$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2014 Check-out: May 22, 2014

Loews New Orleans

4 stars
300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
44 reviews
Easy in the Big Easy

The staff was attentive. It seems like they've been at this for a while. The concierge service was... See full review

  • Telkner
  • Mar 19, 2014
Perfect stay

Stayed here as it was half the price of a neighboring hotel hosting the conference. Friendly staff.... See full review

  • Conference travel
  • Feb 8, 2014
French Quarter Standout hotel with views, notable restaurant and bar
This former office building was transformed into a contemporary-style, 21-story hotel. The on-site Cafe Adelaide is named for the colorful Ti Adelaide Martin of Commander's Palace fame. The restaurant is run by the Brennan family. Swizzle Stick Bar serves high-class cocktails. Rooms are huge and boast endless amenities, such as city and river views, laptop-size safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and hotel lobby, and local art. The Romanesque Piazza d'Italia behind the hotel is ideal for outdoor special events. There is 17,000 square feet of meeting space.
Highlights
  • Complimentary use of Fitness Center with indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • Balance Spa also offers in-room treatments
  • Cats and dogs allowed
  • Special weekly Bar Chef Table event at Swizzle Stick pairs cocktails with chef's selections (reservation required)
Rooms

The 285 oversized rooms and suites features spectacular city views and original work by local artist Harriet Blum. Guests feel contemporary luxury with marble baths, plush cotton terry towels, robes by Chadsworth & Haig and Lather toiletries.  All rooms are outfitted with a full complement of amenities including Keurig coffee makers and ergonomic executive desk chairs.  Some rooms offer a separate shower and tub and second televisions. Complimentary shoeshine service is a nice plus. Grand king suites are perfect for families and include living space with a sofa bed and a whirlpool tub with a window and television, double sinks and separate shower. All units have Wi-Fi access.

Features

The café is named for a glamorous member of the 1950s and 1960s avant-garde culture in New Orleans. It serves innovative local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  French press coffee and pain perdu are breakfast highlights. At Swizzle Stick, bar chef Lu Brow does party-girl Adelaide proud, reviving classic cocktails and using only freshly squeezed juices and housemade mixers. The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (14 miles)
  • Canal Street streetcar line
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
Business
  • Self-service business center open with 24-hour access to computers, printers and copiers (fees apply)
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and Café Adelaide and flat fee for in-room Wi-Fi

Loews New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe room type features 1 King or 2 Queen beds. Writing desk w/ comp Wi-Fi, 37 in TV, Keurig Coffee maker, minibar, robe, umbrella, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Guest will have river, Piazza D Italia or New Orleans Skyline view.
Executive
Grand rm types w/ 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Writing desk w/ comp Wi-Fi, 37 in TV, Keurig Coffee maker, minibar, robe, iron w/ ironing board. River or city views. Bathroom has separate shower and tub. Kings feature pull out sofa, extra 32 in TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9484 -90.0659
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl. Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, E; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI, S; Baton Rouge Metro Ryan Field Airport, (BTR), 88.60, MI, SE; Air Logistics Belle Chasse Heliport, (BCS), 8.50, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Storyville: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Storyville: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Dining

Cafe Adelaide
AWARD WINNING CREOLE CUISINE. RESERVATIONS RECOMMENDED 504-595-3305
Swizzle Stick Bar
Live Local Entertainment Friday and Saturday evenings. Specialty cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Loews New Orleans

Overall score

4.5 / 5
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Bhw07
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 16, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff

I found everyone at this hotel to be extremely friendly and helpful, in particular the concierge and bellman. The room was clean and comfortable, especially the pillows. Only a short distance from the French Quarter. I would highly recommend Loews New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Oakvillian
Toronto, Ontario
Mar 31, 2014

Excellent Stay - Overall

Just came back from five nights at the Loew's. We received an upgrade at check-in - which was a nice surprise. The room was very comfortable. A large bathroom with a window, along with separate tub and shower. The shower grouting could use a cleaning but it wasn't too bad. The staff in the lobby were very pleasant and helpful. We felt the housekeeping could have been better. There was a tray from breakfast sitting outside a room next to ours which wasn't removed until the next morning. As well, there was a pile of white particles that looked like drywall on the floor next to one of the elevators that was not vacuumed for three days. None of the housekeeping issues really impacted our overall view of the hotel but management should be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Telkner
New Orleans, Louisiana
Mar 19, 2014

Easy in the Big Easy

The staff was attentive. It seems like they've been at this for a while. The concierge service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn about the street cars. They can be inexpensive and charming if they go where you want to go and you can tolerate the once-every-twenty-minute schedule.

Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Cmullz
Chicago
Mar 13, 2014

Staying in town for a concert

Friendly staff, average room. Nothing out of the ordinary. Nice to be 10 ft away from the casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING is walking distance

Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Conference travel
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Feb 8, 2014

Perfect stay

Stayed here as it was half the price of a neighboring hotel hosting the conference. Friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Room was perfect. Couldn't ask for anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Marathoner island elvis
Memphis TN
Feb 3, 2014

Wonderful location for marathon!

We stayed here for the Rock N Roll marathon and it was wonderful. Don't let the exterior fool you. We walked to the start and we ran right in front of the hotel so our family could see us. The staff was friendly and they allowed us to have an extended check out due to the timing if the race. There are wonderful restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To start of Maris gras rock n roll marathon!!

Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Sadly sleepy
Katy, TX
Dec 23, 2013

Great getaway!

Great location, clean room, helpful staff, great bargin for New Orleans at this time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

August Restaurant John Besh...Awesome!

Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
trucklita
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Nov 26, 2013

Generally great

The valets, concierge, room service delivery people, and other staff at this hotel were truly its highlight—friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The fitness room and spa looked great, though we didn't stay long enough to use these. The food was amazing! I recommend the Brussels sprouts from the bar menu. Only a few details I'd change: Charging for Wifi access seems ridiculous; less expensive hotels provide this service for free. Also, there was no coffee maker in the room, and I look forward to smelling my own coffee brewing on hotel mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
brassie02
Business
Florida
Nov 25, 2013

Wedding guest weekend

Staff throughout the hotel are wonderful. Room was great and the shower is the best shower ever!! Locatlon is right downtwon very convenient to everything.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
426melissa
new orleans , la
May 6, 2013

wonderfully comfy

My husband and I picked this hotel to stay for our 7 year anniversary. We had a great view and it was exactly where we wanted to be. We would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Loews New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
JennS
Washington DC
Mar 13, 2013

Great choice for a new orleans trip.

I especially enjoyed the pool, the great view from the room and the proximity to the casino and low key, good bars and restaurants. The only complaint I had was hair in the glasses that were restocked by the housekeeping staff, but a quick trip to front desk for clean cups and I was back on track! Obviously, I wish it were a little cheaper to stay here, but when do I not wish things were a bit cheaper??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Emeril's staff took great care of us.

Back to menu Return to top