$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Pre-cruise visit.

The room and hotel was great. Best of all was the staff, they were all very helpful. Also let you... See full review

  • FayWJudyT
  • Sep 14, 2013
Experience the excitement of the Crescent City at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. Our riverfront hotel in downtown New Orleans, housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, offers over 300 spacious rooms and suites, with lavish extras like plush bathrobes. Break a sweat in our modern fitness center, fuel up at the hotel's Starbucks Coffee, boost your productivity in our business center, and relax in the rooftop swimming pool. Savor delicious regional Creole cuisine at Wolfes in the Warehouse, or unwind in the hotel Wine Bar with a cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, our hotel near the convention center is ideal for events of any size. Our hotel also benefits from an excellent location in the vibrant Arts District, near top New Orleans attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino, Cruise Port and more. Plan your stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, and enjoy impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere.

Hotel Map

29.9434 -90.0645
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1.2 mi
  • Storyville: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.7 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
Starbucks®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 139
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GGRREEAATT HHOOTTEELL
Shreveport, LA
Apr 14, 2014

Great hotel for the price and location

This is a very nice and clean hotel. The staff were friendly and did their best to accommodate our party. This is a great hotel for the price and location. It may not be right by the french quarter and/or bourbon street, but its only a 5-10 min walk away. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayou Classic getaway
New Orleans, Louisiana
Dec 2, 2013

Great time in the Crescent City

I had a very nice stay and time at this hotel. It is in a really good location, close enough to everything, but removed enough as well. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess1234
CT
Sep 4, 2013

friend getaway

Great hotel. Very, very clean. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Only wish was that wifi was free. Otherwise awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrackstarChi
Orlando, Fl
Jul 6, 2012

Great experience!

The hotel is in an ideal location. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel was very clean, the doorman were great, friendly and helpful. They always answered questions about local restaurants and gave great directions. The street car stop was close to hotel and make sure you buy a ticket for all day use of the street cars. Everything was in walking distance if you wanted to walk. The hotel food and service was great and nearby restaurants like Mulates and Gordan & Biersch was in walking distance! I will stay here again and again!! Montrel,s was a great place for breakfast and lunch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mulates, Gordan& Biersch, and Montrel's

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kellroy
Marked Tree, AR, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Mardi Gras Experience

Clean, bright, well staffed, very good food, quiet. Be aware of what is referred to as "incidentals". Upon checking out, be SURE to review your final charges. this will include any prepaid receipts as well as incidentals. My arrangements with the hotel (via travel agency) was lodging for 4 nights(4 mornings) with breakfasts INCLUDED. The final bill (incidentals) charged me with 2 breakfasts that were already included. They promptly adjusted the charges. Now, watch your bank or credit card statements to be certain that ANY adjustments made are reflected accordingly. Otherwise, 4 Star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do some research before traveling. Investigate things like where to park (if you drive) and fees for parking. If you don't drive, check all other modes of travel. Also, if not driving yourself, check out public transportation (trolley cars, city buses). Ask about cab fares. Some places have flat rate fees. That means NO METERS. Check out attractions and tours near your hotel. You could walk and enjoy some sites along the way. Walking within a few blocks of your hotel can give you wonderful ideas to explore without having to depend on transportation whether yours or theirs. That means FREE. Some planning is required, of course, but spontaneous activities are as much fun as anything you may plan. Be flexible and take in as much as you have time for or as much as you can afford. You could be amazed how much you can do with minimal expense. The final advice here is...HAVE FUN!!!!!!!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Mar 31, 2011

Location, Location, Location

This was a pleasure trip; My sister and I enjoyed the location of the hotel because it was accessible for local walking to the River Walkway, that was packed with shopping,food courts and Harrah's gaming. The two hour tour allowed us to become acquainted with the sights and sounds of N'awlin-Bourbon St., Market shopping, tasting of delicious food. It was disappointing to observe that local jazz clubs and musicians were disappearing or unavailable particularly in Harrah's Casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss dining for breakfast or lunch at St. Charles Tavern; Catfish is particularly good.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trying to enjoy the sights
New York, NY
Jan 11, 2011

Nice but lacking in excitement

I traveled with friends to tour the city. We are all young so we wanted to have a fun time. This hotel was out of the way from much of the touristy things. The hotel helped us plan our trip to the bayou which was nice. I wish there was better options for food around the hotel because the Starbucks closed at 3:00pm and there wasn't much else near the hotel. Also, we ordered a fridge and it NEVER came. That was very frustrating. I imagine this hotel is good for people traveling strictly for business and to the Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchman Street instead of sticking to Bourbon!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trying to enjoy the sights
New York, NY
Jan 11, 2011

Nice but lacking in excitement

I traveled with friends to tour the city. We are all young so we wanted to have a fun time. This hotel was out of the way from much of the touristy things. The hotel helped us plan our trip to the bayou which was nice. I wish there was better options for food around the hotel because the Starbucks closed at 3:00pm and there wasn't much else near the hotel. Also, we ordered a fridge and it NEVER came. That was very frustrating. I imagine this hotel is good for people traveling strictly for business and to the Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchman Street instead of sticking to Bourbon!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anasesa
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 15, 2010

Good stay with almost no gliches.

The hotel was a great location for the price. It was close enough to the quarter and a fraction of the cost. I would not recommend it to someone whose health doesnt enable them to walk a few miles a day because it was about a mile to our destinations, but the walk was necessary to work out some of that decadent food that NOLA hast to offer. My only complaints were that the pool was small & wasnt designed to get much sun in the afternoon. Also, there was a snafu with the check out time that [...] advertised. Marriot did waive the fees, but only after I insisted. Unfortunately, I had to be a little ugly in my assertion. Just make sure to verify all the details before hand. Despite the few issues I had, I would def stay again. Hopefully, next time, if Im proactive in confirming everything, all will go over without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The best thing about this [...] deal was that Valet parking was included in the price. Parking costs as much as 50 bucks a day near the quarter. So, for a three day weekend, the only thing i paid was tipping the valet to come and go as I pleased.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anasesa
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 15, 2010

Good stay with almost no gliches.

The hotel was a great location for the price. It was close enough to the quarter and a fraction of the cost. I would not recommend it to someone whose health doesnt enable them to walk a few miles a day because it was about a mile to our destinations, but the walk was necessary to work out some of that decadent food that NOLA hast to offer. My only complaints were that the pool was small & wasnt designed to get much sun in the afternoon. Also, there was a snafu with the check out time that [...] advertised. Marriot did waive the fees, but only after I insisted. Unfortunately, I had to be a little ugly in my assertion. Just make sure to verify all the details before hand. Despite the few issues I had, I would def stay again. Hopefully, next time, if Im proactive in confirming everything, all will go over without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The best thing about this [...] deal was that Valet parking was included in the price. Parking costs as much as 50 bucks a day near the quarter. So, for a three day weekend, the only thing i paid was tipping the valet to come and go as I pleased.

Back to menu Return to top