New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

4 stars
859 Convention Center Boulevard, 859 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
Great night

We were welcomed as soon as we pulled up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Will stay here on... See full review

  • Hollidays gone wild
  • Mar 16, 2014
Pre-cruise visit.

The room and hotel was great. Best of all was the staff, they were all very helpful. Also let you... See full review

  • FayWJudyT
  • Sep 14, 2013
Escape to an urban retreat in the heart of downtown New Orleans. The New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center promises a truly memorable experience, with over 300 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites and a range of amenities that will delight you. As soon as you set foot in our stunning hotel, located in a renovated cotton mill from the 19th century, you'll feel right at home; our staff will ensure that your experience here in downtown New Orleans is as comfortable as possible. In addition to our location near the Convention Center, we feature a fitness center and a rooftop swimming pool, as well as delectable Creole cuisine at Wolfe's in the Warehouse, our onsite restaurant. And of course, you have only to step out of our hotel door to be immersed in the excitement of downtown New Orleans; we place the French Quarter, the new upscale Riverwalk outlets, and other nearby attractions at your fingertips. Plan your visit to the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center today.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.9434 -90.0645
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Wolfe's
This contemporary New Orleans restaurant offers a modern take on Creole/French food that does not disappoint.
StarbucksĀ®
There are plenty of coffee shops in New Orleans, but why not enjoy the convenience of having one in your hotel? Enjoy freshly brewed StarbucksĀ® coffee, specialty drinks and pastries right here at our onsite coffee shop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trying to enjoy the sights
New York, NY
Jan 11, 2011

Nice but lacking in excitement

I traveled with friends to tour the city. We are all young so we wanted to have a fun time. This hotel was out of the way from much of the touristy things. The hotel helped us plan our trip to the bayou which was nice. I wish there was better options for food around the hotel because the Starbucks closed at 3:00pm and there wasn't much else near the hotel. Also, we ordered a fridge and it NEVER came. That was very frustrating. I imagine this hotel is good for people traveling strictly for business and to the Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchman Street instead of sticking to Bourbon!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Monroe, Louisiana
Jan 10, 2011

A-OK

My wife and I enjoyed the local restaurants. We revisited some places we last visited in 2000. We found our hotel to be very nice. The staff was very professional, polite, and positive. Our room was well decorated, very clean, and the bed so comfortable. This was a very quite room and hotel, we appreciate that part of the trip. All in all we are very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There several well known restaurants close by.

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MO
Jan 10, 2011

Fine hotel

This was a fine hotel, and it met all our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houma, LA
Jan 3, 2011

Nice Stay

Wasn't at hotel much, but the room was great and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston tx.
Jan 2, 2011

fantastic

was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 31, 2010

Over Night Stay

Great room,good price, plus smiling, helpful employees, parking charge ($31.00) a little pricey. Went to see Dr.John at Tipatina's Uptown, crowded, no chairs, stand up only for $35.00, love him, but won't go there again! Just another meat house! Went and ate at the Grand Isle and the food was great! Also went and saw Big Al Carson, blues musican which he is always great, good atmosphere and all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Dec 27, 2010

New Orleans Marriott at the Convention C

very bad experience. Except two staff members every one else is so uncooperative and discourteous. One of the worst experiences of staying in a hotel. Beds are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Isle was great. Food was good and pecan pie with ice cream is one of the best we ever had

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile,Al.
Dec 19, 2010

Hotel Stay

Had a hard time with the front desk,they didn't have in there system the details of my stay so they made me prove that I had valet parking. It was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please, please, please for your sake and enjoyment eat at Stanley's!!!

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Dec 14, 2010

Closest lodging to the Convention Center

This beautiful hotel, directly across the street from the entrance to the Murial Center, is the perfect place to stay if you are in town for a conference. Everything was sparkling clean and the bedding is sumptuous and cozy. The French Quarter isn't close, but we still walked to and from on two different nights. The price was lower than other hotels, but the convenience of being able to relax in your room during breaks made this the best choice in town for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fraziers
Pineville, Louisiana
Sep 12, 2010

Anniversary weekend

The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The location was great. Everything was within walking distance. It was an easy check-in and all staff was wonderful. I am returning to New Orleans in November and will definitely choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top