$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
155 reviews
French Quarter Relaxation

I might be a little biased because we did get a room upgrade for a slight mixup but our room was... See full review

  • Lindsay MP
  • Oct 7, 2014
Just Awesome!!!

This hotel was perfect!! I got a room upgrade for my birthday for free. The room came with a jetted... See full review

  • Majodie
  • Sep 22, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9559 -90.0655
Area served
New Orleans City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Three Rivers, MI
May 24, 2010

Great location!!!

We spent very little time at the hotel. However, it was in a great location. It was a short walk to Bourbon St., Jackson Square, and other great locations. The staff were friendly and the room was cleaned and sheets changed daily. Only complaint is that the cleaning staff threw away some souvenier items. When we reported this to the front desk, the staff didn't seem to care. Other than that, everything was great. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
May 9, 2010

Great Location great service

The perfect location in the French Quarter. A short walk to everyplace you want to go and just far enough away to offer some quiet when you need it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 18, 2010

Omni Royal Orleans trade offs

Price and location were excellent. Came for a conference 2 blocks away and it was an easy wall. Staff was always pleasant. Room was tiny but clean. Biggest problem was screaming (and I do mean screaming) water pipes when anyone used the plumbing. Woke us up with a start several times during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smack in the middle of the Quarter so wear comfy shoes and wallk to dine or shop safely (with plenty of window shopping available along the way.) avoid Bourbon Street unless you've just turned 21 and want to know what drinking in volume is like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jan 3, 2010

The Worst Hotel Experience!!!!!

The room was the size of a cracker box, literally the worst I have ever stayed in. When I asked for a bigger room as it was maybe 12 X 20 [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Dec 17, 2009

Christmas wonderland

My only complaint was the lousy weather. It rained almost all the time I was there. New Orleans has changed a bit since Katrina. There wasn't any Zydeco bands playing on Bourbon Street and far too many strip joints. The food is still good but not quite as good. The hotel was first-rate and decorated to the hilt for the holidays as was the French Quarter. I took public transportation from the airport which took me about an hour to get to the hotel but I saved about $45. The beds have firm matresses but the goose-down pillows were exquisite. I also received a room upgrade when I arrived. GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, NH
Nov 19, 2009

Nice place!

Everything went smoothly from and easy check in, restful nights sleep, and an even easier check out. The view overlooking the courtyard was beautiful, along with the view from the 7th floor patio area. Magnificent views of New Orleans. I attended a conference at the hotel as well and all staff catering the event were polite and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chartreus (spelling?) House Cafe had delicious food, great drinks, and a cozy fire!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Nov 4, 2009

Great hotel, great location

We traveled for our anniversary, and were very pleased with the Omni. The hotel was lovely, the staff helpful, and the location great. We'd definitely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Back in New Orleans
Business
Atlanta Georgia
Oct 24, 2009

Nice hotel, great location

They put me in a room by the elevators - so noisy I couldn't sleep most of the night. BUT they moved me the next day - no questions - and it was quiet. Great staff. Nice hotel. Great location. I'd stay there again if I could specify a room away from the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennan's was right around the corner. Bourbon street one block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Independence, Kansas
Oct 2, 2009

Omni Royal Stay in New Orleans

The Omni Royal of New Orleans is a wonderful hotel, centrally located to all my favorite places in the French Quarter. It is just 2 1/2 blocks away from Jackson Square, and many, many of my favorite restaurants. I walked everywhere! The roof top pool and fitness center was a real bonsus as was the business center down by the Rib Room. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly. On top of that it is a very elegant hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Sep 26, 2009

this was a wonderfully hotel

visited the frinch quarters it was great place to stay the prices were high at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top