$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
156 reviews
French Quarter Relaxation

I might be a little biased because we did get a room upgrade for a slight mixup but our room was... See full review

  • Lindsay MP
  • Oct 7, 2014
Just Awesome!!!

This hotel was perfect!! I got a room upgrade for my birthday for free. The room came with a jetted... See full review

  • Majodie
  • Sep 22, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bulworker
Harpers Ferry Wv
Oct 19, 2013

A great place to stay

We had a great stay. My wife gave me a trip to New Orleans for my 60th birthday. The second day the manger sent up a beautiful delicious cup cake on a plate that had Happy Birthady written in chocolate on the plate. With a candel. It made our trip. Thanks Omni Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go hungry

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Venkatraghvan
Business
Bangalore, India
Aug 4, 2014

Outstanding

It was a dream come true. Perfect location, great service. I would go back here any day. Clean, efficient and certainly a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out. Enough eateries around all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulfan
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jul 13, 2014

Extremely friendly staff

The room was clean and a nice size, and the hotel perfectly located near the activity (easy walking distance) but quiet. Beautiful lobby and nice pool area on the roof. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Doorman got to know us and even gave us cold bottles of water when we came in looking worn from the heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rallatass
Business
Oslo, Norway
Jul 5, 2014

Nothing special

The hotel and rooms are nice. I was annoyed to find a regular plastic bottle of water in the room, the kind that is normally offered complimentary, with a price tag of $7. The WiFi is relative expensive as well. All in all a pleasant stay in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denise in Augusta
Business
augusta, Ga
Jul 4, 2014

Omni Royal - New Orleans

The room was clean and the hotel was very nice. However, the room was no bigger than a closet and no place to put your clothes. In addition we requested a luggage cart to bring up a cooler filled with water and we were told that they do not give them out for those purposes. They were not polite about it either. The last thing, I know parking is a premium in New Orleans but they do not give you a break to park at the hotel at all. I would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarlaZ
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 28, 2014

Elegant With Boutique Feel

This French Quarter location felt more like a boutique hotel than a massive one, so you get a more personal feel. The staff was exceptionally professional, friendly, sharp and attentive. One night it was raining and there were no more umbrellas left. The Bell Captain actually went to his car to bring me his personal one. The lobby was gorgeous and my room was exceptional. I'm not one to spend a lot of time in rooms, preferring to get out and see the town, but this bed was so comfortable and had the most exquisite sheets and pillows that I actually chose to stay in more than I normally do and just enjoy it. The shower head adjusts, not only in pressure, but in height. This was a real bonus since I'm very short. Perfect location in the heart of the Quarter, just about 2 blocks over from Bourbon Street, so it was convenient but not noisy. Across the street is the State Supreme Court, a beautiful building surrounded by gorgeous magnolia trees. The river and all the sights along it were less than a 10 minute walk. You will love staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a small umbrella! It rains every afternoon. The hotel lends umbrellas but they're large and awkward to carry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veronica M
Business
Chicago
Jun 22, 2014

Great hotel and close to everything

The hotel is beautiful I got a king room with a view it was beautiful the bathroom was huge. The hotel is quiet at night and a very short walk to the French market,bourbon street,the casino and a lot of resturants. The staff are great very friendly and helpful when you want to get around. Had a great time in New Orleans and at this hotel will definitely stay here next time I'm in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a resturant and when you walk outside there's a resturant on every corner and within a short walking distance you can also walk from the hotel to the pier and do a dinner cruise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr wiggles
Business
Long Island New York
Jun 17, 2014

Great hotel for a weekend with friends...

Hotel is in a great location in New Orleans for the night life , I don't recommend taking the family. Although the hotel is gorgeous and has great food and a rooftop pool...it gets very loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The heart of Bourbon street is 2 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globtrotter31
Business
New Jersey
Jun 3, 2014

Omni Royal

Great, beautiful hotel right in the French Quarter with a pool and fitness center to boot. Only complaints are pretty minor -- no complimentary self-serve coffee or water (you have to request it) and they charge for wifi, which I find annoying given this is 2014. Other than that, awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fresh Out of DR
Business
Yonkers, New York
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location; nice room; amends made for a big dropped ball

The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the French Quarter. The room is comfortable, and the cleaning staff kept the room looking fresh every day. I guess lack of a mini refrigerator is an issue beyond this hotel, but It's hard to understand why this very minor amenity wouldn't be standard in a hotel of this quality. The rooftop pool is great; substantial size, perfect temperature. The only problem came with a dropped ball by someone on staff. Our daughter and son-in-law had ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for us. Only when they asked if we had enjoyed them did we find out about this because they weren't delivered. But when we complained, the champagne was sent and we were given a $50 certificate for the Rib Room restaurant in the hotel in place of the strawberries. A happy ending.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To orient yourself to the French Quarter or Garden District, take a walking tour with Free Tours By Foot. (Tip the tour guide.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoL
Business
Marin County
May 15, 2014

Great in the French Quarter

From the moment I arrived I was taken care of. I had joined Omni's loyalty program so I was able customize my amenities along with getting free beverage in the morning, newspaper of my choice and free wifi. Not only would I stay at this hotel again, in the future I will look to see if an Omni hotel is in the city I am traveling too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Emeril's New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top