price was amazing!We were 2 blocks from French Quarter and 3 blocks or so from Bourbon street! Valet service was amazing and the beds were VERY comfortable! Cound not ask for a better hotel in a better location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Metropolitan Night Club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronaldo
Jackson, MS, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Sleep all night

We love the view of the city above the pool-the next thing to a private balcony. We slept all night except for one noise incident. It is central to Bourbon and the Market and very close to K-Pauls(our favorite)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trubbl
Ft Lauderdale
Sep 20, 2011

In the HEART of the Quarter...

Stayed here several times before,,so I knew what to expect.. Nice hotel ..great location ... Rooms are a little small but when in New Orleans you don't spend much time in your room ... Rib Room for dinner while always nice was very dissappointing ths time ..Hopefully just a bad night .. Did try the breakfast buffet my last morning there ...definately worth the 20 dollars..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Copelands for the Jazz Sunday Brunch Buffet... definately worth your time .. food and service excellent..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FINE
CT
Sep 1, 2011

An Amazing Deal

Lovely hotel in a perfect location in the French quarter -- amazingly inexpensive--probably because we went in August. Lobby and restaurant were lovely--the breakfast/brunch is a great value--and fabulous! Roof top pool was beautiful as well and we enjoyed it with the august heat. The only minor complaint was that the room was quite small--but very pretty and comfortable. This was probably the reason in part for the low rate for a high end hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out of the French Quarter to Frenchman's street for REAL jazz. and dont' miss the WW2 museum--a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlieturkjr
Denham Springs,La
Aug 29, 2011

Room with a view

I paid extra for a view it was of the top of roofs is all you could see.that was the only problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quique
Dallas
Aug 23, 2011

Omni Royal - New Orleans

I wish I could be writing something different. Unfortunately, the hotel was a bit of a disappointment. We thoght we were staying in a 5 star hotel, imagined it to have state of the art rooms, ammenities and facilities. It does seem like the place is very old and is in an urgent need for renovations, especially the rooms. Our room's air conditioning was not working properly so we had to be changed to a different room, different to the one we booked, but with 100 degree weather we did not care. Overall the experience was OK but not at par to what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronaldo
Jackson, MS, USA
Aug 22, 2011

omni-max

Great location! Loved the cityview from the 7th. Quiet at nite. Rico is the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K-Pauls is awsome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Louisiana
Aug 1, 2011

Romantic Getaway

The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to the French Quarter and all of its attractions. The waitstaff was friendly and helpful with our questions. Compared to previous trips and locations around the city, it is one of the best places I've stayed while in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a half block from some of the best places to shop on Royal Street and one block from the heart of Bourbon Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search