New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
View map of 859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Great girls getway

We were extremely pleased with everything. Everyone was so helpful. See full review

  • Judy traveler
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Experience the excitement of the Crescent City at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. Our riverfront hotel in Downtown New Orleans is housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, and offers over 300 spacious rooms and suites with lavish extras like plush bathrobes. Break a sweat in our modern fitness center, fuel up with our Starbucks® Coffee, boost your productivity in our business center, or just relax in our rooftop pool. Savor delicious regional Creole cuisine at Wolfes in the Warehouse, or unwind in the hotel Wine Bar with a cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, our hotel near the New Orleans Convention Center is ideal for events of any size. Our hotel also benefits from an excellent location in the vibrant Arts District, near top New Orleans attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino, the Cruise Port and more. Plan your stay at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, and enjoy a welcoming atmosphere.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.9434 -90.0645
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant near the New Orleans Convention Center offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
Starbucks®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Texas
Jun 1, 2010

Good hotel but poor service.

The room was nice and clean. The location is ok, not very close to the French Quarter but enough to enjoy a healthy walk. The staff is not friendly at all and the service kind of poor. Just the guys at the valet parking were very nice and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bothell, Wa
Jun 1, 2010

Clean and Modern!!

This is my third time in New Orleans in the last five months and by far the best hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, Maryland
May 18, 2010

New Orleans 5/7/10

Very fun, Friendly and Relaxing yet close to everyting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Charlotte, NC
May 11, 2010

Good Stay

The rate at this hotel was a great value! The location was fantastic becauseit was across the street from the riverwalk and the casino was down the street. Emeril's was a few blocks away. The hotel is able to reserve any reservation for you. I wish the hotel staff provideda short list of things to do in the area upon check-in. Valet parking was a nice option, but don't expect to receive your car immediately. I would recommend this hotel! The hotel was very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was across the street from the riverwalk and the casino was down the street. Emerils was a short walk as well. The hotel was not far from other attractions/entertainment, so we heard. I would suggest this hotel to others!!!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vbfan2
Family
Milton, WI
Apr 7, 2010

Outstanding location for our tournament

This hotel had the perfect location for the convention center. We only had to walk across the street! It was not a bad walk to the other attractions of New Orleans, although a shuttle would have been nice to the French Quarter area at night. We had connecting rooms for our teenagers to stay in. This allowed us the opportunity to each have some privacy, yet keep close supervision. The teens took advantage of the outdoor hot tub, but were disappointed in the pool area. We did have to go to another hotel to do the laundry, but this hotel's staff was very helpful in locating one for us close by. The check in was excellent! They allowed for one room to check in a couple days earlier, yet made sure that we could still have the connecting room when we arrived two days later. It couldn't have worked out better! We would've liked wireless access in our room, but managed to find it on the first floor with Starbucks. The restaurant and bar was very pricey, which was also disappointing. The valet parking was a nice, but especially because it was added through our reservation through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Voodoo BBQ was awesome for the price and the food! It is off the beaten path, but accessible by picking up the trolley if you don't have a car.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCC10K 2010
Couples
Brandon, MS
Apr 3, 2010

Crescent City Classic 2010

We ran in the Cresent City Classic. It was perfect walking distance to the french quarter to warm up before the race. The hotel employees were the nicest I have ever seen and the rooms were great. Starbucks in lobby was ideal. The only down side was that there was a bar across the street from our room/window that had music playing loud. PARKING: If the valet is full, there is a garage 2 blocks down that charges $20 per 24 hours. I would rather park in that garage than valet park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close as you can get to boardwalk shopping center.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddboy from northeast
Business
philadelphia, PA
Mar 26, 2010

Convenient clean and very good stay

very good location and freindly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Mar 10, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
richmond,va
Feb 21, 2010

last minute choice

amenities not good at all, no microwave or refrigerator in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rye, NY
Jan 16, 2010

1st Time User-Beyond Expectations

Plush bedding, flat screen TV (but not HD), perfect wake up call system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top