$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 18, 2015

New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
View map of 859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Pre-cruise visit.

The room and hotel was great. Best of all was the staff, they were all very helpful. Also let you... See full review

  • FayWJudyT
  • Sep 14, 2013
Experience the excitement of the Crescent City at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. Our riverfront hotel in downtown New Orleans, housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, offers over 300 spacious rooms and suites, with lavish extras like plush bathrobes. Break a sweat in our modern fitness center, fuel up at the hotel's Starbucks Coffee, boost your productivity in our business center, and relax in the rooftop swimming pool. Savor delicious regional Creole cuisine at Wolfes in the Warehouse, or unwind in the hotel Wine Bar with a cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, our hotel near the convention center is ideal for events of any size. Our hotel also benefits from an excellent location in the vibrant Arts District, near top New Orleans attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino, Cruise Port and more. Plan your stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, and enjoy impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
Starbucks®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knightortho
Business
Louisville
May 4, 2014

Perfect location for access to Convention Center.

The hotel was in a great location across from the NO convention center. My room was clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irieman
Business
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
Jul 15, 2013

Outstanding experience

We had a wonderful time and stay at the Marriott. The only thing we would have done different is not rent a car because everything was in walking distance and we did not even drive the car once until it was time to return it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car you won't need it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crisnavas
Business
Kennett Sq PA
Jun 3, 2012

Perfect if going to convention Center

Perfect if going to convention Center. 5 min in cab to french quarter. Nice overall. Good breakfast. Very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Frenchmen Street bars. Good jazz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, Al
Apr 21, 2011

Great location, good value for the money

Great location, rented two rooms for family while on business. Walking distance to most must see locations. The only downside is you need to be prepared to shell out $30 bucks for parking at the hotel. They don't mention this in the rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Coop's Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.C.
Apr 11, 2011

Nice location, great service & comfy

Overall a very comfortable stay, with excellent concierge, front desk, house keeping, and room service. The gumbo at the hotel restaurant was just ok, but the seafood pasta I ordered room service was divine. Front desk was very helpful during my stay, except for one (i guess) tired guy at 2 in the morning. Location wise this hotel is a 25 min walk from downtown, but its a nice walk.. so no issues. The 4 star rating is a reflection of the look and feel of a generic hotel chain, not of the staff or service which was 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Mar 30, 2011

Very Convenient

The staff were all very helpful. The room was ok, not spectacular, but fine enough. The only thing I didn't like was that the cleaning staff always tried to come when I was in the room. Not durning the several hours durning the day which I was out of the room. The hotel is directly across the street from the Convention Center (Hall A). However, the convention center is VERY large and you may end up walking a long ways to reach your destination within the center. Hall F is pretty far down:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Before the trip, I thought Bourbon St. might be too far to walk, but I was wrong. I walked there and back to the hotel six nights straight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Dec 14, 2010

Closest lodging to the Convention Center

This beautiful hotel, directly across the street from the entrance to the Murial Center, is the perfect place to stay if you are in town for a conference. Everything was sparkling clean and the bedding is sumptuous and cozy. The French Quarter isn't close, but we still walked to and from on two different nights. The price was lower than other hotels, but the convenience of being able to relax in your room during breaks made this the best choice in town for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waverly, Ohio
May 10, 2010

The stay at the Marriott New Orleans.

The staff and the hotel itself was great! The staff was very helpful, I wanted to get a later flight out the next day and they found all the information I needed. The rooms were clean and the beds were terrific! I walked everywhere, the Harrahs Casino is a 5 minute walk, Bourbon Street is a 15 minute walk and there are so many people I felt safe. The locals are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment was close enough to walk but be in shape! I didn't mind saving money and walking, and its a nice view, Riverwalk is right there and there are restaurants there, the Mississippi Canal is nice and just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddboy from northeast
Business
philadelphia, PA
Mar 26, 2010

Convenient clean and very good stay

very good location and freindly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Mar 10, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top