O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

2 stars
334 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
149 reviews
Packers -vs- Saints game

Great location for what we wanted to do. Friendly staff. Overall, a good experience. See full review

  • beergirl57
  • Oct 29, 2014
Great location -good hotel

We stayed five nights. The location is great . All high rise buildings around and five star hotels... See full review

  • PANC4
  • Aug 20, 2013
A New Orleans hotel near many attractions for the budget traveler

The O'Keefe Plaza Hotel appeals to the budget traveler. The six-floor hotel in the central business district was built in 1999. The O'Keefe Plaza Hotel has on-site parking (fees apply). Guests have access to free breakfast and wireless Internet access. The hotel is three blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter.

Highlights
  • Affordable hotel within walking distance to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter
  • Outdoor swimming pool and patio
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi

 

Rooms

All 129 guestrooms feature free wireless Internet access. There are 129 contemporary rooms with queen, king or double size beds. Guests can request adjoining rooms. The first to fourth floors are smoke-free. An exercise room is available with TVs. There is no on-site restaurant, but vending machines are located on each floor.

Features

Guests enjoy the convenience of tour and airport shuttles daily from the front entrance. Many highly rated restaurants are located close by such as P & G Restaurant & Bar for shrimp po'boy sandwiches and Mila for haute Southern cuisine.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Train Terminal (3 minutes)
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (5 minutes)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (17 minutes)
Attractions
  • Bourbon Street (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • French Quarter (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Saenger Theater (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Woldenberg Riverfront Park (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
Business
  • Two rooms are available for group meetings of up to 250
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in rooms and public spaces

Hotel Map

29.9521 -90.0738
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport.
Area description
Okeefe Plaza hotel has proximity to Louisiana Superdome, Morial Convention Center, Riverwalk and French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Keefe Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

O'Keefe Plaza Hotel Rooms

Double
This room offers two double beds with cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryer, coffeemaker and iron / ironing board.
Queen
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryer, coffeemaker and iron / ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.4 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.4 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beergirl57
Business
Marquette, MI
Oct 29, 2014

Packers -vs- Saints game

Great location for what we wanted to do. Friendly staff. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourbon street and the SuperDome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.Hutch
Business
Washington
Sep 15, 2014

My Stay

Nice room but needs a little repair. The pocket door the bathroom was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany f
Business
mobile Alabama
Jun 30, 2014

better then expected. ..

It was close to everything. I thought it was gonna be bad. It was not at all. The room was small but nice. They were clean. Bed was better then expected. I was pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Timer in Big Easy
Business
California
Mar 31, 2014

Good Location at a great place

We were looking for a place to spend the night after a Friday night on Bourbon Street. This place was the cheapest by far within walking distance (about 10min walk to heart of French Quarter). Other than that do not expect much. $25 to park at hotel, cheaper around, but it was pouring down rain, so we did it. Beds/mattresses are old, room was a weird smell. Cross of cleaning supplies, air-fresheners and a place that use to allow smoking. Overall it did what we wanted, a place to crash, so if you are only sleeping mainly from after a night of partying I would recommend this place to save money, if you want some place in the area nice, pay the extra $75ish a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Photomaan
Business
Texas
Mar 17, 2014

AVERAGE CAN BE GOOD

This was my first stay at this hotel. And I would return. But a few issues were noted: 1)no microwave in room as promised 2)no paper or ink for printer in business center 3)needed my cell as I checked out pool at 5:00 PM and was locked out 4)no instant oatmeal packets, but had hot water for tea 5)hard to find a Do Not Disturb tag 6)Could not extend my stay for four hours as their system was down, and then the clerk was not well trained on how to keep me in the same room as had been promised 7)felt safe with security, but panhandlers were out at night In general the employees were helpful, had a good selection of pastries in the morning & had full temperature control in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hammo12
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 3, 2014

Location is ok, hotel is average

We stayed during Mardi Gras so expected it to cost more than usual. The location was pretty good, only a few blocks to Canal St to watch the parade. The room was ok, fairly clean. The bathroom is tiny and the shower doesn't have much water pressure. The pillows are hard and uncomfortable so if you can bring your own. We had a do no disturb sign on our door (as we were sleeping) and still had housekeeping knock on the door asking if we wanted room service that day. I said no and that we had the do not disturb sign on the door and she said she still needed to ask. If guests have a do not disturb sign on their door then I think it's their decision not to have house keeping come through! When we checked out I asked for a receipt for the parking and the lady said she couldn't give me one. There were room keys all over the counter which looked unprofessional and I as I was checking out she yelled out over the counter to another staff member if they do laundry. It was rude. The breakfast is average but edible if you don't want to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Florida State U Julia
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 10, 2014

Great location, subpar hotel

Perfect location if you are going to spend your time walking around the city. Parking is $25.00 a day. The room itself was non-smoking but smelled of cigarettes, the mattress was springy, the blankets were uncomfortable, and the bathroom door was off its track and would not close at all. It's fine if you aren't going to be spending much time in the room, but only becauae of its convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Group of 4 Girls
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jan 22, 2014

I'd recommend trying another hotel

The hotel overall was ok but that's me just being polite. Some staff was friendly and others weren't. The building was clean. The pillows SUCKED therefore no one got good sleep. The breakfast is nice however if you are running late and want to take something with you don't even think about it. And because check out is at 11 there was a small hangout period in the lobby for the shuttle and the manager seemed annoyed at that even though we had just spent 3 nights there. Also other people staying at the hotel kept us up from noise one night past 2am and we were unable to get a hold of anyone to do something about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZStew
Business
Castro Valley,California
Jan 21, 2014

2 night stay at an Ok hotel

Room and bathroom small, no closet and had old cigarette smell. Included breakfast had eggs, waffle maker and then the usual cereal, pastries etc. Didn't stay in the room much for this short trip. Best part about this hotel was its Great location, within walking distance to bourbon,canal and superdome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melvoria
Business
ms.
Dec 31, 2013

misunderstood

Hotel had roaches charging quest 25.00 to park did not have a hood breakfast and not enough kitchen space for quests would never recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top