$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Great hotel

The hotel is great, perfect location! In the center of the French Quarter. Quiet and clean. See full review

  • WEAL
  • Nov 30, 2014
November stay

We had a great time at the Omni in New Orleans! Really no complaints, but if I had to pick, we... See full review

  • tttttcccccc
  • Nov 25, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCAtravels
Birmingham, AL
Aug 7, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans is always my first choice in NOLA

Great hotel. Great location. Great service. I'm hesitant to say this as I prefer them not to be full when I call at the last minute, but they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EAT is a tiny establishment that offered the best food that we had during our recent visit. Good Service, food, pricing, and byo wine. (No Liquor License) No cork fee for first bottle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fresh Out of DR
Business
Yonkers, New York
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location; nice room; amends made for a big dropped ball

The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the French Quarter. The room is comfortable, and the cleaning staff kept the room looking fresh every day. I guess lack of a mini refrigerator is an issue beyond this hotel, but It's hard to understand why this very minor amenity wouldn't be standard in a hotel of this quality. The rooftop pool is great; substantial size, perfect temperature. The only problem came with a dropped ball by someone on staff. Our daughter and son-in-law had ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for us. Only when they asked if we had enjoyed them did we find out about this because they weren't delivered. But when we complained, the champagne was sent and we were given a $50 certificate for the Rib Room restaurant in the hotel in place of the strawberries. A happy ending.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To orient yourself to the French Quarter or Garden District, take a walking tour with Free Tours By Foot. (Tip the tour guide.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoL
Business
Marin County
May 15, 2014

Great in the French Quarter

From the moment I arrived I was taken care of. I had joined Omni's loyalty program so I was able customize my amenities along with getting free beverage in the morning, newspaper of my choice and free wifi. Not only would I stay at this hotel again, in the future I will look to see if an Omni hotel is in the city I am traveling too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Emeril's New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherif1
Business
Jamestown, NC
May 3, 2014

Great service perfect location

We loved our stay. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate all our requests. I give honorable mention to the door men and to the young lady working the coffee shop who got my select member grapefruit juice. One suggestion is to maybe add a cookie or something with light to eat with the select member offering. I did love your coffee and grapefruit juice though. The beds were comfortable and they accommodated all our special pillow requests. I got a foam pillow. The bottle of champagne was also a nice touch from Lila who was always helpful when I talked to her on the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go get coupons and information from the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. One coupon is good for a free bottle of wine at Red Fish and another coupon good for a free entree at Crescent Brewery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonandDawn
Business
Port Hadlock, Washington
May 1, 2014

THE place to stay in NOLA !

Just returned from our second stay at the Omni in NOLA. It is clearly the best hotel in the French Quarter. The location is perfect. The service and the quality of the facilities is top notch.............The concierge is very knowledgeable and always there to help..........Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A cultural treasure......walk one block along Chartres Street and eat lunch at The Grille.............great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy travellers
Business
Marbella, Spain
Apr 29, 2014

City break for middle aged couple

Brilliant Location, right in centre of French Qtr,Could not fault the hotel except the room and especially the bed were a little on the small side, but for how often we were in the room it did not cause us any problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the American WW11 museum, and definitely pay the extra $5.00 to watch the film (+ $22.00 entry) but worth every penny, you can take as long as you want, I would recommend 3-4 hours. Also has excellent bar / restaurant on site, DONT FORGET SHORTS WHILE IN NEW ORLEANS, IT GETS VERY WARM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Voodoo fan
Business
New York
Apr 19, 2014

The Great Escape to New Orleans

It was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were extremely comfortable. It was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the French Market before you buy any souvenirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ASAA
Business
Tenafly, NJ
Apr 16, 2014

Great location in French (noisy) Quarters

It's a great hotel that's in a great spot in the heart of French Quarters where everything is within walking distance. The lobby is clean and impressive, and the rooms are recently renovated. Good mattresses and pillows. But it is also a VERY noisy place to be. Always something going on. Music, people up and down - very loud at times - and cleaning trucks that come at 5am for local restaurants that wake you up suddenly. Also the ventilation system makes a lot of noise that resonates in the rooms. The hotel restaurant is average at best as is the bar. Of course, some people say that you don't go to NOLA to rest. True. So, it's a mixed bag. Next time, I wouldn't stay in the heart of French Quarters for sure. Overall, not a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SparkR
Business
Rockford, IL
Apr 5, 2014

Fun in New Orleans

Great location, far enough from Bourbon St to get a good night sleep. Great roof-top outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill is a great place for breakfast - most efficient layout and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ready for more
Business
New York
Apr 5, 2014

Excellent hotel

Very well run with a great staff. Queen size deluxe ro was very nice but the rooms in general are small which seems true for many of the old hotels. Great restaurant and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling to various parts if city use a cab to save time. Street cars/buses work great but move slow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Couple on Vaca
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2014

Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great--just a very short walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, etc. The rooftop pool and view were also a great plus. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top