$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Omni Royal Orleans

4 stars
621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Excellent hotel

Very well run with a great staff. Queen size deluxe ro was very nice but the rooms in general are... See full review

  • Ready for more
  • Apr 5, 2014
Location location location

Stayed at the Omni for 3 nights and could not have been happier with it. The location is perfect,... See full review

  • Henny8
  • Mar 23, 2014
Luxury hotel with fashionable French Quarter address
The Omni Royal Orleans is an award-winning hotel that dates back to the 1800s when the city's first European-style Creole hotel opened on the site. Today, an elegant marble lobby lit by crystal chandeliers sets the tone for gracious accommodations. Richly appointed rooms and a posh restaurant draw appreciating crowds. Special touches such as a complimentary shoeshine and old fashioned barber shop take it a notch above.            
Highlights
  • Complimentary shoeshine
  • Old fashioned barber shop
  • The Sensational Kids program provides books and games and a backpack of goodies upon check-in for youngsters
  • Complimentary rooftop fitness center with state of the art equipment and outdoor pool and terrace
Rooms

Each of the 346 rooms and suites is decorated in a 19th century French style and offers a full complement of amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, fully stocked refreshment center, robes, hair dryer, flat-screen TV with pay-per-view movies and Nintendo 64 video games, in-room safe, complimentary Wi-Fi, three dual-line speakerphones with voicemail.  Some rooms and all suites have balconies.  Suites include sofa beds, extra living space, and some include Jacuzzis, wet bars and other extras.

Features

The award-winning Rib Room, known for its French rotisserie, mesquite grill and wine list, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Local antique dealers are known to hang at the Rib Room bar, famous for its washbucket martini -- a large drink mixed tableside by a hostess. Touché bar with an entrance on Royal Street serves light bites and cocktails for lunch and dinner. The seasonal La Riviera serves continental breakfast, light lunch and a poolside daiquiri.  Room service is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is available (fees apply). There is a rooftop fitness center and a rooftop outdoor heated pool and observation deck with views of the French Quarter and the Mississippi River.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • St. Louis Cathedral
Business
  • Pinnacle-award winner for meeting services 10 years running
  • 17 flexible meeting rooms for more than 400
  • In-house AV staff and equipment
  • Free Wi-Fi in public spaces and guest rooms for Select Guest members

Omni Royal Orleans Rooms

Petite Room 1 Queen
Petite Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 108 sq ft. Some feature a limited view of the courtyard.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents. Some feature limited view of the courtyard.
Premier Room with a View 1 King
Premier Room with a View 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room 2 Doubles
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 150 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole accents as well as a view of St. Louis or Royal street.
Premier Room with Balcony 1 King
Premier Room with a Balcony 1 King Bed. Approx. 150 sq ft. Balcony overlooking St. Louis or Royal St. Located on 2nd or 4th floors.
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen
Deluxe Room with Balcony 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 125 sq ft. Featuring French and Creole Accents. Exterior room facing the front St. Louis Street.
Deluxe Rm 2 Doubles with Balcony
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds with Balcony. Featuring French and Creole accents. Exterior rooms facing the front St. Louis Street.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 300 sq ft. Corner room with living room. Door separates living room from bedroom. Features coffee table and queen sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Royal Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9559 -90.0655
Area served
New Orleans City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.2 mi

Dining

Rib Room
Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award the Rib Room serves prime rib and other beef specialties plus fowl and seafood prepared on giant French rotisseries and mesquite grills. Open daily 630am-1030am plus 1130am-2pm and 6pm-10pm. Open Sundays 1130am-230pm for brunch.
Rib Room Bar
The Rib Room Bar has become famous as the home of the Washbucket Martini and is a favorite with local antique dealers and celebrities as well as politicians and tourists alike. Open daily 1130am-10pm.
Touche Bar
With its entrance just off Royal Street which has many antique stores and galleries the Touche Bar has been serving locals and tourists in a relaxed setting. The best Mint Juleps in New Orleans are served here plus light meals including salads sandwiches and light entrees. Open daily 11am-Midnight.
La Riviera Poolside Service Seaonal
This delightful poolside oasis is open daily from April through October 1130am-6pm hours and offers a light menu and features its famous frozen daiquiris. La Riviera offers a spectacular view of the city and the Mississippi River.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Royal Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
JulSan19
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2013

Fell in love on our first visit

This was our first time in New Orleans and we fell in love immediately. This hotel was absolutely stunning. I travel a lot for business and the bed/pillows were one of the most comfortable compared to the many hotels I've stayed in. The hotel had all of the best amenities as well. The staff was extremely helpful and always courteous. The location was perfectly central to everything. My fiancé and I will definitely be staying here again when we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

