$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Pre-cruise visit.

The room and hotel was great. Best of all was the staff, they were all very helpful. Also let you... See full review

  • FayWJudyT
  • Sep 14, 2013
Experience the excitement of the Crescent City at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. Our riverfront hotel in downtown New Orleans, housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, offers over 300 spacious rooms and suites, with lavish extras like plush bathrobes. Break a sweat in our modern fitness center, fuel up at the hotel's Starbucks Coffee, boost your productivity in our business center, and relax in the rooftop swimming pool. Savor delicious regional Creole cuisine at Wolfes in the Warehouse, or unwind in the hotel Wine Bar with a cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, our hotel near the convention center is ideal for events of any size. Our hotel also benefits from an excellent location in the vibrant Arts District, near top New Orleans attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino, Cruise Port and more. Plan your stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, and enjoy impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.9434 -90.0645
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1.2 mi
  • Storyville: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.7 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
Starbucks®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Dec 27, 2010

New Orleans Marriott at the Convention C

very bad experience. Except two staff members every one else is so uncooperative and discourteous. One of the worst experiences of staying in a hotel. Beds are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Isle was great. Food was good and pecan pie with ice cream is one of the best we ever had

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Dec 27, 2010

New Orleans Marriott at the Convention C

very bad experience. Except two staff members every one else is so uncooperative and discourteous. One of the worst experiences of staying in a hotel. Beds are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Isle was great. Food was good and pecan pie with ice cream is one of the best we ever had

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
richmond,va
Feb 21, 2010

last minute choice

amenities not good at all, no microwave or refrigerator in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Divine at
Springfield. La
Mar 5, 2014

Weekend getaway

Not impressed with the rooms. The carpets were filthy . We only noticed it when we walked into the bathroom and turned the floors BLACK. I am use to a fridge in the room also. Even a Laquinta at 100.00 a night has a fridge. At 350.00 this hotel only has a coffee pot. Sorry I will try and find another hotel for next years ball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Not a problem about 6 short blocks

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile,Al.
Dec 19, 2010

Hotel Stay

Had a hard time with the front desk,they didn't have in there system the details of my stay so they made me prove that I had valet parking. It was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please, please, please for your sake and enjoyment eat at Stanley's!!!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Northshore Shopper Moms
Southeast Louisiana
Nov 19, 2012

Not what was expected

We have stayed in Marriott Hotels worldwide . I have to say this was my least favorite. Phoned ahead to verify parking availability. When we arrived we had to hunt for our own parking then truck our bags from the lot. No fridge or mini bar in the room. No wifi. The room was clean and comfortable but that can be said for Other hotels in the area for a much better rate. Won't be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
richmond,va
Feb 21, 2010

last minute choice

amenities not good at all, no microwave or refrigerator in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile,Al.
Dec 19, 2010

Hotel Stay

Had a hard time with the front desk,they didn't have in there system the details of my stay so they made me prove that I had valet parking. It was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please, please, please for your sake and enjoyment eat at Stanley's!!!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Blue
Conroe Texas
Jun 19, 2009

Fair Price - Okay Location

The hotel has very expensive car parking - which was not noted when we booked our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Not on the French Quarter - about a 20 minute brisk walk to get there.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 1, 2010

Good hotel but poor service.

The room was nice and clean. The location is ok, not very close to the French Quarter but enough to enjoy a healthy walk. The staff is not friendly at all and the service kind of poor. Just the guys at the valet parking were very nice and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top