New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Pre-cruise visit.

The room and hotel was great. Best of all was the staff, they were all very helpful. Also let you... See full review

  • FayWJudyT
  • Sep 14, 2013
Escape to an urban retreat in the heart of downtown New Orleans. The New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center promises a truly memorable experience, with over 300 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites and a range of amenities that will delight you. As soon as you set foot in our stunning hotel, located in a renovated cotton mill from the 19th century, you'll feel right at home; our staff will ensure that your experience here in downtown New Orleans is as comfortable as possible. In addition to our location near the Convention Center, we feature a fitness center and a rooftop swimming pool, as well as delectable Creole cuisine at Wolfe's in the Warehouse, our onsite restaurant. And of course, you have only to step out of our hotel door to be immersed in the excitement of downtown New Orleans; we place the French Quarter, the new upscale Riverwalk outlets, and other nearby attractions at your fingertips. Plan your visit to the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center today.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.9434 -90.0645
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
StarbucksĀ®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed StarbucksĀ® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La
Aug 24, 2010

"Awesome family getaway"

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. This is a 5star hotel and I would have to recommend the marriott convention center hotel to anyone that wants the special treatment at a hotel. The room service food is pricie, but it is very good... This was a perfect getaway for our family vacation...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They also have great shopping areas that's in driving distance that I would recommend.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anasesa
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 15, 2010

Good stay with almost no gliches.

The hotel was a great location for the price. It was close enough to the quarter and a fraction of the cost. I would not recommend it to someone whose health doesnt enable them to walk a few miles a day because it was about a mile to our destinations, but the walk was necessary to work out some of that decadent food that NOLA hast to offer. My only complaints were that the pool was small & wasnt designed to get much sun in the afternoon. Also, there was a snafu with the check out time that [...] advertised. Marriot did waive the fees, but only after I insisted. Unfortunately, I had to be a little ugly in my assertion. Just make sure to verify all the details before hand. Despite the few issues I had, I would def stay again. Hopefully, next time, if Im proactive in confirming everything, all will go over without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The best thing about this [...] deal was that Valet parking was included in the price. Parking costs as much as 50 bucks a day near the quarter. So, for a three day weekend, the only thing i paid was tipping the valet to come and go as I pleased.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jun 11, 2010

Clean, reasonably priced

This was your standard Marriott overall good experience. As far as the amenities/services go: The valet parking was a little overpriced (30+/day), and they tried to charge me for using it even on the days that I didn't. (Was visiting a friend in New Orleans, so didn't park the rental at the hotel every night). However, they fixed my bill when I mentioned it at check out. Fitness center looks okay, the rooftop pool was a bit puny, and the hot tub was out of order. Also, most hotel chains are offering free wi-fi now, but this Marriott charges. The concierge was awesome. The best thing about this hotel for me was the price and the location. I got my room on special for $99/night. It is a bit of a walk to where the real action is (Bourbon Street). Don't stay there if you can't walk for 15 minutes. Overall, I had great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little dive bar/pub like a block away behind the Marriott Convention Center on St. James Street. Called "The Corporation". It is a bit run down, but the beers are cheap, the owners are friendly, and the food is pretty good. (Try the bread pudding.) Good place to go if you don't feel like spending $18 for a club sandwich at the hotel or the other 'classier' establishments around the hotel.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 1, 2010

Good hotel but poor service.

The room was nice and clean. The location is ok, not very close to the French Quarter but enough to enjoy a healthy walk. The staff is not friendly at all and the service kind of poor. Just the guys at the valet parking were very nice and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bothell, Wa
Jun 1, 2010

Clean and Modern!!

This is my third time in New Orleans in the last five months and by far the best hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Maryland
May 18, 2010

New Orleans 5/7/10

Very fun, Friendly and Relaxing yet close to everyting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
May 11, 2010

Good Stay

The rate at this hotel was a great value! The location was fantastic becauseit was across the street from the riverwalk and the casino was down the street. Emeril's was a few blocks away. The hotel is able to reserve any reservation for you. I wish the hotel staff provideda short list of things to do in the area upon check-in. Valet parking was a nice option, but don't expect to receive your car immediately. I would recommend this hotel! The hotel was very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was across the street from the riverwalk and the casino was down the street. Emerils was a short walk as well. The hotel was not far from other attractions/entertainment, so we heard. I would suggest this hotel to others!!!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waverly, Ohio
May 10, 2010

The stay at the Marriott New Orleans.

The staff and the hotel itself was great! The staff was very helpful, I wanted to get a later flight out the next day and they found all the information I needed. The rooms were clean and the beds were terrific! I walked everywhere, the Harrahs Casino is a 5 minute walk, Bourbon Street is a 15 minute walk and there are so many people I felt safe. The locals are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment was close enough to walk but be in shape! I didn't mind saving money and walking, and its a nice view, Riverwalk is right there and there are restaurants there, the Mississippi Canal is nice and just across the street.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vbfan2
Milton, WI
Apr 7, 2010

Outstanding location for our tournament

This hotel had the perfect location for the convention center. We only had to walk across the street! It was not a bad walk to the other attractions of New Orleans, although a shuttle would have been nice to the French Quarter area at night. We had connecting rooms for our teenagers to stay in. This allowed us the opportunity to each have some privacy, yet keep close supervision. The teens took advantage of the outdoor hot tub, but were disappointed in the pool area. We did have to go to another hotel to do the laundry, but this hotel's staff was very helpful in locating one for us close by. The check in was excellent! They allowed for one room to check in a couple days earlier, yet made sure that we could still have the connecting room when we arrived two days later. It couldn't have worked out better! We would've liked wireless access in our room, but managed to find it on the first floor with Starbucks. The restaurant and bar was very pricey, which was also disappointing. The valet parking was a nice, but especially because it was added through our reservation through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Voodoo BBQ was awesome for the price and the food! It is off the beaten path, but accessible by picking up the trolley if you don't have a car.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCC10K 2010
Brandon, MS
Apr 3, 2010

Crescent City Classic 2010

We ran in the Cresent City Classic. It was perfect walking distance to the french quarter to warm up before the race. The hotel employees were the nicest I have ever seen and the rooms were great. Starbucks in lobby was ideal. The only down side was that there was a bar across the street from our room/window that had music playing loud. PARKING: If the valet is full, there is a garage 2 blocks down that charges $20 per 24 hours. I would rather park in that garage than valet park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close as you can get to boardwalk shopping center.

Back to menu Return to top