3
ASAA
Tenafly, NJ
Apr 16, 2014

Great location in French (noisy) Quarters

It's a great hotel that's in a great spot in the heart of French Quarters where everything is within walking distance. The lobby is clean and impressive, and the rooms are recently renovated. Good mattresses and pillows. But it is also a VERY noisy place to be. Always something going on. Music, people up and down - very loud at times - and cleaning trucks that come at 5am for local restaurants that wake you up suddenly. Also the ventilation system makes a lot of noise that resonates in the rooms. The hotel restaurant is average at best as is the bar. Of course, some people say that you don't go to NOLA to rest. True. So, it's a mixed bag. Next time, I wouldn't stay in the heart of French Quarters for sure. Overall, not a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
SparkR
Rockford, IL
Apr 5, 2014

Fun in New Orleans

Great location, far enough from Bourbon St to get a good night sleep. Great roof-top outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill is a great place for breakfast - most efficient layout and good food.

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Ready for more
New York
Apr 5, 2014

Excellent hotel

Very well run with a great staff. Queen size deluxe ro was very nice but the rooms in general are small which seems true for many of the old hotels. Great restaurant and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling to various parts if city use a cab to save time. Street cars/buses work great but move slow.

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Windhounds
Northern Illinois (not Chicago)
Mar 30, 2014

A week in the French Quarter

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel (Sun-Fri) to celebrate her 40th birthday. It was our first trip to NOLA. The best thing this hotel has going for it is that it is centrally located in the French Quarter. It's a block off of Bourbon St and two blocks off of Decatur. We didn't rent a car and walked everywhere - which is how we came to appreciate the hotels location. The hotel staff was very friendly and the concierge helped us set up several tours. We had a balcony room, and enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching people walk by. That also made the room noisier at night with the traffic, people, and construction in the area. The room itself wasn't anything special and the bathroom, while adequate was a little small. We did use the heated rooftop pool one day and it appears to be saltwater. It was clean and well maintained. I did feel like the hotel tried to nickel and dime us a bit - there was bottled water in the room - for $7. The new-release movies were $17, though they did have some value movies for $5. We purchased liters of water across the street at a liquor store for $1.50, but were unable to store them in the refrigerator because it was stocked as a mini-bar and had a break seal that we left intact. We kept our purchased water cold in the ice bucket. This was not an inexpensive hotel room, but seemed to be one of the nicer hotels in the French Quarter. Without any other French Quarter hotel experiences, I'd recommend it for its location, cleanliness, and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In general, food is great everywhere - seafood and local cuisine are excellent. Our favorites were Oceana and Gumbo Pot. Bourbon street was a bit of a disappointment and had a 3rd world Las Vegas feel to it. Rita's Tequila House was a nice find on Bourbon street though. We wanted a break from the local cuisine and they serve great Mexican food that was a little different than we're used to back home, and make a decent margarita. We had dinner and a few drinks there one night and then went back two days later to spend the afternoon drinking margaritas - YUM!

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Young Couple on Vaca
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2014

Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great--just a very short walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, etc. The rooftop pool and view were also a great plus. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Henny8
New Jersey
Mar 23, 2014

Location location location

Stayed at the Omni for 3 nights and could not have been happier with it. The location is perfect, Rib room very good. Join the select club for free wifi plus well worth getting a room with a balcony to hear the jazz coming up from the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up to Select guest program for free wifi

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
ian m
minneapolis, mn
Mar 22, 2014

the perfect vacation

From the moment we arrived we were greated by the friendly staff. The room was amazing as wellvas the roof top pool and bar. As for location it could not gwt any better will stay again on our next trip to new orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchmans street is the best for live music everynight

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

5
timmytime2
Las Vegas
Mar 19, 2014

Impeccable Historic Hotel in the middle of everything

Wonderful! Very convenient location and helpful, friendly staff plus pet friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Cavtroop92
Dallas, TX
Mar 13, 2014

Great family getaway in the heart of French quarter

Clean, safe and walking distance to everything. This hotel is outstanding. Couldn't find a more convenient location,better amenities (including heated rooftop pool which was a big hit for kids), and helpful staff. We've stayed at at least 4 other hotels in/around New Orleans, but will always return to Omni Royal Orleans from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try SouBou just a few blocks away from hotel on Rue Chartres. Superb food and ambiance!

Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Cricket and Mandy
Dallas, Texas
Mar 13, 2014

Perfect Weekend Getaway

Staying at the Omni Royal was such a wonderful experience. The staff was awesome, the room was more than we had expected, the Rib Room was phenomenal. We will be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top