$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Pre-cruise visit.

The room and hotel was great. Best of all was the staff, they were all very helpful. Also let you... See full review

  • FayWJudyT
  • Sep 14, 2013
Experience the excitement of the Crescent City at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. Our riverfront hotel in downtown New Orleans, housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, offers over 300 spacious rooms and suites, with lavish extras like plush bathrobes. Break a sweat in our modern fitness center, fuel up at the hotel's Starbucks Coffee, boost your productivity in our business center, and relax in the rooftop swimming pool. Savor delicious regional Creole cuisine at Wolfes in the Warehouse, or unwind in the hotel Wine Bar with a cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, our hotel near the convention center is ideal for events of any size. Our hotel also benefits from an excellent location in the vibrant Arts District, near top New Orleans attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino, Cruise Port and more. Plan your stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, and enjoy impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere.

Hotel Map

29.9434 -90.0645
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
Starbucks®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Sep 26, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

The bed was awesome, the location is just close to downtown, and it is quiet. Perfect for business or family tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, TX
Sep 14, 2009

Nice get away!

We arrived early (around 12:30), and were able to check in right away with no questions. The staff were all extremely polite & helpful other than one experience with a maintenance worker regarding the temperature of the jacuzzi. The room was spotless and very comfortable. It was a little further from the casino than I would have liked (it rained for most of the trip), but it was only a few blocks and not bad to walk when the rain let up. It is directly across from the Convention Center, so if you are there for a convention, this is definitely the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at Deanie's in the French quarter is only about a $7 cab fare, and the food was FANTASTIC and reasonable (our meal for two was under $50) with a beer & an appetizer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 8, 2009

great location excellent price

i visit NOLA a lot i have stayed in just about all the hotel there and there are some really scary one but this one was surprisingly good nice size rooms very clean nice workout room the location was perfect. plan another vist can guest where i'm staying loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley View, Texas
Aug 25, 2009

Great location for conventions

The hotel was nice and the staff very pleasant. Clean rooms. The Hot Tub was not hot and the water level was low(below the jets).The hotel was quiet because there were hardly anyone staying at it and there were no Conventions going on across the street.It would had been nice if there was a shuttle service to the French Quarters or Casino Area( I know that what Taxis are for)but with pay parking the way it is-it makes a trip to New Orleans very costly. The downtown hotels should banned together-have a shuttle every hour-to make a loop around.I would have spend more time patronizing the local shops and resturants-if I so was'nt tired from walking. Next time-I'll pick a hotel closer in. I enjoy my stay in New Orleans but a New Orleans vacation is not cost effect-in other vacation areas you can get more value for your dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boudreaux family
Business
Abbeville, LA
Aug 24, 2009

Not family oriented

Wonderful staff, not very family oriented tho. This is a business class hotel and for that i would give it five stars. We traveled as a family with 3 children, and felt as though we were out of our element.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

directly across from riverwalk marketplace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belgium
Aug 22, 2009

New Orleans Marriott at the Convention C

easy to find , quiet and near by city on walk distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Blue
Business
Conroe Texas
Jun 19, 2009

Fair Price - Okay Location

The hotel has very expensive car parking - which was not noted when we booked our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Not on the French Quarter - about a 20 minute brisk walk to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Central guy
Business
Boston, MA
May 28, 2009

Great Business Location

Fantastic location for Convention Center business, it can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
clinton, ms
May 25, 2009

weekend getaway

Our experience at The Marriott was very enjoyable. Our room was clean, quiet and well kept. We most enjoyed our visit to Wolfe's. Chef Terrance is fantastic! The grits were the best!! Our wait staff [...], was friendly and more than accomodating. We could eat at Wolfe's everyday! We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was in great distance to everything we wanted to see and do... Also, easy access from the interstate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alexandria,louisiana
May 25, 2009

family wekend getaway

nice location. everything in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top