$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, 621 St. Louis St., New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Great hotel

The hotel is great, perfect location! In the center of the French Quarter. Quiet and clean. See full review

  • WEAL
  • Nov 30, 2014
November stay

We had a great time at the Omni in New Orleans! Really no complaints, but if I had to pick, we... See full review

  • tttttcccccc
  • Nov 25, 2014
From the exquisite, Victorian-style ironwork outside, to the flower-decked terraces of the rooftop pool, the Omni Royal Orleans brings its own mix of old and new to the Big Easy. This stately property rises seven stories above the French Quarter, and features French-style rotisserie dining at the Rib Room, while guests can finish off the evening sipping a Sazerac at the adjoining piano bar. Executive writing desks in the 19th century rooms make business a pleasure here, along with the high-speed Wi-Fi in the lobby (fees may apply), and the traditional on-site barber shop and shoeshine service beckon with Southern hospitality.
Key facts
  • 346 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Rib Room, Touche Bar and La Rivieria
  • Rib Room Bar
  • Pool
  • 14,000-square-feet of conference and event space: accommodating up to 415 guests
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center and 17 meeting rooms
  • Childcare services
  • Pets allowed (under 25 pounds, subject to hotel policy and possible fees)
  • Salon and traditional barber shop
  • Shoeshine service
  • 24-hour in-room dining
Neighborhood
Gracing the intersection of St. Louis and Chartres Streets, this regal hotel is one of the finest in the Vieux Carre. Admire the French Quarter's Creole townhouses and Shotgun-style porches as you stroll around the corner to explore the antique shops lining Royal Street. Catch a romantic horse-drawn carriage and circle Jackson Square, snack on beignets along the banks of the Mississippi, visit the breathtaking St. Louis Cathedral, or browse local treasures at the Old French Market.
Hints and tips
Guests can receive coupons for nearby attractions and restaurants at the Jean Lafitte French Quarter Visitor Center. If you're taking the leisurely route, a streetcar will show you all the sights, but business users may want to pick up the pace with a taxi, checking out Rousso's Market for quick eats on the go.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seasonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCAtravels
Birmingham, AL
Aug 7, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans is always my first choice in NOLA

Great hotel. Great location. Great service. I'm hesitant to say this as I prefer them not to be full when I call at the last minute, but they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EAT is a tiny establishment that offered the best food that we had during our recent visit. Good Service, food, pricing, and byo wine. (No Liquor License) No cork fee for first bottle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D-Lovebird
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 28, 2010

1 year Anniversary

The hotel was in a great location! Walking distance to everything! Quaint and very cozy hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Lok forward to our next trip to NO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out restaurant.com GREAT certificates for many restaurants in New Orleans! Also do the VIP CITY TOUR! great tour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Horrible
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 2, 2010

Great Location

Had a great time staying here. The staff is friendly, the room was quite nice, and the view from the observation deck is fantastic. Moreover, it was very close to Bourbon street, close enough that you could take a quick break, stop in the hotel, and be back out before anyone has finished their drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gdavies
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Birthday celebration in New Orleans

The location of the hotel was excellent. We spent more time at the roof top pool than we expected. Beautiful setting which made for a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parent Escape
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Aug 21, 2010

Parents Great Escape!

Check-in was a breeze! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is fabulous and the room was very clean! On the flip-side, the room is small-but most of our time was spent out and about. The worst thing I can say about this hotel is DONT ORDER ANY FOOD! We ordered lunch and dessert one afternoon and we definitely regretted it! The food was at first site not very appealing, but we were so hungry we got passed the looks and bit into the driest and overcooked food ever. We were looking forward to dessert, but the chocolate moouse was more like stale pudding--YUCK! Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but the kitchen could use some work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunshine daydream
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Aug 7, 2010

Hotel on the corner of everything

We arrived at 4:00am due to problems with our flight and were pleasently surprised to be greeted by the courteous doorman and front desk clerk. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, even at that time in the morning, although it is New Orleans after all! We stayed for 4 days and throughly enjoyed every minute of our trip. The rooftop pool is awesome. Bourbon Street was one street over, but when back at our hotel, we couldn't hear anything. Wonderful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Court of the Two Sisters is just up the block from the hotel, an easy walk, and provides a wonderful patio dining experience along with a french creole menu that is to die for and it won't break the bank. My husband and i went back twice, just for the bread pudding and the "puppy drum" fish entree...yummm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jul 14, 2010

A Pleasure...

The staff were superb, which made up for the tiny room. When I initially made the reservations, I thought I would be traveling by myself, so I chose the Queen petite (they weren't kidding when they said petite) Unfortunately, I wasn't able to upgrade the room when my mother joined me on this trip. We made do. A few negetives.....VERY EXPENSIVE parking! I paid more for the parking than for the car (parking 32.00 per night_)Expensive internet (9.95 per night)Shopping tip....do your suvveneir shopping at the French Market....much cheaper than the items located within the stores of the french quarter. The doors of the closet were broken. Maintanence came to fix them, but they broke again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The aroma of freshly ground coffee and fresh herbs float through the aisles of the historic French Market, located at the foot of the French Quarter. This wonderful open air market is reminiscent of the European markets so loved by locals and tourists. It is also the perfect package of shopping, dining and music with an Old World ambience. New Orleans' French Market has existed in this French Quarter site since 1791 and has remained true to its authentic mission for 200 years. It is America's oldest public market and to this day plays an important role in the local economy. Walk up and down the five blocks of specialty retail shops (a great place to find that one-of-a-kind souvenir for the folks back home) and a community flea market showcasing locally made jewelry, clothing and artifacts. Look for the local farmers selling the freshest fruits, vegetables and Creole herbs and spices. In the late spring and summer, bring home some succulent Creole tomatoes, a true delight! Located on the edge of the market is Café du Monde, a world renowned outdoor restaurant featuring café au lait (piping hot coffee with steamed milk) and beignets (hot, square donuts topped with powdered sugar). There are casual restaurants for lighter fare and fine dining available at Bella Luna Restaurant, Tujaque's and others. Please note: many restaurants have public restrooms, but most reserve them for paying customers. Public restrooms are located in the outdoor community flea market and on Decatur Street at the French Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 12, 2010

Great location

If you book through a budget website, you get the budget room. Very small. OK for a single even too small for a couple. Staff friendly. Pool great. Service good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, California
Jun 30, 2010

Cramped Quarters!

The staff at the Omni was great! I should have paid more attention to the word "PETITE" in the room description. The room was VERY small. The bathroom had a pedestal sink and NO PLACE to set anything! I would not stay there again for that reason alone. For 2 people - you need more room!!! No place to leave an open suitcase either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galveston, Tx
Jun 29, 2010

Perfect!

Everything from check in to check out was perfect. Super friendly and very professional staff. The location was perfect, close enough to Bourbon Street to enjoy but far enough to leave it behind at the end of the night! Right in the middle of everything, but still quiet and peaceful in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from the hotel is the Oceana (sp)Grill. Ask for specific directions, it is worth the short walk. Excellent FRESH seafood. No shortages and very reasonably priced. So many places to choose from, just ask the bellmen.....they will not steer you wrong!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grrrls
Business
Sonoma, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Gorgeous hotel, but noisy...

This was a gorgeous hotel in a great location. The staff was top-notch! Really our only complaint is that the walls are super thin and you can hear EVERYTHING - we heard everything from the drunks in the hallway at night trying to find their room to the maids knocking on every door in the morning for room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NOLA's and K-Paul's are just a block away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top